AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 25th November, 2005, 07:33 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alienware.com
Well, for one thing you dont compare a console to a PC.....and if you want to get down to the point the Xbox 360 processor actually is one of.. IF NOT the most powerful processor out.....it is a TRI-core processor running at 3.2 ghz per core that equals out to 9.6 ghz...so i dont care who you are that is a nasty processor in a console...the GPU is sick as well.....it can handle all Hi-Def resolutions at 500mhz....

So ide love to see you people go find the individual parts in the Xbox 360 and build a system under $426.11

And as for the PS3..yes it will be a nice console indeed....but sony will not be able to master the Cell processor....
There are a few problems with that. The Xbox360 does NOT run a 9.6Ghz processor.

In my hand I have a dual core MIPS R4000 RISC based computer, running at 333Mhz per core, also known as the Sony Playstation Portable. Saying that makes it a 666Mhz unit thats faster than my Pentium 3 600Mhz laptop is nonsense as there is no comparison.

Similarly, saying a 3 core 3.2Ghz chip, running a RISC PowerPC architecture is one of the most powerfull processors out is silly. You cannot compare it to a top end Athlon X2, because there is simply no way of accurately comparing them. And comparing it to supercomputer processors is silly as well. The fact is a powerfull RISC processor is far cheaper, and far easier to make than a powerfull CISC processor, and that is the main attraction.

Is the Xbox 360 better than a top end gaming computer? No. It isnt even close. But it isnt meant to be, its meant to be a cheap way of satisfying people that are less picky about their gaming experience.


As for Sony not being able to master cell? I dont quite understand what you mean by that. Its a PowerPC chip, made by IBM, using a multi core system, operating at 3.2Ghz. Exactly identical to the Xenon. The difference is in the multi core implementation of Cell. If they can handle Xenon, they can handle Cell.


I am sure ATI would be glad to know their R500 chip is "Sick" though.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 25th November, 2005, 11:28 AM
Darkest's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 179

http://smashmyxbox.com/
__________________
The constitution isn't perfect, but it's better than what we have now.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 25th November, 2005, 11:44 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
As for Sony not being able to master cell? I dont quite understand what you mean by that. Its a PowerPC chip, made by IBM, using a multi core system, operating at 3.2Ghz. Exactly identical to the Xenon.
No, it's not any of those! The processors used in the PS3 are being made by Sony, not IBM. It's not a PowerPC chip - it just happens to have a single PowerPC core to co-ordinate the "Synergistic Processing Elements" (SPE). As far as I can ascertain, the PowerPC core is there to act as a supervisor to the SPE.

Each of the eight SPE are made up of a processing unit and an "SMF" unit (Anyone know what SMF actually stands for?). The SMF handles things like DMA, memory management and the bus. The processing unit is a RISC processor with 128bit SIMD (Single Instruction, Multiple Data) organisation. Each SPE has 256Kb of instruction and data memory (RAM), allowing it to process data independantly of the main system RAM. That's probably just as well, given that eight processors trying to hit the system RAM at the same time is going to cause a big bottleneck for bandwidth!
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 25th November, 2005, 11:57 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

The project is Sony / Ibm / Toshiba last time I heard :\
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 25th November, 2005, 12:16 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Yes, the project is Sony, IBM and Toshiba. However, the Cell Broadband Engine used in the PS3 is manufactured by Sony, not by IBM. Whereas, the processors used in the Revolution and the Xbox 360 are manufactured by IBM.

Either way, IBM's making money out of all the console!
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 26th November, 2005, 12:25 AM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

welcome to the forms both of you. Also just becuase adding the 3 numbers together doesn't mean that will be the core speen and thereforce compare it to an AMD of intel. Thats like saying that and 2.8 GHZ intel is the same as a Fx=57 (2.8 GHZ).
oops sory about posting so late I ddin't realize there was a secound page.
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 26th November, 2005, 12:34 AM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

Sony malking the most since everyones buying there HDTV's .
I think it will take a long time before the cell is fully devloped. I think now it is really completly rushed out. The summer launch rumors are completly false since I think the cell with replace most cureent procesessors since it allows a sytem's core not to be completly dependent on system RAM. I think in a year or so they will be the new dual core replacements.
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 26th November, 2005, 12:55 AM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkest
Thats just sick do they know how much $430 is. I'm trying to build my friend a computer for $400 and they throw it away. What ******* no onw should do that if they don't like the xbox they don't have to buy it.
GOOD JOB *******S!!!
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PS2 or XBOX ? saquib General Hardware Discussion 20 30th March, 2006 01:57 AM
xbox 360, well fearless joe Random Nonsense! 46 10th December, 2005 07:04 PM
Is it the New Xbox or a UFO? danrok General Hardware Discussion 18 20th June, 2005 12:14 AM
Xbox Cerium Hardware Hacking 11 20th June, 2004 02:21 PM
turn your pc into an xbox or your xbox into a pc! fireball_87 Random Nonsense! 14 21st November, 2001 05:10 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:52 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0