AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 10th March, 2002, 09:36 PM
FerrariF50's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 505
Send a message via ICQ to FerrariF50 Send a message via AIM to FerrariF50 Send a message via Yahoo to FerrariF50

Quote:
Originally posted by Dr_Romulus
LOL

with 500 Watt I could run 2 systems... I don't think you will be needing any more for a long long time.

Where did you find it, what is the brand and how much?
From Compusa Only $79.99 From what I understand reading over at Oc.com their was a disscussion about the Compusa FMI brand.. They it was a "Rebadge" Antec..Because the 500Watt PSu that compusa has has "Dual fans" Speed monitoring

Here is a link to it

http://www.compusa.com/products/prod...ct_code=282827
__________________
The arrow icon symbolizes the AMD principle of growth in the right direction.

------------------------------------------------
:My System:

Amd 1.1Ghz ThunderBird

128Mb Ram
Windows Xp Pro
16.6 Gig Ibm drive
5.6Gig Maxtor drive
Hitachi Gd-2500 dvd-rom drive
Sony CRX-140E Cd Writer
TDK 52/24/48 Cd Writer
Ibm/Sony G94 Monitor 19"
Yamaha YST-MS201 speakers
Intel PII450Mhz <-------Server computer
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 10th March, 2002, 09:54 PM
Dr_Romulus's Avatar
Member/OES
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 134
Send a message via ICQ to Dr_Romulus

If thats the case thats a good price for a quality PS. Have access to a scanner or digital? I'd like to see the label and check the specs against the Antec PS.
__________________
I am Jack's desire to kill you all...

My Heatware

Email me here
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 11th March, 2002, 12:05 AM
Cyberey66's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to Cyberey66

I know paypal can link your online account to a statement savings account now. You should look into a statement savings and there are a lot of online stores that take paypal payments. Or, you could just use ebay and do postal MOs. I build my first computer from MOs and ebay, it's a little bit more work, but you can save like $100. Ebay is safe, just check feedback.
__________________
Rutgers University School Of Engineering 2007

"skin and tragedy are the ways to attract a crowd"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 11th March, 2002, 01:55 AM
Dr_Romulus's Avatar
Member/OES
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 134
Send a message via ICQ to Dr_Romulus

You can always do COD also...
__________________
I am Jack's desire to kill you all...

My Heatware

Email me here
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 11th March, 2002, 04:13 AM
FerrariF50's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 505
Send a message via ICQ to FerrariF50 Send a message via AIM to FerrariF50 Send a message via Yahoo to FerrariF50

I never did COD before...And as for the PsU i'm going to have to buy it first..Or maybe I could take a picture of it in the store...lol I need to get cd-r's tommrow anyway from compusa..
__________________
The arrow icon symbolizes the AMD principle of growth in the right direction.

------------------------------------------------
:My System:

Amd 1.1Ghz ThunderBird

128Mb Ram
Windows Xp Pro
16.6 Gig Ibm drive
5.6Gig Maxtor drive
Hitachi Gd-2500 dvd-rom drive
Sony CRX-140E Cd Writer
TDK 52/24/48 Cd Writer
Ibm/Sony G94 Monitor 19"
Yamaha YST-MS201 speakers
Intel PII450Mhz <-------Server computer
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 11th March, 2002, 04:19 AM
Cyberey66's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to Cyberey66

Quote:
Originally posted by FerrariF50
I never did COD before...And as for the PsU i'm going to have to buy it first..Or maybe I could take a picture of it in the store...lol I need to get cd-r's tommrow anyway from compusa..
I got a compusa PSU. It's 300w one, and it cost about $40. It's OK, the only low rail is the 12 which is 11.71.
__________________
Rutgers University School Of Engineering 2007

"skin and tragedy are the ways to attract a crowd"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 11th March, 2002, 03:11 PM
FerrariF50's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 505
Send a message via ICQ to FerrariF50 Send a message via AIM to FerrariF50 Send a message via Yahoo to FerrariF50

Quote:
Originally posted by satan


I got a compusa PSU. It's 300w one, and it cost about $40. It's OK, the only low rail is the 12 which is 11.71.
Thats not too bad... But the rest of it is ok? Says you can monitor th speed of the fan as well..
__________________
The arrow icon symbolizes the AMD principle of growth in the right direction.

