AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 25th August, 2005, 11:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Posts: 1

New hard drive problem

I recently purchased a Seagate Barracuda 300gb hard drive, a second hard drive for my PC. I connected it up to my PC earlier, it wouldn't detect it.
I ensured the jumper was connected properly, 2nd set of pins from left, and my PC still failed to detect it, even after using CMOS and the IDE Auto-Detect.
User devilmyarse then gave me a couple more pointers, after I explained my strange setup of my DVD drives being primary and secondary masters to my hard drives, both of which slaves obviously.
When I readjusted the the orientation of the drives, I put all hard drives on one IDE cable, and all optical drives on another IDE cable, my computer failed to boot.
Could anyone please help me out? I would be very grateful.
Cheers
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 25th August, 2005, 11:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Posts: 40

The drive may be to large to be recognized as a whole by your operating system. TO further help you, you will need to post your system specs, operating system and version, bios version, etc. Try and be complete. Without this information, no one will be able to really provide you with help other than guessing.
__________________
Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe
(2) EVGA GE Force 7800GTOC 256 PCI-X
2 gigs (4x512) Corsair TwinX PC3200Pro DDR 400
Dual Channel
AMD 4800 64 Venice Processor
(4) Sata Seagate 160 gig Drives (raid array)
(1) Maxtor External 120 gig USB 2.0
SoundBlaster X-fi Platinum
Bose Desktop companions with Sub Woofer
Koolance PC3 Case (all hardware water/gylcol cooled)
Temps: Unloaded 93 (F) Loaded 101 (F)
Samsung Cd-R/RW 52x24x52
Memorex DVD-R/RW 8X
WinXP SP2
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 25th August, 2005, 11:13 PM
devilmyarse's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: England
Posts: 436

Ive already suggested to check that the molex is functioning correctly, he's swapped them round and still get's same problem, the drive isn't auto-detecting at all. IDE cable is connected right. It's a medion emachine purchased last year-ish that's all i know about the machine.

He's been talked through the autodetecting procedure in BIOS and nothing is happening, detecting the other drives, but not this new one.

I'll suggest him to download everest.
__________________
System Specs: Antec 900
Enermax Liberty 500W
Asus P5Q-Deluxe
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 2.4Ghz
2x 2GB OCZ Hiper 1066mhz
ATi Radeon HD4870 512MB
Samsung Syncmaster 15"

Apple Macbook Pro
15'' Core 2 Duo 2.33Ghz
X1600 Mobility Radeon
Boot camp Mac os X/Vista

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 26th August, 2005, 09:20 AM
hoinar's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Location: Iasi, Romania
Posts: 945
Send a message via Skype™ to hoinar

Verify the jumpers on your harddisks or optical drives. On the same cable one must be master, other slave. If it doesn't work this way...some drives like Cable Select (CS).
__________________
I'd cry...but I can't stop laughing.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 26th August, 2005, 04:12 PM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

Quote:
Originally Posted by hoinar
Verify the jumpers on your harddisks or optical drives. On the same cable one must be master, other slave. If it doesn't work this way...some drives like Cable Select (CS).

and that the master is at the end of the cable, and the blue/red connector (if there is one) is pluggged into the mobo ...
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2005, 05:45 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Welcome to AOA's Forums, Samgasm!

A DDO(Direct Disk Overlay) file from the HDD's manufacturer may be necessary, I don't think that XP can handle a 300 Gb hard drive on its own. Pardon me for suggesting that at least one hard drive should be the Primary Master.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
250gb hard drive problem BruceY General Hardware Discussion 7 24th March, 2005 02:14 AM
hard drive problem Microgers87 General Hardware Discussion 2 15th September, 2003 09:51 AM
New Hard Drive - problem dod CRASHED! 5 27th July, 2003 10:38 PM
8RDA+ hard drive problem Mickey Padge EPoX MotherBoards 8 9th December, 2002 02:19 AM
Possible Hard Drive problem? Rollydog AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 29th April, 2002 02:33 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:12 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0