AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11th August, 2005, 01:38 PM
MightyMar22's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 182

P4 or AMD64

I have friend who is studying architecture and she needs a computer to run autocad. her proffesor suggested she get a p4 with a 1g ram. I think amd will be better for this job and maybe a low-end video card. can you guys help me decide wich one (p4 or amd) is best for the job.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11th August, 2005, 02:05 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Well for the video card I suggest any Geforce card and use rivatuner to unlock it's professional capabilities

As for the processor, well I'm not 100% on that, I think that Hyper Threading may give the single cores an advantage over A64's but if she can stretch to dual cores then the AMD X2's are the better choice
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11th August, 2005, 02:36 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

I would go with the AMD64. If you can get the X2 then go for it, but from memory autocad has always liked the AMD64 platform. The 3D aspect of it, makes you also think that the AMD would be a better choice.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11th August, 2005, 05:21 PM
MightyMar22's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 182

what type of card, 6600, 6600gt or 6800? she is still in school so she doesn't have much money to throw around, i would think that dual core is out of the picture here. She doesn't play games so all i need is a card that will do the job with out problems.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11th August, 2005, 05:35 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

A 6200 will do the trick, I don't know for sure if they can unlock quadro features like 6800's can but even if they don't they offer top end opengl2 support and are dirt cheap
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11th August, 2005, 07:24 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

A64 definitely. The memory performance blows away a P4 running stock.
Also, 3D is superior.

The only concern is if she will be running multiple apps, which the P4 could handle a bit better.... HT is the only edge Intel has ATM, (discounting dual cores of course).
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11th August, 2005, 07:27 PM
MightyMar22's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 182

you mean the 64 bit ones or the 128's. cus i saw the 128 bits at around $120 and for that price i was thinking that with $30 more i can get the 6600gt.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11th August, 2005, 07:52 PM
Exile69's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via AIM to Exile69 Send a message via MSN to Exile69

Where are you looking..try this or this.
__________________
Research Ron Paul

AOA Team fah

Abit NF-M2 | XFX 8600GT | AM2 X2 3800+ | 2Gb G.Skill DDR2 800 | Aspire X-QPack | 250Gb Western Digital | Creative X-Fi + Logitech X530 5.1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 11th August, 2005, 09:04 PM
MightyMar22's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 182

ok, thank you all for your input. ill run the numbers to her and see what she decides.
thank you all again
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is this new? (AMD64 site) danrok 64 Bit computing 8 20th May, 2005 11:22 PM
any help on new amd64 setup sasrob EPoX MotherBoards 4 6th January, 2005 09:05 AM
Memory and AMD64 bit help please Maximus Desimus 64 Bit computing 7 29th August, 2004 01:43 PM
My new 2.5ghz AMD64 CPU bradmax57 64 Bit computing 45 16th June, 2004 10:49 PM
first look : windows XP 64-bit for AMD64 flytek AMD Motherboards & CPUs 7 7th September, 2003 10:18 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:43 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0