AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 18th November, 2005, 11:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Well, good luck trying to buy a gaming PC for $200.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 18th November, 2005, 11:19 PM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

$400
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 18th November, 2005, 11:24 PM
Exile69's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via AIM to Exile69 Send a message via MSN to Exile69

The FX5300 is not as good as an X300, integrated or not. Plus, it is so much harder to upgrade, whereas with the ATI Express 200 chipset you have an empty PCI-E slot just waiting for a faster card when you need to upgrade. Alright, I'm done with my ranting, I've given you what I think is the best you can get for around $300, and I have nothing more to say.
__________________
Research Ron Paul

AOA Team fah

Abit NF-M2 | XFX 8600GT | AM2 X2 3800+ | 2Gb G.Skill DDR2 800 | Aspire X-QPack | 250Gb Western Digital | Creative X-Fi + Logitech X530 5.1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 19th November, 2005, 12:09 AM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

I didn't know the x300 was better.
Heres what I'm, thinking now:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144233
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231029
http://www.mwave.com/mwave/skusearch...iteria=BA21791
http://www.mwave.com/mwave/skusearch...iteria=BA21853
The case has a built in psu and scurio speakers
http://www.xoxide.com/5in1combo.html
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."

Last edited by madcatmk3; 19th November, 2005 at 04:24 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 19th November, 2005, 12:13 AM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

The total is $440 with xp.
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 19th November, 2005, 12:28 AM
Phat Pat's Avatar
Phat Spammer
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: /home/pat
Posts: 1,432
Send a message via AIM to Phat Pat

What about a motherboard?
__________________
God's got this all wrong. We are not special. We are not crap or trash either. We just are, and what happens just happens.
And God says, "No, that's not right."
Yeah. Well. Whatever. You can't teach God anything. -Tyler Durden

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 19th November, 2005, 03:17 AM
Exile69's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via AIM to Exile69 Send a message via MSN to Exile69

Wow, I am very much done giving advice for a long time.
__________________
Research Ron Paul

AOA Team fah

Abit NF-M2 | XFX 8600GT | AM2 X2 3800+ | 2Gb G.Skill DDR2 800 | Aspire X-QPack | 250Gb Western Digital | Creative X-Fi + Logitech X530 5.1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 19th November, 2005, 03:39 AM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

For $300, your suggestion makes perfect sense to me Exile.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 19th November, 2005, 04:26 PM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

Quote:
Originally Posted by Exile69
Wow, I am very much done giving advice for a long time.
ummm... why
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 19th November, 2005, 04:26 PM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phat Pat
What about a motherboard?
I fixed the link I accidently copied the wrong one.
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 19th November, 2005, 05:03 PM
Azriel's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Clifton, Illinois
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via ICQ to Azriel

After everything down to the monitor, I spent $1200 or so on my new box. You will not be doing a lot of gaming with a $300 box, unless you want to make a lot of sacrifices. You can buy used pull drives from computergeeks.com to save some. But a 6800/256 alone is going to cost you $200. I'd start seriously considdering what you must have for this box. It can be done, but you will have to go with a board with onboard everything including GF6100 video, and you wont be using socket 939. Exile's suggestion is probably the best you will do for the money, and it's a rather nice machine at that.
__________________
A64 3800+ Dual Core/GF8800GT-512/2gig DDR/10,000 RPM Raptor SATA 36gig HDD, 250gig 1394b/28" LCD

Last edited by Azriel; 19th November, 2005 at 05:08 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2005, 02:46 AM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

thats why I reconfigured it to his sugeston. I can always ada video card in the the machine for my friend later. and I don't think he expects to be playing fear on it.
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2005, 03:43 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

FYI...
The X300 is not a viable gaming GPU. On paper, it supports DX9. However, I've tried to turn down every setting including res on my son's, and it just can't handle a DX9 game.... way to choppy to play. I'm getting an X700 to make up for it.

I know nothing about the 5300... so I can't judge. On the other hand, an old 8500LE is able to play the same DX9 game fine. The game is KOTOR2. While the 8500LE don't do DX9, its pure performance is enough to play the game at least. The X300 with its DX9 capabilities can't draw fast enough to make the game playable... it feels like 3 frames per second.

For 300, please warn your buddy that no moderm 3d game will be playable, unless you do one hell of a job pricing out refurbs all over the place. Also, the case you selected only looks good in a bitmap... When the pic is real shiny, odds are when you get a good look, it will be a real flimsy crappy looking case. It would be a good idea to get your buddy to approve the case before you buy... At least then, if he is dissapointed, it will have been his choice. If you cut too many corners, your buddy is bound to be dissapointed within a month of having it.... For a pure "cheap as all hell PC" get a dell.

