AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 18th June, 2005, 04:05 AM
SwedishChef's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Location: Halifax, NS
Posts: 49

bios updates cumulative?

are bios updates cumulative, i.e., does the most recent update include all previous fixes/upgrades? i know some are, but the current site I'm looking at doesn't specify.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 18th June, 2005, 09:08 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Some are, some aren't..it depends on the vendor.

i regularily go back to the first bios made for my board to be able to change options that have been disabled in newer revisions, and always have to flash first bios, make selection, then 6th to correct temp reading issue, then the bios i want to use...it makes benching a longer process, but 'dem da breaks.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 18th June, 2005, 11:35 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Fixes in the BIOS code themselves are cumulative, as reflashing the BIOS replaces the code that was there. The BIOS is pretty monolithic, unlike Windows where the order can be important because it's not monolithic.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2005, 01:30 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

depends on what is replaced, and the board as well. the reason for my having to flash to a midway bios is because of the uguru firmware for the monitoring chip on my board.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8RGA Non-Plus version: Any BIOS updates? Lorddrakul EPoX MotherBoards 4 28th February, 2004 02:15 AM
A7V333 bios updates stigweed AMD Motherboards & CPUs 0 3rd June, 2003 11:00 PM
8rda+ Bios updates pretender_2002 EPoX MotherBoards 1 16th March, 2003 04:35 AM
ET! No more 8K3A bios updates? Link EPoX MotherBoards 13 27th December, 2002 05:34 PM
[4PEA+] How about our BIOS updates? Vatt Intel Motherboards & CPUs 38 15th December, 2002 02:27 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:48 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0