AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 16th February, 2002, 06:34 PM
CeleryMan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Columbia, SC, along with my weenie dawg. :) ^
Posts: 129
Send a message via AIM to CeleryMan Send a message via Yahoo to CeleryMan

Western Digital Hard Drive.......error beep?

This is wierd. I've got this Western Digital 313000 13gb hard drive from a friend who said he couldn't get it to work anymore. He said he checked his jumpers, and everything was correct. Everytime he would hook it up, and im assuming slave it to the existing drive, the thing wouldn't spin up. He said it beeped and almost like squeeled at him. I thought, screwed drive, but this happened right after he imaged all the stuff from that drive onto a new WD 40gb drive. That doesn't make any sense. I hooked it up in my machine and it did the same thing. When the BIOS screen got to "DETECTING IDE DEVICES", it spun my 15gb master drive up, and then the WD started to steadily beep/squeel. it was not a random noise. It sounded almost like a siren of sorts. Any ideas? Thanks in advance, dudes!!
__________________
Tear on your undesirable cry, the times that we've tried, and ended up making things worse than they were before, ever could have been or thought to be. Im moving on without you. Im moving on without my light, and no, I won't cry tonight..... - OBA
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 19th February, 2002, 12:21 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

This might be worth a try. Put the troublesome WD HDD into the freezer for 30 minutes. Then remove it from the freezer and hook it up normally. Moisture may be too big of a problem to make this experiment worthwhile!!


**WARNING** This is a last resort type of thing to try. As the data has been successfully moved off of this drive, how badly do you want to keep this WD, anyway? A drop-kicking may better suit the circumstances.

The Secretary disavows all knowledge of this, yadda blahda.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 19th February, 2002, 04:06 AM
CeleryMan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Columbia, SC, along with my weenie dawg. :) ^
Posts: 129
Send a message via AIM to CeleryMan Send a message via Yahoo to CeleryMan

Hmmmm..........its worth a shot! Never thought about that one before. The data all got to the new drive completely. So nothing will be lost. Only thing is, the drive isnt mine. Ill have to consult the owner first. Bummer though, trashing a 13 gig drive like that. Thanks for the idea!
__________________
Tear on your undesirable cry, the times that we've tried, and ended up making things worse than they were before, ever could have been or thought to be. Im moving on without you. Im moving on without my light, and no, I won't cry tonight..... - OBA
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 19th February, 2002, 11:56 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

It worked for a member of a different forum. He had an olde WD that refused to spin up. He got the data on it over to a different HDD. Pretty radical prescription, though. Certainly took me by surprise.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 20th February, 2002, 02:01 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

I have an old Fuji POS harddrive that does that if you supply power to it without plugging in the IDE ribbon cable. I don't know why it does it, but it does . . .
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 20th February, 2002, 02:25 AM
CeleryMan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Columbia, SC, along with my weenie dawg. :) ^
Posts: 129
Send a message via AIM to CeleryMan Send a message via Yahoo to CeleryMan

Thanks for all the comments guys. I'm gonna contact the owner of the drive, and probly try what cloasters said to start. I just don't understand why this happened after the drive was copied. Hmmmm........oh well. Better luck next time, I guess!!!
__________________
Tear on your undesirable cry, the times that we've tried, and ended up making things worse than they were before, ever could have been or thought to be. Im moving on without you. Im moving on without my light, and no, I won't cry tonight..... - OBA
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 21st December, 2011, 01:59 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2011
Posts: 1

Wowwwwwwww. I know this thread is almost 10 years old, but I had to reply and say a huge thank you to Coasters. HD hasn't been working for a week (beeping noise), put it in the freezer for 30 minutes, and it came back to life!!!!! Unbelievable - absolutely blown away right now. Copying data to another drive as we speak - thanks so much!!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 21st December, 2011, 06:54 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Good news!
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hard drive problem



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Western Digital MyBook World II 1TB Gigabit Ethernet Hard Drive for $330 shipped mookydooky Online Deals, and Steals 0 24th June, 2007 11:28 PM
Western Digital 750 GB dektop drive now shipping danrok General Hardware Discussion 1 6th June, 2007 01:14 AM
Western Digital Hard drives Razorfish CRASHED! 49 30th June, 2004 04:44 PM
BUSLink USB Hard Drive, SCSI, and Error Code 10. Wa11y General Hardware Discussion 1 14th May, 2003 11:51 AM
8RGA+ and my Western Digital Drive toXicbluE EPoX MotherBoards 15 5th April, 2003 05:25 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:16 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0