EDIT: remember, you might have to pay 80+ for WinXP home, but dell pays a lot less. With only 300, that's the ball game... nothing you can slap together can make up that shortfall. Lack of upgradability is the price.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2005, 11:43 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

I agree. Buying a pre-built Dell makes much mroe sense.
It may even come with an X600 GFX card that can possibly play older games reasonably well.
Ok, so it's not building a Pc, but Dell can make for $300 what you could do for $500.
They can afford to do it cheaper than you. It's a fact, building a Pc is often nowadays more expensive than pre-built.
In a moment of having little money, pre-built may just be the more sensible option.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2005, 06:04 PM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

Quote:
Originally Posted by aghastpumpkin
They can afford to do it cheaper than you. It's a fact, building a Pc is often nowadays more expensive than pre-built.
Not really mine was $1800 and would have cost me $4000 from dell. But I do know that the 5300 FX can run F.E.A.R on minimum settings. The 5900 ultra can run it on medium. SO I might go with the 5300 I know the case is fairly flimsy but I have seen one in real life and it looked good. SO mabey I will just tell him to go with a dell and we can upgrade it slightly.
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2005, 06:52 PM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...u=I69-2017%20C
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2005, 07:42 PM
Exile69's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via AIM to Exile69 Send a message via MSN to Exile69

Quote:
Originally Posted by madcatmk3
Not really mine was $1800 and would have cost me $4000 from dell. But I do know that the 5300 FX can run F.E.A.R on minimum settings. The 5900 ultra can run it on medium. SO I might go with the 5300 I know the case is fairly flimsy but I have seen one in real life and it looked good. SO mabey I will just tell him to go with a dell and we can upgrade it slightly.
Well, obviously. If you've been paying attention to your thread, lower extreme's are being discussed, upper extremes are a whole 'nother story when it comes to prebuilt PC's. For ~$300, you really do save the most amount of money getting a prebuilt, but we're not talking quality. A prebuilt usually means no way to upgrade your graphics card, you're stuck with 32Mb of shared memory coupled with the weakest of GPU's, you get a terrible power supply only just capable of running the system in it, you get a cheap case with enough plastic to last a millenium, and you usually get an Intel, a Celeron most likely, which have never been very good IMO. What you do get is an OS which for the company that builds it is almost free, you get some sort of optical drive, and you get a working computer with newb support for a couple of years. Given the choice of saving a few bucks on a prebuilt, even though you do get a better deal, it's quality you get spending the extra ~$100 or so dollars and the satisfaction of doing it yourself, and that's one less sterotypical Dell user for the world to be proud of.
__________________
Research Ron Paul

AOA Team fah

Abit NF-M2 | XFX 8600GT | AM2 X2 3800+ | 2Gb G.Skill DDR2 800 | Aspire X-QPack | 250Gb Western Digital | Creative X-Fi + Logitech X530 5.1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2005, 08:54 PM
Azriel's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Clifton, Illinois
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via ICQ to Azriel

Could try this for $363.42

Probably less now. I made the list last night for someone else who wanted a cheap bot box for DAoC.

Gigabyte GA-K8N51GMF-9 Socket 939 mATX Motherboard
Onboard 7.1 Surround
Onboard GF6100 video
Onboard gigabit LAN
Nforce 4 Chipset
1394 Firewire
$76.99 shipped from http://www.chiefvalue.com/app/produc...T=Motherboards

Athlon 64 3000 90nm 939 pin Boxed processor
3 year factory waranty
Includes heat sink and fan
$136.95 shipped from http://www.pcdirectsource.com/Item.cfm?ID=1666

Western Digital 80GB SATA HDD
7200rpm
8Mb Buffer
$48 shipped from http://www.foxtec.com/products/view.asp?ID=4302

Sony CDU5211 : CD-ROM
52x Beige
$16 Shipped from http://www.upgradenation.com/Product...ode=CD-CDU5215

1Gig PC3200 DDR400
512MB (buy 2)
Corsair Value Select Cas2.5
$76.98 ($37.99 ea.) Shipped from http://www.chiefvalue.com/app/produc...=System+Memory

SONY 1.44MB Floppy Drive
$8.50 shipped from http://aibahn.com/product_info.php?products_id=106

This doesn't include a case or PSU.
Yes, the GF6100 onboard is going to leave a bit to be desired, but it does have a PCIe slot for future upgrade. I've dealt with most of these companies very recently. Good merchants. I didn't have any problems.

Edit: Updated prices. 2 dropped and one item no longer free shipping.
__________________
A64 3800+ Dual Core/GF8800GT-512/2gig DDR/10,000 RPM Raptor SATA 36gig HDD, 250gig 1394b/28" LCD

Last edited by Azriel; 26th November, 2005 at 06:18 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2005, 11:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2005
Posts: 84

um... madcatmk3... just out of curiosity, how old are you? If you want a computer for 300 bucks (which includes a 100 dollar OS), you are truely mistaking. Let me see if i can get a list of parts for you (i cant believe im acually gonna look at this low of parts):

Case: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811200001

PSU: included with case

Motherboard: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813123231

CPU: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819104160

HD: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148051

Memory: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820141432


I hope you have a monitor, if not, you can prolly get one for 50 bucks. If not, you can prolly get one at the dump for free, since you (or your friend or whatever the ***** he is to you) look like you guys are about 9 years old living off your mommy's allowance just by telling from that 300 dollar budget. I mean, come on. Theres practically no way for you to get a good computer with decent performace for 300 dollars, including an operating system. Like someone else said here, go to school and jack one from the comp lab that has 128 megs of memory, COMPLETE with windows 95, has a 266 mhz processor, has a floppy drive, and comes with a cheap little 12 inch CRT (was being sarcastic for you people reading this)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2005, 11:49 PM
Exile69's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via AIM to Exile69 Send a message via MSN to Exile69

That truly is a terrible choice on parts. You're not getting the best bang for your buck at all. Either get a pre-built Dell, or just build a nice, cheap Sempron 64.
__________________
Research Ron Paul

AOA Team fah

Abit NF-M2 | XFX 8600GT | AM2 X2 3800+ | 2Gb G.Skill DDR2 800 | Aspire X-QPack | 250Gb Western Digital | Creative X-Fi + Logitech X530 5.1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:38 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0