------------------------------------------------
:My System:

Amd 1.1Ghz ThunderBird

128Mb Ram
Windows Xp Pro
16.6 Gig Ibm drive
5.6Gig Maxtor drive
Hitachi Gd-2500 dvd-rom drive
Sony CRX-140E Cd Writer
TDK 52/24/48 Cd Writer
Ibm/Sony G94 Monitor 19"
Yamaha YST-MS201 speakers
Intel PII450Mhz <-------Server computer
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 11th March, 2002, 03:17 PM
FerrariF50's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 505
Send a message via ICQ to FerrariF50 Send a message via AIM to FerrariF50 Send a message via Yahoo to FerrariF50

Thumbs up Good News

Well I don't think i'm going to spend my $24 on blank Cd-r's but I can get a Duron 1.2Ghz on the 31st which is the last day of this month... Or I can chose and not spend $99 on the 1.2Ghz Duron and get the $129 Athlon..I'm unsure of the speed..But if it's over 1.2Ghz I can't get it.. The 1.2Ghz duron is ay my soyo mobo's limit untill I get a bios update for it... At least the website at soyousa.com said I can flash the board to allow it to run a Amd XP 1800+ thats good news so it looks like the Duron for now. Then I have to takle this power supply...lol no way is a Duron going to run on a PSU like I have...lol It's made by AC Bell and I think it's only 115Watts or someware near that...

*Edit* Their is no Athlon both Duron's.... 1Ghz and a 1.2Ghz version..
__________________
The arrow icon symbolizes the AMD principle of growth in the right direction.

------------------------------------------------
:My System:

Amd 1.1Ghz ThunderBird

128Mb Ram
Windows Xp Pro
16.6 Gig Ibm drive
5.6Gig Maxtor drive
Hitachi Gd-2500 dvd-rom drive
Sony CRX-140E Cd Writer
TDK 52/24/48 Cd Writer
Ibm/Sony G94 Monitor 19"
Yamaha YST-MS201 speakers
Intel PII450Mhz <-------Server computer
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 11th March, 2002, 03:32 PM
Dr_Romulus's Avatar
Member/OES
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 134
Send a message via ICQ to Dr_Romulus

You might want to concider checking out the various FS/FT forums here, [H], Anand, Ars, etc...

Stick to the guys with good feedback and good heatware and you can get some great deals since those guys are constantly upgrading their stuff. If you don't have a lot of heatware built up yet you may need to pay first however.
__________________
I am Jack's desire to kill you all...

My Heatware

Email me here
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 11th March, 2002, 03:36 PM
FerrariF50's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 505
Send a message via ICQ to FerrariF50 Send a message via AIM to FerrariF50 Send a message via Yahoo to FerrariF50

Quote:
Originally posted by Dr_Romulus
You might want to concider checking out the various FS/FT forums here, [H], Anand, Ars, etc...

Stick to the guys with good feedback and good heatware and you can get some great deals since those guys are constantly upgrading their stuff. If you don't have a lot of heatware built up yet you may need to pay first however.
I signed up at the [H] Fourm before...and I hated it... way too many people... I'm sure i'm going to get the cpu on the 31st..
__________________
The arrow icon symbolizes the AMD principle of growth in the right direction.

------------------------------------------------
:My System:

Amd 1.1Ghz ThunderBird

128Mb Ram
Windows Xp Pro
16.6 Gig Ibm drive
5.6Gig Maxtor drive
Hitachi Gd-2500 dvd-rom drive
Sony CRX-140E Cd Writer
TDK 52/24/48 Cd Writer
Ibm/Sony G94 Monitor 19"
Yamaha YST-MS201 speakers
Intel PII450Mhz <-------Server computer
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 11th March, 2002, 03:55 PM
Dr_Romulus's Avatar
Member/OES
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 134
Send a message via ICQ to Dr_Romulus

Thats why you avoid Gen. May. like the plague.
To many ****tards floating around in there.
I have found the mods and regular posters in the FS/FT, Programming and Case Mods sections to be pretty cool and very helpful.



edited because i keep using html tags...:nervous:
__________________
I am Jack's desire to kill you all...

