AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 21st February, 2006, 07:07 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

HP2550Ln Colour LaserJet

I finally bought a cheap colour laser printer, the HP2550Ln.

It's all set-up and working fine. I'm using the ethernet port which is connected to my router.

So far so good!

Best to use "automatic colour profiles"? See screenie.
Attached Thumbnails
HP2550Ln Colour LaserJet-hp2550ln.jpg   HP2550Ln Colour LaserJet-shot1.gif  
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 21st February, 2006, 08:51 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

The driver probably has a built-in profile for the printer anyhow. It looks a *lot* smaller than the Colour LaserJet 4550n I've recently fixed.

That reminds me - I need to create a new profile for my current inkjet. Even good replacement inks seem to provide a bit of a colour cast.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 21st February, 2006, 09:00 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

I don't know what a 4550n looks like. But, my 2550 does look quite small in that photo. Bulk and weight wise it is comparable to the 21" CRT which was sat there before.

It's a little clunky sounding when in use, but no more than I would have expected at this price! In any case, sound proofing can add a lot of weight.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 21st February, 2006, 09:09 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

See below for the 4550DN (I'd forgotten the model had a duplex unit). It's about 50x70x58cm in size, and it's too heavy for one person to lift - about 50KG or so. Oh, and it's a little noisy too!

Image from printerworks.com
Attached Images
 
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 21st February, 2006, 09:25 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

I find that, with this and other colour lasers, I have to adjust image brightness by about +15%.

I mean if I take a large HQ product image, which looks perfect on-screen, it will be too dark on paper.

I'm using OpenOffice Draw and haven't seen any quick and easy way to make this adjustment. I'm having to edit the image in PSP and drop it back in to the document.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 21st February, 2006, 09:26 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

You might be able to make the calibration in your printer driver?
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 21st February, 2006, 09:33 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Possibly, but I've never found a way.

With MS Publisher you can adjust an image brightness in its properties. Seems to be no way of doing that in OpenOffice.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 22nd February, 2006, 10:26 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

I might be able to produce a calibration file for your printer that might help. However, it would require sending things through royal mail!
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 22nd February, 2006, 03:49 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

There are many different color profiles that you can use, hell you can even build your own. But I would stick to the stock one and tweek that if you like.

Just remember if you want BRIGHT pictures that JUMP off the page.... use a bright white paper. One with at least a 100 lum rating. You know what they say... crap in, crap out!!
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 22nd February, 2006, 04:35 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

So that's the reason my letters and documents aren't muy bueno. Expensive paper is the answer. Yay.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 22nd February, 2006, 04:40 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Good point. I'll have to go get some different types of paper and see what works best.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 22nd February, 2006, 05:24 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Yes. When producing calibration files, I generally produce one per type of paper, as long as the ink/toner remains constant.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 26th February, 2006, 12:28 AM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

The control panel with a browser based interface is very useful.
Attached Thumbnails
HP2550Ln Colour LaserJet-hp.gif   HP2550Ln Colour LaserJet-hp2.gif   HP2550Ln Colour LaserJet-hp3.gif  
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah

Last edited by danrok; 26th February, 2006 at 12:38 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 26th February, 2006, 08:41 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Looks like you have some room to upgrade the memory. I would!! You'll probably notice faster processing times (RIP) Raster Image Processing on larger files (ie photo's)
HTH
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 26th February, 2006, 11:55 AM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Found a DIMM here:
http://www.offtek.co.uk/product.php?...urce=Dealtime3

The 128MB one (C9121A).
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 26th February, 2006, 12:48 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally Posted by robbie
I would!! You'll probably notice faster processing times (RIP) Raster Image Processing on larger files (ie photo's)
I took the HP4550DN from 64MB RAM up to 192MB RAM. I noticed no difference in performance. Still, 128MB of PC133 memory lying around needed to be used.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 26th February, 2006, 07:22 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Were you doing a windows test page?!?!? he hee
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 26th February, 2006, 07:49 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Robbie, is it possible to remanufacture/refill the toner carts myself using big bottles of toner?
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 26th February, 2006, 08:54 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

You'd have to be 1000% sure that the toner is for your machine. You'd have an AWFUL mess putting positive toner in a Negative toner machine!!! (I've seen it)
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 26th February, 2006, 11:43 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally Posted by robbie
Were you doing a windows test page?!?!? he hee
Full A4 colour print... er, and Postscript fractals.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hands-on , laserjet , printing



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HP LaserJet P2015DN with free router $239 after $150 rebate danrok Online Deals, and Steals 0 30th July, 2007 10:08 PM
Vdd Mod, Colour Resistor? FUNKSTER EPoX MotherBoards 5 12th March, 2003 05:23 PM
New Case Colour Biohazard Case Modifications 6 26th November, 2002 04:39 PM
Colour Scheme loop Forum Feedback and Suggestion Box 8 22nd November, 2002 08:56 AM
PCB colour Random Nonsense General Hardware Discussion 12 7th October, 2001 09:17 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:12 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0