AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2005, 11:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2005
Posts: 84

Completely Different Comp Line System

OK. After doing tons of research of what is good and bad, and visiting a bunch of chat forums and websites and reading a lot of reviews, and thinking, ive come up with a brand new comp system for what i want to go with instead of going with Intel P4. Please observe and tell me if the processor is good. That is my main concern here, as everything changed now that i went with the AMD line. Here it is:

Case: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811119075

PSU: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817153023

Motherboard: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813170147

CPU: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103562

Memory: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820141308

Extra Memory: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145440

HD: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144235

Video Card: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130247

Sound Card: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16829102177

Optical Drive: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827152053

Total comes to right around 1500 dollars with shipping and tax. I just want to focus on the tower itself, and i can get the mouse/keyboard, speakers, and monitor at a local Circuit City or something.

I have a question: Do i really need 3 GB of memory, or can i get by with 2 GB?

Is dual core a real good thing to have? If i get that processor, will it be clocked at 4 Ghz or what?

In case any of you are wondering, this comp will be used for (approxiamtly): 60% gaming, 25-30% office apps, and 10-15% internet, chat, watching DVD's, etc.

Thanks in advance. I really appreciate all this information im getting
__________________

Last edited by calhoun; 7th November, 2005 at 12:34 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2005, 02:25 AM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

Parts all look good.

Dont need the extra memory, 2GB definately enough - You can upgrade that later when it becomes a problem.

I'm not sure about the MB brand though, check with other members

You may want to look towards ASUS, DFI, Epox, Gigabyte, MSI - In no particular order.

The core clock is 2.0 GHz, and will show that, but there are 2 of them running in parallel. You should be able to overclock them, I'm not sure how high, and overclocking is different to Intel. The stock speeds are about the same as an Intel 3.8GHz for benchmarks.
When you are talking about AMD, while clock speeds are lower - the work output is much higher.

If you overclock the cores to 2.2GHz (quite likely I hear), its the equivalent to AMD 4200+, or roughly 4.2GHz Intel.

Just remember its not the core speed you use to compare, its more the model number.

The dual core is very much future proof, and runs multi thread much better than current Intel Dual cores.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2005, 03:00 AM
Exile69's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via AIM to Exile69 Send a message via MSN to Exile69

You don't need the extra memory, 2Gb is more than enough, plus you don't wanna fill all 4 slots, as it'll force 2T command rate. You could also try a more reliable brand, not that Kingston isn't reliable, but SteveI got his Corsair Value Select (VS) to run at 240Mhz (DDR 480 or approx. PC4400), which is fanomanal. Albatron isn't neccicarily renowned for their motherboards, any extra money spent, 20 dollars which is nothing on a $1500 budget, will be justified in but the EPoX 939 SLI motherboard, the 9NPAJ SLI. Might want a better PSU, as that doesn't seem like enough to power everything you're planning on getting, not to mention you might add another card for SLI. Something from Enermax or Seasonic is usually good, remember to never skimp on the PSU. Case is more personal preference but I like Antec, might wanna take a look. I hear BenQ 1640's are great DVD burners for 40 bucks. Money saved from not getting the extra mem could go into a better sound card, the Creative X-Fi is superb. If you need me to link anything else let me know. Again, hope this helps and you get the most out of your build. Cheers for switching to AMD, I'm confident you'll be happy you did.
__________________
Research Ron Paul

AOA Team fah

Abit NF-M2 | XFX 8600GT | AM2 X2 3800+ | 2Gb G.Skill DDR2 800 | Aspire X-QPack | 250Gb Western Digital | Creative X-Fi + Logitech X530 5.1

Last edited by Exile69; 7th November, 2005 at 03:50 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2005, 03:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2005
Posts: 84

so even if i dont use dual core (say that all i do for like 3 hours straight is play doom 3, then exit out of that game, then just maybe watch a DVD, the exit out of that, and then maybe get back on a game, then etc) will it still be really fast such as the P4 3.4 Ghz? I guess i dont really understand too much about dual core technology. I guess waht im really trying to ask is if im only doing one thing at a time, such as playing a game, or using the internet, will it be roughly the 4.2 Ghz intel?

