AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average.
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2002, 10:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 21

Confirm Barracudas IV low RAID performance?

Hi,

I already have a Seagate Barracuda IV (60) und and PCI Raid Contoller card (HPT370). I think about building a raid 0 for more performance.

Some people say that the barracudas have very low raid o performance ...

Can you confirm this?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 18th February, 2002, 01:52 AM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

hmmm havent heard that yet,, your read speed will drop slightly in raid-0 but your write speed will be faster, just depends on what you wanna do with it... but this is true with all brands of drives
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 18th February, 2002, 11:56 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 21

It's just the thing that I need more space for video-editing and the concerning data. So I well, why not buy a second barracuda and check them together as a raid-0?

But I read of a great loss of performance when using the barracuda IVs in a raid-0, because they shall be too fast or something like that ....

So I' still waiting to get some more information ....
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 18th February, 2002, 02:02 PM
nullCRC's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 270

I built a system using 2 Barracuda IV's (40 giggers) and a Promise Fasttrak TX2 in RAID0. Seem to be fine to me. Previous ssytem had the IBM's, didn't like the failures.
__________________
Press ALT+F4 to learn more

"If you can't make it good, make it look good." - Bill Gates, 1995

Defeat Autism Now!
Athalon XP 1600
Epox EP-8KHA+
Thermaltake Volcano 6cu
512MB Crucial DDR PC2100
Enlight EN-7237 AZ MT Case
Gainward GF3 Ti200 64MB Power Pack Golden Sample
Adaptec 2940UW
Seagate Cheetah 9.1GB SCSI
HP 9200i SCSI CDRW
Sony 50X IDE CDROM
Iomega 100 Internal Zip SCSI
Sony CPD-E500 21" Trinitron
NetGear RP114
RatPadz mousing surface
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 19th February, 2002, 12:08 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

I read that the Barracuda IV's do indeed have a speed problem in RAID-0 configuration. One source said that they do have the problem, and another confirmed it.

As nullCRC reports no problem, looks like this is another wonderful "gotcha!" But it didn't get the other guy. For digital circuits, we have an awful lot of analog problems.

I have a Seagate Barracuda IV 40 Gb, too. I don't care about RAID. Fortunately. I wish Seagate hadn't used the Barracuda name for IDE HDD'S. I swear, manufacturer's exploit this similar name stuff to the hilt.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 19th February, 2002, 02:43 AM
K6-III's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 661

This was confirmed by StorageReview a while back.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 19th February, 2002, 04:35 AM
nullCRC's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 270

I prefer my 9.1GB Cheetah to the RAID0 IDE drives though.
__________________
Press ALT+F4 to learn more

"If you can't make it good, make it look good." - Bill Gates, 1995

Defeat Autism Now!
Athalon XP 1600
Epox EP-8KHA+
Thermaltake Volcano 6cu
512MB Crucial DDR PC2100
Enlight EN-7237 AZ MT Case
Gainward GF3 Ti200 64MB Power Pack Golden Sample
Adaptec 2940UW
Seagate Cheetah 9.1GB SCSI
HP 9200i SCSI CDRW
Sony 50X IDE CDROM
Iomega 100 Internal Zip SCSI
Sony CPD-E500 21" Trinitron
NetGear RP114
RatPadz mousing surface
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 19th February, 2002, 11:52 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

The running cheetah logo on Seagate SCSI 10 K RPM HDD'S is most stylish and reassuring. I have two brand new U2W Cheetahs--but they're tiny 4.5 Gb drives. A SCSI Host Adapter for them recedes into the distance while more pressing hardware needs come to the foreground. Some day. Maybe!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 22nd February, 2002, 12:43 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

I just ordered a 40 Gb Seagate from Newegg. I'll have two now. Because of a broken wrist, I haven't yet installed the first one I bought. I sincerely hope they are good 'uns! After I hopefully grab 400 Mb of difficult to replace Win progs off of the pos 75 GXP, it will be hammer time for the 45 Gb IBumMer. Literally. Muw-ha ha ha! RMA? Naah, I'd only get a used 60 GXP.

Folks, you'll avoid a lot of problems by avoiding 30 and 45 Gb IDE HDD's. These simply have a higher rate of failure than do 20, 40 and 60 Gb drives--whatever the manufacturer.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 3rd March, 2002, 03:04 AM
Azriel's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Clifton, Illinois
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via ICQ to Azriel

Be warry of Sandra results for raid performance. Always wrong.
__________________
A64 3800+ Dual Core/GF8800GT-512/2gig DDR/10,000 RPM Raptor SATA 36gig HDD, 250gig 1394b/28" LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 4th August, 2002, 03:44 AM
paulo carrasco's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Posts: 1

Unhappy 8k3a+ Barracuda 60G + raid0 = Problem?

Hi,

I' have two seagate barracuda 60G in a raid 0 configuration,
but I'm getting very low performance, around 17000-18000 with sys sandra...

does anyone have a clue..?!!!


thanks in advance

Paulo Carrasco
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 4th August, 2002, 05:36 AM
Azriel's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Clifton, Illinois
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via ICQ to Azriel

Ummm... yeah.. that's sandra. Use atto's bench utility. It's in the AOAfiles.
__________________
A64 3800+ Dual Core/GF8800GT-512/2gig DDR/10,000 RPM Raptor SATA 36gig HDD, 250gig 1394b/28" LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2002, 01:12 PM
Winkie's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 987
Send a message via ICQ to Winkie Send a message via AIM to Winkie Send a message via Yahoo to Winkie

The problem was reported to be with the HPT370/A Chipset I believe, with Barracuda ATA IVs, because they read data too fast for the chip to buffer, therefore they had to re-read the data, however, later barracudas had a firmware revision which overcame the problem


That's as far as I know anyway
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2002, 05:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 21

Fact is that Seagate offererd a rechangement to the enduser to send the old drives in and get some RAID-optimized ones with firmware 3.51. That's what I did, and they are lots faster in a RAID 0. (HD-tach 2.61 benched with max above 50000)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2002, 05:36 PM
Winkie's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 987
Send a message via ICQ to Winkie Send a message via AIM to Winkie Send a message via Yahoo to Winkie

Reeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeally? well I have 2 60s here that would like a firmware upgrade
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2002, 06:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 21

It's not possible to solve the problem with an FW upgrade, you would have to change the drives via Seagate ...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAID Performance increase? skool h8r General Hardware Discussion 2 26th August, 2006 10:40 AM
SATA RAID performance? Lazgoat General Hardware Discussion 4 9th July, 2005 06:26 PM
What sort of performance boost with IDE RAID? Hoppster General Hardware Discussion 2 13th April, 2005 08:14 PM
4G4A+ Onboard RAID Performance SkuLLy|RT EPoX MotherBoards 2 27th October, 2002 02:00 PM
RAID0 performance on VIA Raid Performance Patch PFD105 r0l0e EPoX MotherBoards 5 7th July, 2002 04:33 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:21 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0