AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2005, 07:42 PM
barneygumble742's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 397
Send a message via AIM to barneygumble742 Send a message via Yahoo to barneygumble742

320 gig hd

what size does a 320 gig hd format to?

is there a formula for this?
__________________
Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 2.50GHz
GTX 260
2GB RAM
32in + 24in LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2005, 11:02 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

well each 20gb formats to 18.9gb approximately.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2005, 11:41 PM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

302.4 gb. If you really want to be sure put it in and see how much you have
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2005, 03:43 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

It does vary a bit by mfgr, but my guess would be about 298gb. I have a 200gig that goes to about 186.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2005, 04:29 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

320 Gb, wow! My first HDD was 420 Mb!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2005, 05:20 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

My first hard disk as a 100Mb SCSI drive... But then again, it was on an Atari ST, not a PC.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2005, 06:00 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Mine was a 20MB. It was highly impressive since many PC's had no HDD at the time!
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2005, 07:28 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

My first was a 10 gig, full height drive... imagine 5 1/4 wide, twice as high as a standard CD drive, and almost a foot deep.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2005, 09:47 PM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

I'm not very old mine was a 80mg laptop HDD. my first desktop was a 1.6 GB intagreated before towers.
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2005, 10:33 PM
barneygumble742's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 397
Send a message via AIM to barneygumble742 Send a message via Yahoo to barneygumble742

i think my first 386 had a 40mb 3.5" hd then i paid a crap load of money for a 500mb upgrade.

where's a good place to buy HDs?
__________________
Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 2.50GHz
GTX 260
2GB RAM
32in + 24in LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2005, 01:07 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Quote:
Originally Posted by Áedán
My first hard disk as a 100Mb SCSI drive... But then again, it was on an Atari ST, not a PC.
I'd never attempt to claim bragging rights of any flavor over Aedan. It's just good policy.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2005, 01:14 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveI
My first was a 10 gig, full height drive... imagine 5 1/4 wide, twice as high as a standard CD drive, and almost a foot deep.
Did you save it for a museum? I never saw a HD like that. Huge disks in what kinda looked like a very expensive motorcycle engine, and the huge ones inside of "plastic cake protectors" as seen in restaurants, for a mainframe.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2005, 11:12 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Full height disks weren't as uncommon as you might have though. They're big heavy beasts however and tend to get very hot.

The Winchester drives used in IBM mainframes were often removable, and stored about 50MB from memory. I think IBM made a version where you could remove half the platters - the removable section was probably what you think of as a plastic cake protector!
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2005, 01:57 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally Posted by cloasters
Did you save it for a museum? I never saw a HD like that. Huge disks in what kinda looked like a very expensive motorcycle engine, and the huge ones inside of "plastic cake protectors" as seen in restaurants, for a mainframe.
I wanna say 1983 or 84... Long gone. It was heavy, almost like a cinder block.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2005, 05:36 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Quote:
Originally Posted by barneygumble742
i think my first 386 had a 40mb 3.5" hd then i paid a crap load of money for a 500mb upgrade.

where's a good place to buy HDs?
overclockers.co.uk is where i got my 200Gb one from a few days ago, It's seagate and clicks a bit like the old drives, just quieter though. But 320Gb, it is quite impressive i guess.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2005, 05:56 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Basically, hard disk manufacturers measure hard disk sizes in GB. Their definition is 1GB = 1,000,000 bytes. Computers measure disk sizes in GiB. That definition is 1GiB = 1,048,576 bytes which is about 4.6% larger. However, when you format a drive, the OS reserves some space on it. How much is reserved depends on the size of partition, the cluster size and how many small files you store on it. That's right - the amount reserved changes with storing small files!
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2005, 06:39 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Also, the filesystem has a big effect on how much of the disk is 'lost'.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 28th December, 2005, 09:29 PM
barneygumble742's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 397
Send a message via AIM to barneygumble742 Send a message via Yahoo to barneygumble742

my new 400 gig hd formats to 372.61 gigs.

372.61/400.074 =
6.8647300249453851037558051760424% of data loss.

its not bad considering that i was expecting to lose at least 10-15% of the advertized size.
__________________
Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 2.50GHz
GTX 260
2GB RAM
32in + 24in LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:53 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0