AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2005, 04:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2005
Posts: 84

Raptors and Standard HD's

Im just wondering if a Western Digital Raptor 74 GB 10k RPM with 8 MB buffer is as fast or faster as a Maxtor DiamondMax 10 300 GB 7200 RPM with 16 MB buffer
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2005, 04:12 AM
Skiracing108's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 498
Send a message via AIM to Skiracing108

when that 10k rpm spins up its gu nna be loud i love my maxtor diamondm max 10 -250gig sata i love it
__________________
amd3000+venice oc'ed from 1.8 to 2.18ghz
1 gig dual channel patriot unbufferered
evga nforce4 sli edition mobo
evga 7800gtx CORE 498mhz MEM 1.29ghz
Maxtor 250gig hardrive
soundblaster-audigy 2z's
Klipsch pro media 5:1 surround sound
Thermaltake 500w psu
AOA Team fah

Last edited by Skiracing108; 21st November, 2005 at 04:13 AM. Reason: more info
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2005, 11:05 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

My suspicion is that the WD 74Gb Raptor will be faster, simply because for single user applications it's very near the top of the pile. Sure, the 15K SCSI disks outrun it, but they're stupid $$$ unless you really need them.

Unfortunately, you only get 74Gb on a spindle, which isn't a vast amount of storage. Whatever disk you do get, ensure that TCQ is disabled. On SATA disks, TCQ results in a performance drop, whereas NCQ results in a small performance increase (2% or so).
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2005, 09:59 PM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

to answer the orginal queston the raptor is much better but 74 gbs for $150 is not worth it. The main thing to do is to look at the seek time the raptor is about 4.5 ms the diamond max is 8.8 ms. My HDD has an 8.5 seek time and works fine.
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2005, 10:11 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Rotational latency is lower on a disk spinning at higher speeds. However, technologies such as NCQ allow the drive to do things like elevator seeks. These help to mask rotational latencies by optimising the order in which sectors are retreived.

Having said that, the seek time is pretty meaningless. Instead, the average random read and average random write times are far more important. The average random read for the Raptor is about 8.1ms. Top of the line high performance SCSI disks manage around 5.5ms.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 22nd November, 2005, 02:41 AM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

but it's not worth the extra cash for eathier. and whats that quantuns device in your sig?
I'm fine with a $100 300gb sata.
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 22nd November, 2005, 10:48 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

It's a RISC processor.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2005, 12:10 AM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

what RISC again. I'm still not that knowlageable aobut HDD terms.
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2005, 10:01 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Reduced Instruction Set Computer, as opposed to Complex Instruction Set Computer.

RISC processors are designed so that they only have relatively few instructions. This means that more instructions are necessary to perform the same task as a CISC processor, but as they're all simple instructions, the processor can execute them very quickly.


However, the line between RISC and CISC processors is getting more blurred. AMD have a line of processors where the processor appears to be a CISC processor. However, inside is a translator that takes a CISC instruction and converts it into a number of RISC instructions. This way AMD have managed to acheive the high performance of RISC whilst executing CISC instructions.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2005, 05:56 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Learned something new today, thank you Aedan!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2005, 06:54 PM
Got EpOx's Avatar
Team 45 Folder
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Exmouth, UK
Posts: 2,569
Send a message via MSN to Got EpOx Send a message via Skype™ to Got EpOx

He's got an amazing knowledge of computers.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo T5500 1.66Ghz
1GB PC2-5300 667Mhz
Matsh1ta DVD/RW Drive
232GB Western Digital 'My Book' External HDD USB 2.0
80GB Hitachi SATA HDD
Onboard Audio
Intel GMA 950 Onboard Video
Want to make a difference without leaving your chair?, then join the AOA folding team today!
AOA Folding @Home
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2005, 09:01 PM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

he should do lessons.
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2005, 09:04 PM
Exile69's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via AIM to Exile69 Send a message via MSN to Exile69

I demand a seminar.
__________________
Research Ron Paul

AOA Team fah

Abit NF-M2 | XFX 8600GT | AM2 X2 3800+ | 2Gb G.Skill DDR2 800 | Aspire X-QPack | 250Gb Western Digital | Creative X-Fi + Logitech X530 5.1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2005, 09:08 PM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

Lesson
1. Google it...
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2005, 09:31 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Yup!
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 25th November, 2005, 04:53 PM
Azriel's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Clifton, Illinois
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via ICQ to Azriel

I have the 36 gig raptor in my new box. VERY BIG difference. Now the fastest thing I have here to compare it to is a 80gig WD 8meg cache IDE, so I might be a little off. I really don't understand sometimes. Why will people spend $50 on lights and window, $100 on a sound card (sorry, I can't hear the difference), and buy the absolute most expensive video card on the market, but won't spend $100 to have a fast HDD? You should be running at least 2 HDDs anyway. You boot drive doesn't need to be 300gig. Actually there's nothing legal that I can think of that would make a home PC need a 300 gig drive at all. And imagine, you actually fill that whole drive legally (Home movies of you wife, spreadsheets, Home movies of your dog, pictures, home movies of your wife and your dog.) imagine that drive failing.
__________________
A64 3800+ Dual Core/GF8800GT-512/2gig DDR/10,000 RPM Raptor SATA 36gig HDD, 250gig 1394b/28" LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 25th November, 2005, 05:04 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally Posted by Azriel
Actually there's nothing legal that I can think of that would make a home PC need a 300 gig drive at all.
VMWare images, legally downloaded software, drivers, photos, games...

I guess I should introduce you to my girlfriend sometime. She's the one who shot over 3000 images when she was on holiday.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 26th November, 2005, 12:57 AM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

my girlfriend somehow filled a 500GB. PLus I have a media center PC so I have a 250 GB sata 3.0GBS
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hitachi HD's...what say ye? aztec61 General Hardware Discussion 6 11th January, 2007 06:44 PM
Raptors on my system dpgdog187 64 Bit computing 1 20th December, 2004 11:04 PM
8rda3i and 2 raptors in a raid 0 not good ? Ollie EPoX MotherBoards 2 11th July, 2004 10:08 PM
WD Raptors Lazgoat Online Deals, and Steals 1 13th October, 2003 04:41 PM
(8rda3+) RAID results with 2 raptors!!! Blackmyst EPoX MotherBoards 26 9th July, 2003 10:26 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:18 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0