AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10th April, 2005, 08:29 AM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

temps

you all probably know that i have the OCZ PowerStream 420w but i think it is causing my system to be hotter than usual. could it be b/c i have a fairly small mid-tower ATX case and the PSU has long cables or is it b/c the PSU is hotter than my old one?

CPU temps b/f I put the new PSU in were 45c idle and 48c load and now with the new PSU it is 48c idle and about 50c load.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10th April, 2005, 09:26 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Question:

Does the current PSU, have a fan mounted underneath it that sucks air up from below itself (above the CPU). Secondly, does the previous PSU have one of those fans?

OCZ powersupplies are reasonable units, albiet not the most "refined" units. I still have some reservations about OCZ products, particularly their PSUs, and i dont find them to be as efficient or stable as similar Enermax, Thermaltake, Zalman and Antec units.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10th April, 2005, 12:25 PM
MietmaN's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Heidelberg (DE), Kraków (PL)
Posts: 413

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
Question:

Does the current PSU, have a fan mounted underneath it that sucks air up from below itself (above the CPU). Secondly, does the previous PSU have one of those fans?
I'm not sure about the Powerstream series, but they have two fans for sure - the question is, if the sucking fan is in the bottom of the PSU or at the back (push-and-pull solution, like in Tagan PSUs).


Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
OCZ powersupplies are reasonable units, albiet not the most "refined" units. I still have some reservations about OCZ products, particularly their PSUs, and i dont find them to be as efficient or stable as similar Enermax, Thermaltake, Zalman and Antec units.
You seem to have forgotten about Tagan (2x+12v line, which can be put together - U22 series), Topower P6 and the sexiest PSU ever avaliable : X-Connect.

http://zenfist.pl/zasilacz.php/cPath...0500W%20Black/

As to the above link : a PSUs maniac has just opened the first online shop for PSUs freaks in Poland - he checks every single PSU, before sending it to the customer.
__________________
AMD AXP-M 11x220 1.675v| Epox 8RDA3+ PRO 1.4| Thermalright SLK900U /Y.S.Tech 92mm|
2x512MB Mushkin PC3200 L.II V2| Sapphire Radeon 9800 PRO@XT| S.B. Live 5.1| Maxtor 120GB|
Seagate 80GB| Teac CD-W540E| Asus DVD| BeQuiet Blackline 450W| Chieftec BX| Iiyama HM704UTc|
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10th April, 2005, 12:35 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

The fan/fans are probably just spinning at a lower rate than before, either that or during the installation you didn't position the cables as effectively as before.
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10th April, 2005, 01:08 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

some cable ties and rounded IDEs are always a good start, as is using the cable runs in your case. Most people are too lazy to use them or even know they are there. All of the Antec/Chieftec classic style cases... you know the ones with the door on the front and the curved pieces on the front where the fans are.... the ones that the XASERII 6000 are based on, have very good cable runs in them, for you to hide the ATX connector, and all the molexs.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10th April, 2005, 02:22 PM
kellamne's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 624

MietmaN - just had a look at the X-Connect - that is sweet - almost too nice to hide away in a case
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10th April, 2005, 08:00 PM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

my old psu had only one fan, this one has two. my case, Aspire X-Dreamer, doesnt have the cable runs(i think) and i have rounded IDE cables.

there are more wires than my old psu wich causes more cludder so i think that it might just be obstructing the airflow causing it to be hotter. right?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10th April, 2005, 09:59 PM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

i just spent almost an hour and a half rearraging my cables and such, but didnt help the temps. why would a new PSU raise the temps for my case and CPU??
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10th April, 2005, 10:23 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

well the psu affects airflow and is also a source of heat.
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 11th April, 2005, 01:59 AM
~* InSoM *~'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: UK good old boring, cold, wet, UK
Posts: 402

I had the same thing when I put a new PSU in my machine, they were both generic, but the older 300W had only 1 fan in the back, and my new one 550W, has 2 fans, and my machine is alot warmer, partic the CPU now, than it was before.

It now runs 40 - 45 idle, and went right up to nearly 70C when I was in CS earlier, dont know exactly what the temps are, but I got temp on the HSF, MGM puts the temp up about 4/5C from the temp probe, and BIOS reports 10-12 above the temp probe...
__________________
Code:
    
    Main machine                Gateway machine         Wifey's machine
O/S WIN XP Pro SP1              SuSE 9.2                WIN XP Pro SP2
CPU 2.8 Celeron D               1Ghz Pentium III        2.4 Celeron D
RAM 768MB PC2700                512MB PC133             512mb PC2700
HDS 40GB Excelstar              20GB Quantum Fireball   40GB
VID XFX FX6600GT 128MB          NVidia 2 MX400 32MB     O/B AGP Video
MOB Eliteforce ECS 661FX-M      DELL                    DELL
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 11th April, 2005, 02:09 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Quote:
Originally Posted by kellamne
MietmaN - just had a look at the X-Connect - that is sweet - almost too nice to hide away in a case

Xconnects are just looks. bought one, took it back right away. 13.2v on the 12v...way too much for my liking.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 11th April, 2005, 05:59 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

The horrors that can hide behind a pretty face. It's depressing sometimes.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
my temps RON JEREMY Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 5 4th October, 2005 11:32 AM
Do temps tend to go up over time or is it the warm weather causing high temps? mookydooky AMD Motherboards & CPUs 16 15th November, 2003 06:56 PM
How are these temps ffactoryxx AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 22nd August, 2003 08:18 AM
Temps Draqo AMD Motherboards & CPUs 12 6th June, 2003 10:01 PM
LOW temps |;) The Spyder Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 16 2nd December, 2002 07:18 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:34 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0