AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11th June, 2005, 10:39 AM
Got EpOx's Avatar
Team 45 Folder
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Exmouth, UK
Posts: 2,569
Send a message via MSN to Got EpOx Send a message via Skype™ to Got EpOx

Need new graphics card for under £50.

I Recently bought the EP-4SGM8I. It had a terrible onboard graphics controller called SiS661FX. So i have decided to buy a new graphics card, ofcourse now i'm finding it difficult to find something good for under £50. Please help.

Games to be played on it:
Counter Strike 1.6
Flight Simulator 2004
maybe a little Half Life 2 (depends on graphics card)

Possible products:
Connect3d ATI Radeon 9550 256MB DDR TV-Out DVI 128 Bit Retail Box
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo T5500 1.66Ghz
1GB PC2-5300 667Mhz
Matsh1ta DVD/RW Drive
232GB Western Digital 'My Book' External HDD USB 2.0
80GB Hitachi SATA HDD
Onboard Audio
Intel GMA 950 Onboard Video
Want to make a difference without leaving your chair?, then join the AOA folding team today!
AOA Folding @Home

Last edited by Got EpOx; 11th June, 2005 at 10:48 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11th June, 2005, 11:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Under £50 isn't going to get you anything that will play the most modern games well, though I'm sure you knew this. But for the games you have put up there, what springs to mind is something like an FX5500. A friend has an FX5500 and it certainly handles Half-Life 2 okay. I don't know how demanding the other two games are, but I'm sure a FX5500 would be an okay solution.
There is an XFX GEForce FX5500 with 256Mb of memory on eBuyer for a smidgen over £50.
XFX FX5500
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11th June, 2005, 11:54 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

You should be able to get a 9600pro for that from ebay. If you want it a new card then I think you can get a Geforce 6200 from scan for about that but the site isn't working for me at present.
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11th June, 2005, 12:28 PM
Got EpOx's Avatar
Team 45 Folder
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Exmouth, UK
Posts: 2,569
Send a message via MSN to Got EpOx Send a message via Skype™ to Got EpOx

Ok, what if i bought a 9550 then flashed the bios to make it a cheap 9600pro. Is that risky or does it usually work out allright?.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo T5500 1.66Ghz
1GB PC2-5300 667Mhz
Matsh1ta DVD/RW Drive
232GB Western Digital 'My Book' External HDD USB 2.0
80GB Hitachi SATA HDD
Onboard Audio
Intel GMA 950 Onboard Video
Want to make a difference without leaving your chair?, then join the AOA folding team today!
AOA Folding @Home
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11th June, 2005, 05:52 PM
calgar's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: England
Posts: 375
Send a message via ICQ to calgar Send a message via AIM to calgar Send a message via MSN to calgar Send a message via Yahoo to calgar

mmm, for that sorta price tag the X300 hyper memory cards look pritty good, no z mode compression tho.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11th June, 2005, 07:44 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

they're pci-e though

A 9550 would probably do, you can use softmod drivers to run it as a 9600, or better still you could try and find a 9500pro on ebay, they go for £30-40 and can mod into a 9700
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11th June, 2005, 08:00 PM
Got EpOx's Avatar
Team 45 Folder
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Exmouth, UK
Posts: 2,569
Send a message via MSN to Got EpOx Send a message via Skype™ to Got EpOx

Cool, i might do that.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo T5500 1.66Ghz
1GB PC2-5300 667Mhz
Matsh1ta DVD/RW Drive
232GB Western Digital 'My Book' External HDD USB 2.0
80GB Hitachi SATA HDD
Onboard Audio
Intel GMA 950 Onboard Video
Want to make a difference without leaving your chair?, then join the AOA folding team today!
AOA Folding @Home
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12th June, 2005, 01:28 PM
Got EpOx's Avatar
Team 45 Folder
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Exmouth, UK
Posts: 2,569
Send a message via MSN to Got EpOx Send a message via Skype™ to Got EpOx

So i have the onboard SiS 661FX. Do i disable that after the installation of the new graphics card or do i do it before?, what do i do?
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo T5500 1.66Ghz
1GB PC2-5300 667Mhz
Matsh1ta DVD/RW Drive
232GB Western Digital 'My Book' External HDD USB 2.0
80GB Hitachi SATA HDD
Onboard Audio
Intel GMA 950 Onboard Video
Want to make a difference without leaving your chair?, then join the AOA folding team today!
AOA Folding @Home
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12th June, 2005, 01:42 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