Sry if i confused ya
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2005, 03:04 AM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

Quote:
Originally Posted by calhoun
so even if i dont use dual core (say that all i do for like 3 hours straight is play doom 3, then exit out of that game, then just maybe watch a DVD, the exit out of that, and then maybe get back on a game, then etc) will it still be really fast such as the P4 3.4 Ghz? I guess i dont really understand too much about dual core technology. I guess waht im really trying to ask is if im only doing one thing at a time, such as playing a game, or using the internet, will it be roughly the 4.2 Ghz intel?

Sry if i confused ya
Check your other thread, I've posted info there
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2005, 03:06 AM
Exile69's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via AIM to Exile69 Send a message via MSN to Exile69

Quote:
Originally Posted by calhoun
so even if i dont use dual core (say that all i do for like 3 hours straight is play doom 3, then exit out of that game, then just maybe watch a DVD, the exit out of that, and then maybe get back on a game, then etc) will it still be really fast such as the P4 3.4 Ghz? I guess i dont really understand too much about dual core technology. I guess waht im really trying to ask is if im only doing one thing at a time, such as playing a game, or using the internet, will it be roughly the 4.2 Ghz intel?
Nah, if the application isn't multi-threaded, which many aren't yet, hence dual cores are more future proof, then you're just getting about the performance of just one of the 3200+ Venice's, again the 3800+ is just two 3200+ Venice's on a single processor (die to be specific). To clarify, a 3200+ from AMD is approximately equal to a 3.2Ghz Intel Pentium 4 processor. Remeber still that when programs start taking advantage of dual cores your 3800+ will run about as fast a 3.8Ghz Intel Pentium 4 processor, probably faster.
__________________
Research Ron Paul

AOA Team fah

Abit NF-M2 | XFX 8600GT | AM2 X2 3800+ | 2Gb G.Skill DDR2 800 | Aspire X-QPack | 250Gb Western Digital | Creative X-Fi + Logitech X530 5.1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2005, 03:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2005
Posts: 84

so if im only playing one game at a time on a dual core processor, the CPU will take the speed of only one of those processors instead of both of them combined?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2005, 03:20 AM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

Quote:
Originally Posted by calhoun
so if im only playing one game at a time on a dual core processor, the CPU will take the speed of only one of those processors instead of both of them combined?
Not reaaly, but close - here is what I posted in your other thread:

some information regarding this is in the link below:
http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors...5_13041,00.html

Dual core is 2 processors working in parallel, on the same die. Its like 2 processors joined together.

The processor will still be at 2.0GHz, but the 3800+ tends towards the output will be the equivalent of 3.8GHz (3800MHz). Think of it like 2 AMD 3200+ cores, running parallel.

Just think:

You have a string of data - A B C D E F G H I

1 core process this linearly.
2 cores can process this the same by using 1 core, or 2 cores, 1 doing A C E G I, and the other a half clock cycle behind doing B D F H, giving performance increases. Not twice as fast, but enough from say an increase from 3.2GHz to 3.8GHz equalivent.

You could also have 2 threads of information:

A B C D E F G H I
A B C D E F G H I

while 1 core would do A A B B C C D D E E F F G G H H I I

2 cores would do A B C D E F G H I each at the same time.
Giving roughly twice the performance of the single core.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2005, 03:22 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2005
Posts: 84

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817148027

is this power supply good for my system above?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2005, 03:22 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2005
Posts: 84

and about that message above. that is really kinda confusing for me to understand.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2005, 03:28 AM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

probably this for PSU:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103937


Maybe I can explain it differently.

You and a friend cycle.