My Heatware

Email me here

Last edited by Dr_Romulus; 11th March, 2002 at 04:04 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 11th March, 2002, 04:16 PM
FerrariF50's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 505
Send a message via ICQ to FerrariF50 Send a message via AIM to FerrariF50 Send a message via Yahoo to FerrariF50

Quote:
Originally posted by Dr_Romulus
Thats why you avoid Gen. May. like the plague.
To many ****tards floating around in there.
I have found the mods and regular posters in the FS/FT, Programming and Case Mods sections to be pretty cool and very helpful.



edited because i keep using html tags...:nervous:

lol well I don't think I will be going back their anyway... I'm happy here
__________________
The arrow icon symbolizes the AMD principle of growth in the right direction.

------------------------------------------------
:My System:

Amd 1.1Ghz ThunderBird

128Mb Ram
Windows Xp Pro
16.6 Gig Ibm drive
5.6Gig Maxtor drive
Hitachi Gd-2500 dvd-rom drive
Sony CRX-140E Cd Writer
TDK 52/24/48 Cd Writer
Ibm/Sony G94 Monitor 19"
Yamaha YST-MS201 speakers
Intel PII450Mhz <-------Server computer
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 11th March, 2002, 05:25 PM
FerrariF50's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 505
Send a message via ICQ to FerrariF50 Send a message via AIM to FerrariF50 Send a message via Yahoo to FerrariF50

Unhappy I might have a problem.....

I'm looking in my mobo maunal right now...and it looks like this.... seems like the Duron stops at 950Mhz... Allthough a new Bios update gives Amd's Morgan cpu support...And I think the Amd's Morgan is the Duron 1.2Ghz right? So anywya what would happen if I put the 1.2Ghz in the board? can I at least download the bios update? Or if the board will not boot can I at least Underclock it??
__________________
The arrow icon symbolizes the AMD principle of growth in the right direction.

------------------------------------------------
:My System:

Amd 1.1Ghz ThunderBird

128Mb Ram
Windows Xp Pro
16.6 Gig Ibm drive
5.6Gig Maxtor drive
Hitachi Gd-2500 dvd-rom drive
Sony CRX-140E Cd Writer
TDK 52/24/48 Cd Writer
Ibm/Sony G94 Monitor 19"
Yamaha YST-MS201 speakers
Intel PII450Mhz <-------Server computer
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 11th March, 2002, 05:27 PM
FerrariF50's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 505
Send a message via ICQ to FerrariF50 Send a message via AIM to FerrariF50 Send a message via Yahoo to FerrariF50

oopss forgot the picture...
Attached Thumbnails
Thinking about getting a Gf4 and other stuff...-amdspeeds.jpg  
__________________
The arrow icon symbolizes the AMD principle of growth in the right direction.

------------------------------------------------
:My System:

Amd 1.1Ghz ThunderBird

128Mb Ram
Windows Xp Pro
16.6 Gig Ibm drive
5.6Gig Maxtor drive
Hitachi Gd-2500 dvd-rom drive
Sony CRX-140E Cd Writer
TDK 52/24/48 Cd Writer
Ibm/Sony G94 Monitor 19"
Yamaha YST-MS201 speakers
Intel PII450Mhz <-------Server computer
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 11th March, 2002, 05:37 PM
Dr_Romulus's Avatar
Member/OES
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 134
Send a message via ICQ to Dr_Romulus

The new bios is here: http://www.soyousa.com/vtaprobios.html

I have this board at home actually. With the new BIOS it is supposed to support all the Athlon and Duron CPU's. I would suggest updating the BIOS before you do anything with the chip.

Just remember, If you fuX0r up your mobo it's your own problem. Although Soyo is pretty good about RMA's...
__________________
I am Jack's desire to kill you all...