It's likely installing a card in the agp slot will disable it
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12th June, 2005, 03:41 PM
Razorfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via MSN to Razorfish

I got a connect3D 9600XT 128MB, Please PM me.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 12th June, 2005, 06:42 PM
Got EpOx's Avatar
Team 45 Folder
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Exmouth, UK
Posts: 2,569
Send a message via MSN to Got EpOx Send a message via Skype™ to Got EpOx

How does the ATI Radeon 9600XT 128mb compare to the 9550 256mb. Note: Both are Connect3d.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo T5500 1.66Ghz
1GB PC2-5300 667Mhz
Matsh1ta DVD/RW Drive
232GB Western Digital 'My Book' External HDD USB 2.0
80GB Hitachi SATA HDD
Onboard Audio
Intel GMA 950 Onboard Video
Want to make a difference without leaving your chair?, then join the AOA folding team today!
AOA Folding @Home
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 12th June, 2005, 06:57 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

The 9600XT will be a fair bit faster, the amount of memory makes little to no differance with these cards, the faster core and memory of the XT puts it ahead quite easily.

An actual 9500pro would be a differant story though, by default it wouldn't be as fast as the 9600XT, but if it's one that unlocks to a 9700 then it would be a lot faster
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 13th June, 2005, 12:38 AM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

What speed does a 9700 Pro run at?
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 13th June, 2005, 01:09 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

I think it's 325/620
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 13th June, 2005, 05:54 AM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrahamGarside
I think it's 325/620
Is the core 325, and the mem 620? Thats kind of lame. My 9600XT is faster than that.

If the mem is 325 and the core 620. Well, i'll shut up. LOL My mem is faster, by 5mhz, and my core is 50mhz slower. I have work to do.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 13th June, 2005, 01:06 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

it is core/mem but the 9700 core is a better core than the 9600XT, it has double the pixel piplines and I'm not sure how many but it has more vertex units too. Plus does the 9600XT have a 128 or 256bit memory bus?
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 13th June, 2005, 01:46 PM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

My GigaByte 9600XT is 256mb. And it has a 128bit memory bus.

What difference does a 128bit and 256bit memory bus make anyway? I know a 256bit bus would be better, but why?
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 13th June, 2005, 02:43 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Quite simply it just has double the bandwidth, this means that textures and frame buffers can be read and written quicker. It has the largest impact at higher resolutions and when using FSAA, at 1024x768 a 128bit bus will still be playable, but when moving into 1280x1024 and when using FSAA you really need a 256bit bus
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 13th June, 2005, 07:49 PM
Got EpOx's Avatar
Team 45 Folder
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Exmouth, UK
Posts: 2,569
Send a message via MSN to Got EpOx Send a message via Skype™ to Got EpOx

Thanks for your advice Graham and co.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo T5500 1.66Ghz
1GB PC2-5300 667Mhz
Matsh1ta DVD/RW Drive
232GB Western Digital 'My Book' External HDD USB 2.0
80GB Hitachi SATA HDD
Onboard Audio
Intel GMA 950 Onboard Video
Want to make a difference without leaving your chair?, then join the AOA folding team today!
AOA Folding @Home
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2005, 12:17 AM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

the ati 97/9800 series (not se) line of cards have 8 pipelines and 4 vertex shaders, and run from ~300mhz (bog standard 9700) to 412mhz (9800xt) as said they also run 256bit wide memory controllers.
The 9600 series effectively has half of all that! 4 pipelines, 2 (could be 3) vertex shaders, and 128bit memory wide bus (therefore half the bandwidth for the same speed).
In reality a 9600 would have to clock at double the speed of the higher series just to be as fast!

The x800 series cards are a different kettle of fish the core is much faster (16pipes, 6vertex) but memory bus is the same just abit faster (~1ghz, vs 730mhz)

The new r520 is going to be much of the same, 24 or 32 pipeline core, lots of vertex shaders, and a smidge faster ram. I do wonder if it will be 512bit wide as memory b/w does still hold back cards as a x800 is rarely ever twice as fast as a 9800xt, 50% is more like it.
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need a graphics card for under £40 Got EpOx Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 22nd May, 2005 08:34 PM
I want a new Graphics card, but which one. themonk Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 1st June, 2003 05:00 PM
What Graphics card to get? Lazgoat Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 7 22nd March, 2003 03:44 PM
Graphics card for 100.00 thehandler Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 34 26th January, 2002 11:11 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:33 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0