AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 6th June, 2005, 09:30 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by gedon
@krazefinn
what i know about raid 5 is that all drives should have the same size and one of your 3 or 8 or 12 disk can fail without loosing data.

i'm still searching for some benchmarks with a raid0 and a raid5(4HDDs) setup

i'm not shure if i upgrade my sys or not. what i see is that speed goes down when 3 or more read/write accesses running.

has raid 5(4hdd@pci) a constant datarate?
RAID0 is flat-out the fastest RAID you can run. It is also not truly a RAID at all, because it isn't redundant. If you lose a single drive in RAID0, you are done, and all your data are gone.

RAID1 is pretty fast on reads (near RAID0), but slower on writes. This is because the reads can be staggered between the two drives, but all the data have to be written to both drives. It is also extremely reliable, because all of your data are fully duplicated between both drives. Lose one drive, no biggy. You can even pull a drive from a RAID1 and use that drive to boot another machine with an exact image of the first machine. Hence the term 'mirror'.

RAID5 varies in performance with the number of drives involved. As you increase the number of drives, your read performance improves because you can stage your data seeks across multiple drives. This is most visible with large data transfers. Write performance works the same way. So, you can go from performance that is somewhat worse than RAID1 on writes and slightly worse than RAID0 on reads, to performance that rivals RAID0 on both reads and writes, plus has a level of fault tolerance (RAID 5 sacrifices one drive for redundancy, no matter how many drives are in the array). It all depends on what you are willing to invest.

There are also combinations of the above, such as RAID01, RAID10, RAID50, and RAID51. These all make various tradeoffs in terms of cost, performance, and reliability.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 7th June, 2005, 05:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 221

I can say from experience (a bad one) don't use software RAID. Hardware raid is the only way to go if you actually care about the data. If you just want fast game performance go with a stripe mobo setup it will be fast and cheaper. But if you have important data get a controller card and a 5 or a 0+1 setup.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 8th June, 2005, 11:06 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Oddly enough, in the world of Solaris and Sun servers, software RAID is pretty normal. Two of the most flexable volume managers on Solaris are software RAID.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Moving from onboard raid to a raid pci card Jamey1010 EPoX MotherBoards 6 5th March, 2004 07:07 AM
Can you have 2 RAID 1 arrays in a 4 channel RAID card??? JayJay General Hardware Discussion 1 6th April, 2003 08:23 PM
8rda+ and pci raid card? nucl3arboNg AMD Motherboards & CPUs 7 3rd January, 2003 09:40 AM
8RDA+ and PCI Raid Card... erik21d EPoX MotherBoards 2 5th December, 2002 02:27 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:21 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0