AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 8th June, 2005, 10:59 PM
Quickbeam177's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 105
Send a message via AIM to Quickbeam177

Reformat after major BIOS upgrade

Was just wondering if a reformat was worth it if the BIOS on a motherboard has been updated/upgraded with major changes.

Would there be any performance benefits? I've just heard that many people will reformat after a major BIOS change. I know this isn't the case with minor BIOS updates.

Is it worth it?
__________________
DFI LanpartyUT nF4 Ultra-D w/704-2BTA BIOS
AMD Opteron 144 CABNE 0544EPMW 135633AK50274
2x 1gb Patriot PDC2G3200LLK 2-3-2-5
eVGA Geforce 7800GT
SoundBlaster Audigy 2
2x WD Raptor 36gb in RAID 0
NEC Silver DVD +/-RW ND-3540A
Enermax Liberty 620w PSU
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 9th June, 2005, 09:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 211

Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quickbeam177
Was just wondering if a reformat was worth it if the BIOS on a motherboard has been updated/upgraded with major changes.

Would there be any performance benefits? I've just heard that many people will reformat after a major BIOS change. I know this isn't the case with minor BIOS updates.

Is it worth it?
Have you checked what the BIOS upgrade entailed ?

Normally, if you keep to the upgrade manual, you shouldn't have to reformat at all.

I 've never done that ...


;-)
__________________
F_O_L_D_E_R_S

1] ... Athlon XP2500+ Barton @ 3000+ & 512 MB RAM WinXP
2] ... Athlon XP2500+ Barton @ 3100+ & 1024 MB RAMWin2k
3] ... Athlon XP2500+ Mobile Barton @ 3200+ & 512 MB RAM WinXP
4&5] Athlon A64X2 3800+ @ 2.6 GHz (~ 5000+) & 2x 1024 MB RAM running @ 237 MHz WinXP

All folding 24/7
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 15th June, 2005, 02:27 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Because the operating system rides atop the BIOS it's important to reformat after replacing the current BIOS. An incremental BIOS update doesn't mandate a fresh format of the HDD's.

If the hard drive needs to be reformated, but it's not, you'll see bizarre glitches. They can be very amusing, but we don't need no glitches. Sigh.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 15th June, 2005, 02:55 PM
Quickbeam177's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 105
Send a message via AIM to Quickbeam177

Thanks for the informative reply!
__________________
DFI LanpartyUT nF4 Ultra-D w/704-2BTA BIOS
AMD Opteron 144 CABNE 0544EPMW 135633AK50274
2x 1gb Patriot PDC2G3200LLK 2-3-2-5
eVGA Geforce 7800GT
SoundBlaster Audigy 2
2x WD Raptor 36gb in RAID 0
NEC Silver DVD +/-RW ND-3540A
Enermax Liberty 620w PSU
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
6800 ulta bios upgrade? Necorum Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 27th February, 2006 06:22 AM
Major Upgrade static AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 3rd April, 2005 06:44 PM
www.bios-upgrade.co.uk dod Reader's Retailer Ratings & Commentaries 1 19th September, 2003 08:24 PM
8KHA+ New Bios. Do I need to upgrade? configure EPoX MotherBoards 1 30th January, 2003 12:34 PM
I can't upgrade my 8K3A+ Bios... Spapex EPoX MotherBoards 4 11th September, 2002 09:48 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:03 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0