My Heatware

Email me here
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old 11th March, 2002, 05:41 PM
FerrariF50's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 505
Send a message via ICQ to FerrariF50 Send a message via AIM to FerrariF50 Send a message via Yahoo to FerrariF50

Quote:
Originally posted by Dr_Romulus
The new bios is here: http://www.soyousa.com/vtaprobios.html

I have this board at home actually. With the new BIOS it is supposed to support all the Athlon and Duron CPU's. I would suggest updating the BIOS before you do anything with the chip.

Just remember, If you fuX0r up your mobo it's your own problem. Although Soyo is pretty good about RMA's...
lol ummm...How do you update the mobo if does not have the right cpu in yet.... lol and also you must be thinking I'm useing the mobo now... I have not changed it yet... I still have my PII 450 running... so how do I flash the bios then?
__________________
The arrow icon symbolizes the AMD principle of growth in the right direction.

------------------------------------------------
:My System:

Amd 1.1Ghz ThunderBird

128Mb Ram
Windows Xp Pro
16.6 Gig Ibm drive
5.6Gig Maxtor drive
Hitachi Gd-2500 dvd-rom drive
Sony CRX-140E Cd Writer
TDK 52/24/48 Cd Writer
Ibm/Sony G94 Monitor 19"
Yamaha YST-MS201 speakers
Intel PII450Mhz <-------Server computer
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old 11th March, 2002, 05:48 PM
Dr_Romulus's Avatar
Member/OES
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 134
Send a message via ICQ to Dr_Romulus

um..... :nervous:

steal a slower chip from a friends computer???

i forgot that you didnt have a chip for it yet.
__________________
I am Jack's desire to kill you all...

My Heatware

Email me here
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old 11th March, 2002, 05:51 PM
FerrariF50's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 505
Send a message via ICQ to FerrariF50 Send a message via AIM to FerrariF50 Send a message via Yahoo to FerrariF50

Quote:
Originally posted by Dr_Romulus
um..... :nervous:

steal a slower chip from a friends computer???

i forgot that you didnt have a chip for it yet.
So what would happen if I tryed to run it without updateing the bios first to support the Cpu? would it at least turn on? Is their any way to underclock it lol
__________________
The arrow icon symbolizes the AMD principle of growth in the right direction.

------------------------------------------------
:My System:

Amd 1.1Ghz ThunderBird

128Mb Ram
Windows Xp Pro
16.6 Gig Ibm drive
5.6Gig Maxtor drive
Hitachi Gd-2500 dvd-rom drive
Sony CRX-140E Cd Writer
TDK 52/24/48 Cd Writer
Ibm/Sony G94 Monitor 19"
Yamaha YST-MS201 speakers
Intel PII450Mhz <-------Server computer
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old 12th March, 2002, 11:43 AM
FerrariF50's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 505
Send a message via ICQ to FerrariF50 Send a message via AIM to FerrariF50 Send a message via Yahoo to FerrariF50

I just emailed Soyo about what bios version I have installed...I hope I have some good news to tell...
__________________
The arrow icon symbolizes the AMD principle of growth in the right direction.

------------------------------------------------
:My System:

Amd 1.1Ghz ThunderBird

128Mb Ram
Windows Xp Pro
16.6 Gig Ibm drive
5.6Gig Maxtor drive
Hitachi Gd-2500 dvd-rom drive
Sony CRX-140E Cd Writer
TDK 52/24/48 Cd Writer
Ibm/Sony G94 Monitor 19"
Yamaha YST-MS201 speakers
Intel PII450Mhz <-------Server computer
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old 12th March, 2002, 05:01 PM
Dr_Romulus's Avatar
Member/OES
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 134
Send a message via ICQ to Dr_Romulus

w00t

it should boot up at the closest speed that it currently supports.

i would expect that you will at least be able to get to the BIOS and flash it...
__________________
I am Jack's desire to kill you all...

My Heatware

Email me here
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What was I thinking?! Pitch Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 19 30th May, 2007 04:37 PM
Thinking bad ram. Azriel CRASHED! 2 21st November, 2005 12:20 AM
Thinking about it... Logan 64 Bit computing 4 23rd December, 2004 01:29 PM
The right stuff - The wrong stuff Southern Man Random Nonsense! 0 23rd October, 2004 02:44 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:16 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0