AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 17th May, 2005, 03:24 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Albatron releases PCI-E to AGP adapter!

AGP cards in a pci-e board? With the BR2 from nVidia, and rialto from ati, it was only ma matter of time. Question is, if such a device works on ATI cards, and knowing that ATI cards have had multi-processing capabilities since the r300, is it possible that AGP cards could be doing multi-rendering, and truly putting the solution from nVidia to same?

Here's the release, pulled from Albatron's site:
Quote:
..Total News Release




2005/5/16 --- New bridge card allows user to use AGP-8x card in a PCI-Express Mainboard
Innovation Alert! Albatron's "ATOP" breathes new life into AGP-8x VGA cards


Albatron Technology, a leading IT solutions provider, recently announced the world's first AGP-8x to PCI-Express bridge card. The "ATOP"(AGP-To-PCIe) bridge card will allow a user to use their existing AGP-8x VGA card in a mainboard designed for PCI-Express resulting in considerable savings in upgrade expenditures.
Because the AGP 8x standard has been around for a while and continues to provide more than adequate graphics performance, there still exists a large base of users with very capable AGP 8x VGA cards. Until now consumers have been hesitant to upgrade to a mainboard with the PCI-Express standard because it would also mean having to purchase a new PCIe VGA card. With the ATOP card you can now upgrade to a PCI-Express mainboard, continue to use your existing AGP-8x card and worry about purchasing a new PCI-Express VGA card at a later time.
Your AGP-8x card simply piggybacks on the ATOP card's AGP-8x slot located on the top edge. The ATOP card is then plugged into the mainboard's PCI-Express slot. The only other installation requirements are replacing the bracket on the AGP-8x card with an ATOP bracket and installing the appropriate driver.
The ATOP bridge is the perfect solution for cost conscious users caught in the middle of the PCI-Express, AGP-8x transition. With the ATOP, you can have the best of both worlds in addition to reducing expenditures and extending the life of your original investments.



Attached Images
 
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17th May, 2005, 10:50 AM
tottyspotter's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 246

Smart, but only larger (wider) cases would fit a card piggy-backing on that wouldn't they? The card that's plugged into the adapter in the picture is relatively small. Most graphics cards are pretty much the height of the bracket these days, so I wonder how practical it would be?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3700 San Diego
1024 MB Corsair XMS PC3200XL CAS2 2-2-2-5
Gigabyte GA-K8NSU-939
NVidia 6800GT
Yesico FL-420(T) Fanless 420W PSU
2 x Maxtor DiamondMax 10 80GB SATA RAID0
Silverstone Temjin TJ05S-T Case
Hyundai ImageQuest L90D+ 19" LCD


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 17th May, 2005, 02:29 PM
calgar's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: England
Posts: 375
Send a message via ICQ to calgar Send a message via AIM to calgar Send a message via MSN to calgar Send a message via Yahoo to calgar

my graphics card has about 3 inches of clearance in my case, and my case isnt that big,

anyhow, its good to see that i wont have to shell out as much at once to get a new upgradable computer (athlon 64, of course) but i do have doubts as to how much it may hinder performance
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 17th May, 2005, 02:32 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

It shouldn't affect performance too much, there would be some added latency but both ATI and NVIDIA are using bridges on some of their range
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 17th May, 2005, 02:49 PM
calgar's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: England
Posts: 375
Send a message via ICQ to calgar Send a message via AIM to calgar Send a message via MSN to calgar Send a message via Yahoo to calgar

i know they are, but i have heard that the bridge chip on those cards means they underperform compared to being used on their native platform
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 17th May, 2005, 02:53 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

well, the 6800U chips that first appeared in pci-e flavor were overclocked to the 16xpci-e format from 8x agp, with no ill side-effects. no need to worry. For example, the ATI AGP x850xt and x800xl are a wee bit faster in AGP than thier pci-e counterparts(1-2 FPS).
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 17th May, 2005, 03:25 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

It is a tiny differance, something you would only ever pick up in a benchmark
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 17th May, 2005, 03:29 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

You got it graham!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 17th May, 2005, 05:02 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

B-but how does this wunder-adaptor fit the slot in the back of the case? You'd think that some serious slot lengthening would be necessary.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 17th May, 2005, 05:06 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

You bet. I'm sure that they include and adapter, and that it is really meant for low-profile cards. Think of the 6600gt on agp, but reversed, and on two seperate boards.

I run my system outside of any case, in a benchi built up for myself kinda like the one on the frontpage right now, and i would have no problems fitting that adapter. if it would work with my x800xtpe, i'd make the move to pci-e right now.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 17th May, 2005, 07:28 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

It is a bit of an odd idea, it seems the design is for low profile cards which are mostly ultra cheap cards, most people would have reservation about switching to pci-e if they had a card like an X800 or 6800 or something newish and pricey, so unless it can accomodate them I don't see the market
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2005, 01:14 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

One of our Members posted that PCIe x16 Form Factor Vidcards are cheaper than their AGP counterparts some months ago. Was that a true story?

After skimming through a lot of info about DDR2 at Crucial, it looks like the CAS4 feature of the stuff doesn't really give them greater latency than good old CAS2 DDR. Admittedly, I didn't look at this information carefully. Could this possibly be true??
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2005, 01:57 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

If it's a native PCI-E core then they are usually cheaper due to the bridged design (stuff like the 6600's and X800XL) but if it's the other way round and it's native AGP then the pci-e variety is the more expensive (such as most of the 6800 range)
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2005, 01:59 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

or.....ATI's Rialto(pci-e to AGP) is cheaper than nVidia's BR2(AGP to pci-e)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2005, 03:39 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Dunno, but AGP X800XL's are still more expensive than PCI-E, by about the same amount that a PCI-E 6800 is over an AGP card so I figure they're about the same.
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2005, 06:07 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

they are the same price here. The prices you are seeing is retailer's gouging.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 20th May, 2005, 07:56 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
they are the same price here. The prices you are seeing is retailer's gouging.

Never! I recently discovered that many brands of high performance DDR are made up of junk memory chips. The manufacturers are making an obscene profit from this. Yay hooray or hiss boo?
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 20th May, 2005, 08:30 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

I don't think they're junk chips, they are just untested and so they get sold on high tolerance pcb's at none jedec specs needing ultra high voltages
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Albatron AGP6600Q probs strAngel Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 14th March, 2006 10:19 AM
Albatron PX915P with P4 630 CPU hjomby Intel Motherboards & CPUs 14 14th September, 2005 02:45 AM
need bios for Albatron-GForce FX 5950Ultra michealwolfe Hardware Hacking 1 30th April, 2004 05:40 PM
Albatron KM18G Pro Ver.2.0 Arrived! Bergfuerst AMD Motherboards & CPUs 0 30th May, 2003 07:54 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:36 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0