AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 8th February, 2006, 10:30 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

N-ice and cool

hi all,
after having a fight with compatibilty, i finally managed to get my new memory installed. So i'll talk about that first and then go onto the main subject.

The memory arrived this morning while i was at school and i've been excited about it all day. It's 1Gb Corsair XMS. It the stuff that's got a silver coloured heatspreader. Anyway, it's all working correctly now but a few hours ago, that was such a different story. First of all, i rushed home to get to work on the upgrade...only to find, that i'd forgotten my keys. So i was stuck outside in the cold. Then i checked my phone to find that i'd got an SMS from my mum telling me that she'd left my keys outside for me (she told me where exactly though). So, problem solved. I rushed in to find a parcel waiting for me. There was also a letter but that's nothing important. Anyway, i ripped open the package to find an envelope and a box. In the envelope, the memory, in the box, new heatsink. so i open the envelope and take the whole package (the heatsink and memory i mean) over to the computer. I then take the side panel off of the computer and take te old memory out and install the new RAM in Dual Channel configuration. Then i take the computer over to the table and lay it on it's side so i can install the heatsink. Problem! It is actually really close to the ram meaning it wouldn't be easy to get RAM out without removing the heatsink. So, turn it round and solve 3 problems; RAM can now be removed easily, there's also an 80mm fan at the other side of the heatsink and it's also moved the metal shim from being too near the capacitors. Problem solved, prblem solved and problem solved! But, this is just the beginning.

So, i move the computer back to where it was before ad plug all the peripherals back in. Problem, it all seems to be going well, but it isn't. Sitch th tower unit on, switch the monitor on. No video output, not even the message telling me that, except the signal LED is lit up like it is receiving a signal, but the screen is still black. Problem not solved. So, i try all manner of things including replacing the ram with my old module, resetting the CMOS using the jumper, adding a PCI graphics card, all failed. Me, being a little bit rushy, doesn't even consider that it could be the monitor, until 3-4 hours after i started upgrading. So i go upstairs, get changed (i didn't even get changed when i got home until then), brought the old CRT down, plug it in. Oh wait, we have a signal on it. Oh wait, even better, we have something coming through, is that POST? Oh yes it is! Problem solved! So i'm still wondering what the TFT has against my new ram and/or heatsink. anyone got any idea? Could it be the 6200 i have, being a TurboCache and all? Both the monitors use the same cards VGA port (obviously not at the same time) so it's not faulty. Anyone got any idea?

But anyway, the main reason i made this post, is to show off what my new heatsink is all about. First off, it's an Akasa Evo 120. Yes, Akasa. Now don't criticise it because of this because you are about to be very surprised. It has 3 heatpipes, a 120mm Akasa Amber series fan, a completely copper base and a whole load of fins, like a radiator. I have had the computer running for about 40 - 60 minutes and the base is still cool to the touch! It is the same temperature as when it is switched off and left for a substancial amount of time. The fan is at full speed but it only blows onto the fins. And that's something else, the fins are freezer like, they are cold (not cool) to the touch! And this is when the athlon64 3200+ i have is overclocked to 2.6Ghz with memory running at DDR200 (400Mhz)! but bear in mind, i'm not using Arctic silver or any special thermal paste, i'm using some run of the mill Stars 360 cheap stuff. Although i do have the 80mm fan at the other side of the heatisnk, and it's on extraction, this helps keep it even cooler and i dare say that due to cpu slots on board being located in roughly the same place, this could be achieved with most cases. But the 120mm heatsink fan also serves another purpose; it is extracting most of the hot air out of the case and the 80mm fan is drawing it through the fins of the heatsink very quickly so it doesn't really affect temperature.

All in all, this heatsink is one of the coolest i've found. It's quite loud if you don't install the PCI speed controller bracket but even without it, it's still not overly-loud. I may have pictures soon.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 8th February, 2006, 11:15 PM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

you may have pictures soon? you mean you will have pictures soon
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 8th February, 2006, 11:25 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Got your LCD to work yet?
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 8th February, 2006, 11:36 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Quote:
Originally Posted by WonderBread
you may have pictures soon? you mean you will have pictures soon
I second that! The people want pix!!
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 9th February, 2006, 05:05 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

No, the LCD isn't working, that's why i asked for help. And as for pictures, the people can wait, batteries just run out on my DVR (also works as a digital camera).
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 14th February, 2006, 11:51 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Well would you belive it! I managed to get the TFT working again! Seems it needed unplugging from the power and VGA and then reconnecting. "That's lucky". Now it's as good as before it went to sleep on me. Just in time for BF2 in a few days as well! "That's more than lucky!".
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cool Favu Random Nonsense! 0 5th March, 2006 10:26 PM
the new cool nki69c OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 4 3rd July, 2004 09:14 PM
Cool Jazz Digital Image, Photo, Video and Audio Editing. 14 1st October, 2002 06:04 AM
Very cool lan rig !!!! Good ole' Boy Case Modifications 2 27th May, 2002 06:32 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:47 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0