1 lap around a track as fast as possible - single thread

You could use:
One person (single core)
or 2 people on a tandam, which will get you around a little faster (dual core)

OR

there needs to be 10 laps done - Multithread

1 of you could do it (1 processor)
or both of you could do it side by side (dual core) which will be about twice as fast
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H

Last edited by noob; 7th November, 2005 at 03:34 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2005, 03:40 AM
Exile69's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via AIM to Exile69 Send a message via MSN to Exile69

You really want to invest in your PSU, it shouldn't be a mediocre part that only lasts for one computer. Try something like this.
__________________
Research Ron Paul

AOA Team fah

Abit NF-M2 | XFX 8600GT | AM2 X2 3800+ | 2Gb G.Skill DDR2 800 | Aspire X-QPack | 250Gb Western Digital | Creative X-Fi + Logitech X530 5.1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2005, 04:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2005
Posts: 84

yikes! that one is 116 bucks. i want something that is at MOST only 75 dollars, but something good enough to power a good computer that is similar to the one above
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2005, 04:51 AM
Exile69's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via AIM to Exile69 Send a message via MSN to Exile69

I realize it looks ridiculous, and I also realize you can probably get something with enough juice to power your rig for a lot less, but still. A quality PSU is always a good investment.
__________________
Research Ron Paul

AOA Team fah

Abit NF-M2 | XFX 8600GT | AM2 X2 3800+ | 2Gb G.Skill DDR2 800 | Aspire X-QPack | 250Gb Western Digital | Creative X-Fi + Logitech X530 5.1

Last edited by Exile69; 7th November, 2005 at 02:44 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2005, 04:55 AM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

If you don't want to spend to much try:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817189005

although its not SLi certified like:

http://www.ewiz.com/detail.php?p=PS-...c6f67876470201

And before you ask, yes a good PSU can make a very big difference, even on how long your parts last
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2005, 04:58 AM
Exile69's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via AIM to Exile69 Send a message via MSN to Exile69

Never heard of the company. I still say invest in an Enermax.
__________________
Research Ron Paul

AOA Team fah

Abit NF-M2 | XFX 8600GT | AM2 X2 3800+ | 2Gb G.Skill DDR2 800 | Aspire X-QPack | 250Gb Western Digital | Creative X-Fi + Logitech X530 5.1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2005, 05:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2005
Posts: 84

how bout this one:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817101107
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2005, 05:06 AM
Exile69's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via AIM to Exile69 Send a message via MSN to Exile69

I still disagree. The PSU market is a dodgy one and only high quality brands that have been tried and tried again can truly be trusted.
__________________
Research Ron Paul

AOA Team fah

Abit NF-M2 | XFX 8600GT | AM2 X2 3800+ | 2Gb G.Skill DDR2 800 | Aspire X-QPack | 250Gb Western Digital | Creative X-Fi + Logitech X530 5.1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2005, 05:10 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2005
Posts: 84

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103937

i looked at the sticked threads at some of the different columns on pcmech.com for best PSU companies and bad ones, and i found out that antec was among the best, and this is 500 watts along with 2 fans at only around 70 bucks
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2005, 06:06 AM
Chesso's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Sydney - Australia
Posts: 877
Send a message via MSN to Chesso

I don't know much about PSU's but that sounds pretty good to me and seems the price is right.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
And now for something completely different Kaitain Digital Image, Photo, Video and Audio Editing. 16 14th October, 2005 08:03 PM
How do I completely shut down my system? graz EPoX MotherBoards 12 18th October, 2004 02:05 PM
Ditching the T line in a watercooled system- The Spyder Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 0 3rd August, 2003 03:33 AM
Where to plug "Line In" Device with 8RDA+ and Rear Speakers plugged in "Line In" MegaManX4 EPoX MotherBoards 8 18th June, 2003 10:19 PM
Now For Something Completely Different XI is Out Uncle Bob Random Nonsense! 2 19th March, 2003 03:56 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:57 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0