AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 1st November, 2005, 04:40 PM
Paulio's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: Devon, England
Posts: 24

PC Internal Wiring Question

Hey, i have a case that has alot of light mods inside, i was wondering, since they were all on the same power lead from my psu, if it would be possible get a driver power extention lead, fix longer leads to each end and send two of the wires to a switch therefore i could turn my pc off, flick the switch and then my pc`s lights wouldnt be on when i turned it on, as they arent great when you want to leave it on at night and your room is lit up like a christmat tree, im sorta new to this but general electrics is something i have an ok understanding on, on the power leads there are 4 leads, are two of them positive and negative, and if i did this would it work, would it cause any problems etc...



Thanks Paul
__________________
EPoX 9NDA3J
AMD Athlon 3200+ @ 2GHz
ATI Radeon 9250 128 MB DDR
TwinMOS PC3200 DDR-DIMM 1024 MB (2x 256 MB)
120 GB Western Digital HDD
160 GB Hitatchi HDD
420w Tagan PSU

God, I Need To Get Out More, lol.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 1st November, 2005, 05:40 PM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

IIRC the blacks are both ground wires and the red is 5V and the yellow is 12V. A switch on the 12V line would work fine. If you are into modding then there a dozens of push button switches and or toggel switches that will do the trick and look trick to boot.
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 1st November, 2005, 05:47 PM
Paulio's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: Devon, England
Posts: 24

so a switch on the 12v yellow one would do? also, switching on and off when the pc is on isnt good for it is it? like ive tryed similar things and after that the drives go silly like with the extra power, i could be wrong though.


Thanks Paul
__________________
EPoX 9NDA3J
AMD Athlon 3200+ @ 2GHz
ATI Radeon 9250 128 MB DDR
TwinMOS PC3200 DDR-DIMM 1024 MB (2x 256 MB)
120 GB Western Digital HDD
160 GB Hitatchi HDD
420w Tagan PSU

God, I Need To Get Out More, lol.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 1st November, 2005, 05:53 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

If the lights plug into your PSU, then they draw DC current at a max of 12Volts, I belive, power that comes from a socket in the wall is AC and at 230Volts is the UK or 110 in the US of A, either way you would need a converter. Or you could fit a second PSU, plug the lights into that and rig up a switch to turn it on/off independantly of the main PC.

Favu.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 1st November, 2005, 05:57 PM
Got EpOx's Avatar
Team 45 Folder
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Exmouth, UK
Posts: 2,569
Send a message via MSN to Got EpOx Send a message via Skype™ to Got EpOx

Seems like the logical thing to do unless you don;t have room for a second PSU. Anyway i'm sure someone knows the perfect solution.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo T5500 1.66Ghz
1GB PC2-5300 667Mhz
Matsh1ta DVD/RW Drive
232GB Western Digital 'My Book' External HDD USB 2.0
80GB Hitachi SATA HDD
Onboard Audio
Intel GMA 950 Onboard Video
Want to make a difference without leaving your chair?, then join the AOA folding team today!
AOA Folding @Home
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 1st November, 2005, 06:10 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

what I have done in the past is to select one molex connector and rip it off, as a rule the lights in a pc use 12v so cap the red wire and the black one next to it and tie them up. attach a switch to the yellow +12v cable and then put the two cable ends into a junction box and then run seperate wires of to each light or fan.
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 1st November, 2005, 06:17 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

like so, I apologise for the child like diagram.
Attached Images
File Type: bmp mod.bmp (107.1 KB, 247 views)
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 1st November, 2005, 06:36 PM
Paulio's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: Devon, England
Posts: 24

lol, its ok mine wouldnt be that good, umm if i bought one of these at extention cables, cut the other two completely off, then a switch on the yellow, would that work? of would i need it like your diagram? (as a noob i wouldnt be able to do that lol)
__________________
EPoX 9NDA3J
AMD Athlon 3200+ @ 2GHz
ATI Radeon 9250 128 MB DDR
TwinMOS PC3200 DDR-DIMM 1024 MB (2x 256 MB)
120 GB Western Digital HDD
160 GB Hitatchi HDD
420w Tagan PSU

God, I Need To Get Out More, lol.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 1st November, 2005, 07:02 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

that would work fine, for lights the only 2 wires you need are the yellow one and the black one next to it.
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 1st November, 2005, 07:44 PM
Paulio's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: Devon, England
Posts: 24

ok, i`ll do that as i didnt want to go chopping up my new psu lol, it arrived today
__________________
EPoX 9NDA3J
AMD Athlon 3200+ @ 2GHz
ATI Radeon 9250 128 MB DDR
TwinMOS PC3200 DDR-DIMM 1024 MB (2x 256 MB)
120 GB Western Digital HDD
160 GB Hitatchi HDD
420w Tagan PSU

God, I Need To Get Out More, lol.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 1st November, 2005, 10:58 PM
Paulio's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: Devon, England
Posts: 24

so if i had something that resembles the attatched image, thats it right?
Attached Images
File Type: bmp light switch.bmp (394.8 KB, 245 views)
__________________
EPoX 9NDA3J
AMD Athlon 3200+ @ 2GHz
ATI Radeon 9250 128 MB DDR
TwinMOS PC3200 DDR-DIMM 1024 MB (2x 256 MB)
120 GB Western Digital HDD
160 GB Hitatchi HDD
420w Tagan PSU

God, I Need To Get Out More, lol.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blue LEDs - wiring and power questions Favu The Chop Shop 7 16th January, 2007 07:05 PM
power wiring bonesaw Intel Motherboards & CPUs 4 11th March, 2006 11:07 PM
PSU Sleeving/Wiring Question fpsfreak General Hardware Discussion 4 15th May, 2004 02:31 PM
laptop LCD wiring chris4521 Random Nonsense! 4 2nd June, 2003 04:31 AM
i need help wiring my case! dumass Case Modifications 21 17th December, 2001 08:26 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:55 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0