AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2005, 04:26 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2005
Posts: 84

Revised System Specs

Hey guys! I am back again to ask if my parts are compatable and to see if you can answer a few of my questions. My parts are the links below:

Case: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811117032

PSU: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817153006

Motherboard: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813135200

Processor: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116196

Hard Drive (Master): http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822145088

Hard Drive (Slave): http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144414

Memory: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227060

Video Card: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814127189

Sound Card: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16829102176

Network Card: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833332506

Optical Drive: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827152040


Thats about it. I made some changes, such as the motherboard being a little cheaper and the processor being 3.4 instead of 3.0 and i went with the 2 sticks of 1 GB each, as well as a better video card than before. My questions are this:

1) Will 2 sticks of 1 GB each work as fast or faster than 4 sticks of 512 MB each?

2) Is this network card gonna work with like LAN parties, and is it a good brand with good speed?

3) Is this power supply good enough? Is this a good brand, or should I look for something better?

4) I heard recently that having a master and slave hard drive is better than just one huge hard drive, because the more files you have on a bigger drive, the slower it becomes? Is this true? And could I get more information (if possible) about it?

5) Another HD question. Is SATA II, which are the storage devices on my motherboard, is SATA II compatable with the HD's I listed above?)

6) The memory I have is PC5400 @ 667... is it really much faster than PC3200 @ 400?

7) Final question: Is everything compatable with each other?


Also, in case if people wanna know what I'm gonna be doing with this computer, Ill be playing the latest games (obviously with my sweet graphics card and memory), doing DVD editing (the big hard drives) and burning, music (I'll get the speakers, mouse and keyboard at Circuit City or something), internet surfing, office apps such as Dreamweaver, Fireworks, programming, and Office, and other things may appear.

Any suggestions/recommendations are open, so I'll be happy with some input from some people. Thanks a ton!
__________________

Last edited by calhoun; 20th October, 2005 at 04:58 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2005, 04:57 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

1:

2X1GB sticks will be faster in general these days than 512X4. Old 1GB sticks were slow, new ones are just as good as 512s, and having fewer sticks means tighter timings and better performance.

2:

DO NOT BUY an extra network card. The onboard gigabit on the motherboard will always perform better as it is linked directly into the northbridge on those chipsets.

Andy PCI gigabit card will be limited by the PCI bus, and the southbridge, which means it will be slower, with higher latencey. Its a waste of time and money these days, because onboards are always superior now.

3: I dont like that PSU. Thermaltake is ok, but not great, and 420W is at the lower end of the scale. There are only two brands. Seasonic, and Enermax. In your price range, the Enermax Noisetaker 430W 450W 470W is what you should be after.

4: Master and slave only applies to PATA, not SATA. Having a master and slave is stupidity because they share the same PATA connector and only one can work at a time. This creates high latencey, and limits performance. SATA gets around this.

Use one large hard disk, unless you have experience in RAID arrays, which I doubt you do. But thats ok, modern hard disks are fast as hell.

Ditch the small Hitachis and buy a single large MAXTOR 10. A Maxtor 10 300GB is relatively cheap now, and has the 16MB cache, and performs extremely well, while being very quiet.

SATAII is backwards compatible so dont worry. Just get the Maxtor 10 SATA 300GB 16MB cache and everything will be fine and fast.

6: Everything looks good aside from that.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2005, 05:03 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2005
Posts: 84

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103457

is this the one you are talking about?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2005, 05:05 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Thats it exactly. That is about as good as it gets mate.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2005, 05:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2005
Posts: 84

and I have to thank you very much for taking the time out to read my essay-like report on my computer parts and giving me some good suggestions. Every bit of help I get on this is appreciated big time
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2005, 05:07 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

This is the hard disk you want actually. Its the one up from the Maxtor 10, and comes with a 5 year waranty.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144186

One day special at newegg on it.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2005, 05:09 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2005
Posts: 84

isnt SATA faster than ATA150 though?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2005, 05:14 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

that drive IS SATA.

Sata means serial ATA.

That drive is Serial ATA 150, which is SATA I.

Not SATAII.

But that drive cant completely use the bandwidth available to SATA 1 let alone SATA 2.

A fast SATA 150 drive with a big cache is always better than a mediocre SATAII drive.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2005, 05:25 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2005
Posts: 84

so, i think in my motherboard i have like 4 SATA II slots... would that 300 GB hard drive you listed above, would that work in the SATA II slots or would i have to get a different drive/motherboard?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2005, 05:28 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

It will be fine, SATA II is completely backwards compatible. Thats definately the drive to have though.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2005, 05:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2005
Posts: 84

ok... sry for all the confusion on my part lol. im new to building computers (this will be my first ever build). i want to build my own comp to save about 1k dollars where i would get this else where from like dell or tigerdirect prebuilt, and to see if i really can complete it without damaging anything. know of a good online tutorial that can guide people through how to build it from scratch? i tried pcmech.com, but they are slightly outdated. I want something newer, any suggestioins?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2005, 05:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2005
Posts: 84

also, is the GeForce 7800 GTX all that much greater than the GeForce 7800 GT? Is there really a big difference or what?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2005, 06:54 AM
QSDT's Avatar
Member
Alien Clones Champion
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: Queensland Australia ''Oh'' the beauitful sunny coast!
Posts: 788
Send a message via MSN to QSDT

Always check to make sure that you put your ram sticks in properly I now check 3 times I lost a mobo and ram when not in all the way.
__________________
Abit NF7, AMD XP(not mobile) 2000+ @ 2.315Ghz with L12 mod.
Abit AN7, AMD XP(not mobile)2500+ Barton@2.442Ghz
MSI 6600GT Core@618Mhz / Ram 1.21Ghz Pencil volt modded @ 1.66volts.
Monitor Dell 24'' 2407WFP ''WOW that's all I can say''

Why is Phonetic not spelt Phonetically, and why is the word Abbreviation so long?

My Ex gives 100% sound adivce, 99% sound, 1% adivce.

69% of all statistics are made up!

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2005, 10:12 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Read the manual that comes with your motherboard.

Mobo manuals tell you basically how to build the whole computer from scratch.

Run into any issues, just come here.

And the GTX is only slightly better than the GT. The GT is the better buy.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8KDA3J/+ voltage problem: system specs espent EPoX MotherBoards 1 18th September, 2004 12:33 PM
Fan noise problem with revised 4pda2+ bios DanielVallstrom EPoX MotherBoards 0 1st April, 2004 08:37 PM
Sys Specs Viper66 Intel Motherboards & CPUs 2 8th January, 2004 08:25 AM
Will there be a revised 8rda+ ? itbegins EPoX MotherBoards 13 29th January, 2003 11:00 AM
another new pc... (with different specs!) ByteWipe General Hardware Discussion 11 19th September, 2002 04:34 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:58 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0