AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 5th November, 2005, 09:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2005
Posts: 84

Bus Speed

I've read on a chat forum not that long ago, that if someone buys, say a processor with 800 mhz FSB. Now, for the 800 mhz to be fully utilized, ever other component must be at 800 mhz. What does this mean, and is this something i have to worry about, because this page i read was acually pretty obsolete. The date he wrote it was like in June of 2003. Thanks, i really want this question answered
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 5th November, 2005, 09:46 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 5th November, 2005, 09:59 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Yes and no....
FSB stands for Front side bus. Each "interface" between internal components are referred to as a "bus". Think of it as a bunch of highways. The FSB is the highway from the CPU to the Northbridge (usually). Most likely at 800, he was refering to a P4.

Other buses include the memory bus, PCI bus, and AGP. Memory was probably the intended subject for performance. Running 2 sticks of dual channel memory at 200, effectively gives you an 800mhz memory bus, permitting the CPU to get/send data to the memory at optimal speed.

The other buses run much slower, and are "less important" in terms of speed. PCI = 33mhz, for example.

Hope this helps....
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 5th November, 2005, 10:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2005
Posts: 84

so if i have the system below:

Intel P4 3.4 Ghz at 800 mhz FSB
2 GB (2 x 1 GB) dual channel PC5400 at 667 mhz
250 GB 16 MB cache 7200 RPM HD
GeForce 7800 GT with 256 megs of memory
Motherboard having 3 PCI slots, 2 PCI-Express X16 slots (one review said there were only one on it), and 4 SATA150 storage devices

if i have the above specs on my comp, will i be using the 800 mhz FSB all the time, or only be using like half of it or something?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2005, 01:18 AM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

most componets are not used all the time try rephrase the queston so we can understand.
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2005, 04:45 AM
Exile69's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via AIM to Exile69 Send a message via MSN to Exile69

I guess it would be at 800FSB all the time..but I'm not sure if I'm answering your question. Please rephrase.
__________________
Research Ron Paul

AOA Team fah

Abit NF-M2 | XFX 8600GT | AM2 X2 3800+ | 2Gb G.Skill DDR2 800 | Aspire X-QPack | 250Gb Western Digital | Creative X-Fi + Logitech X530 5.1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HTT Speed? Mr. K6 EPoX MotherBoards 7 10th October, 2004 10:58 PM
Ram Speed Help please.... CoolChris Intel Motherboards & CPUs 4 27th July, 2004 07:22 PM
GPU Memory speed vs GPU core speed Hoppster Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 10th July, 2004 05:00 AM
New core speed relative to old core speed mookydooky ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 17 18th May, 2002 04:14 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:30 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0