AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 30th July, 2005, 08:54 PM
Razorfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via MSN to Razorfish

so its a happy medium between performance and noise.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 30th July, 2005, 08:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Can I ask...I've never really seen the point in Raptors. Sure, their fast, but does it matter if your game loads up in 1 minute or 40 seconds?
And for the sake of money, it just makes a lot more sense to buy normal 7200rpm drives.
They are small, ludicrously expensive, and for what? Something loading up a bit quicker.
Am I missing something?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 30th July, 2005, 09:31 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

The fact is they were fast when they came out, with your average drive managing around 40mb/s or so, and though expensive, they were still a lot cheaper than a SCSI solution so made sense for midrange server/workstations

But the fact is now that 7200rpm drives have progressed to the point where there is little to choose between them
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 31st July, 2005, 09:21 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrahamGarside
The fact is they were fast when they came out, with your average drive managing around 40mb/s or so, and though expensive, they were still a lot cheaper than a SCSI solution so made sense for midrange server/workstations
They never made sense for a midrange server - SCSI drives completely wiped the floor with them under the multi-user loading on a midrange server. Low-end servers fitted the Raptors well. The Raptors are tuned for desktop usage, rather than server usage. In terms of desktop usage, they're still one of the fastest drives, which is quite impressive given how long they've been out.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 31st July, 2005, 12:59 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Oh your just being picky as to what midrange would be
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 31st July, 2005, 05:45 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally Posted by Razorfish
will the sata controllers on my A8N-SLi support NCQ?
The nForce4 chipset should support NCQ, but you have to use the nVidia SATA IDE drivers if my understanding is correct.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 31st July, 2005, 06:58 PM
Razorfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via MSN to Razorfish

Quote:
Originally Posted by Áedán
The nForce4 chipset should support NCQ, but you have to use the nVidia SATA IDE drivers if my understanding is correct.
Great! thanks Áedán. ill have a go, im pretty sure ive installed the drivers.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 2nd August, 2005, 06:14 PM
Razorfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via MSN to Razorfish

Got the new drive in, everythings up and running so im dead, pleased! Amazing how much quiter it is than my Raptor! and 160GB of goodness waiting to be filled!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 2nd August, 2005, 06:21 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Does it seem almost as fast as the Raptor?
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 2nd August, 2005, 07:04 PM
Razorfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via MSN to Razorfish

Not sure yet, but i installed sim city 4 on it straight away as i wanted the game installed but didnt want to waste space one the raptor and it installed really quickly and loads up quite fast too, whats the best software for findout how quick a drive is, and also how to enable NCQ?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 2nd August, 2005, 07:23 PM
Razorfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via MSN to Razorfish

edit, just found out how to enable NCQ, you have to do it in the device manger under IDE ATA/ATAPI Controller and then nVidia CK804 ADMA in the setting you can enable NCQ. Using winows speed test:

Raptor
Burst Speed = 98.8
Sustained Speed = 62.2

Maxtor
Burst Speed = 127.4
Sustained Speed = 57.4
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 3rd August, 2005, 01:42 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Very interesting how it compares with the raptor. The bigger 10s with the 16MB cache would be even better too. These drives just beg to be RAIDed.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 3rd August, 2005, 03:50 AM
Fishboy's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Posts: 4

Wow would you look at that:
http://cgi.ebay.com/BRAND-NEW-300gb-...QQcmdZViewItem

Pretty cheap at the moment, eh? There were others for around the same price too.
Check out eBay, you can get some great deals for pretty much everthing.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 3rd August, 2005, 11:37 AM
Razorfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via MSN to Razorfish

Loving it, been moving my MP3s over from the raptor to the maxtor and its rapid!

Quick picture for you...
Attached Thumbnails
New Hard Drive.-pict0043.jpg  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 3rd August, 2005, 11:48 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

The CCFL obviously makes it go faster.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old 3rd August, 2005, 11:50 AM
Razorfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via MSN to Razorfish

LOL

just realized how blurred that picture is!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2005, 01:44 PM
Razorfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via MSN to Razorfish

These drives are so good, ive just ordered another to put in a Raid 0 setup. Im gonna use the raptor to run my OS and the two maxtors in Raid 0 for the games.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old 12th August, 2005, 03:44 PM
Razorfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via MSN to Razorfish

Well here all the drives setup in Raid, i dunno but there something pretty about three drives all stacked up like that.
Attached Thumbnails
New Hard Drive.-pict0007.jpg  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old 12th August, 2005, 03:48 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

As Paris Hilton would say, "That's Hot"

I finally ordered a second Maxtor 10 300GB 16MB cache to do that RAID array. I promised myself I would keep the first Maxtor 10 clean until I got the second disk, but somehow a copy of Vista found its way on there :\ Guess its time to wipe it.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old 12th August, 2005, 04:05 PM
Razorfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via MSN to Razorfish

What raid you gonna use 0,0+1, 1 and so on? It is so fast wipes the floor with the raptor and in sisoftsandra is only 10mb/s slower than a 2 x raptors in raid yet £50 cheaper, thats paying for my audigy 2
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard drive help NarkotikBuzz General Hardware Discussion 2 21st August, 2005 01:15 PM
Old hard drive bhdeath11 General Hardware Discussion 3 11th July, 2005 01:50 AM
Cd Drive Hard Drive Cage amarkarian Case Modifications 4 9th July, 2005 04:15 PM
Best Hard drive set up Hoppster General Hardware Discussion 6 29th April, 2005 02:38 PM
ghosted drive and a new hard drive RangerJoe General Hardware Discussion 3 10th August, 2003 08:47 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:00 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0