AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 4th March, 2006, 04:40 PM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

In search of...

The truth...

Guys, middle of March a good friend of mine is getting a new system. About time too, becuase he's been sitting on his 2200+ and 9700pro since 2002

I've got a general Idea about what he's looking at.
But my biggest question is the memory.

I'm looking for some nice TCCD sticks, decent timings,
preferably PC4000 (will anything above DDR500 be alright with an X2 or Opty 146??)

I can acutally take anything PC3200 and above....the problem is, I need 2x1GB sticks. If he picks up the Opty, I'm sure he'll try to push it as far as possible, so the BEST RAM for this job will be needed.

I could use many suggestions on this subject please.

I know he's shooting for an XTX, but as for the motherboad, I wasnt sure. I saw Cadaveca's thread about the new Xpress boards, but when are they expected to hit E-tail? And what about the price??

These are questions light must be shed upon....
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 4th March, 2006, 09:36 PM
45 Auto's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: land of Gov. Terminator
Posts: 98

Since tccd was never made in anything larger than 32meg chips, the largest dimms made are 32x16=512. Newegg has Patriot XBLK ddr600, if he'll settle for 2x512.

The Asus A8R32-MVP Deluxe is available @ Newegg for $250. Right now, it's the only board available using the xpress3200 chipset. Others coming soon.
__________________
9nda3+/0520 3200 venice E3 @300x9/2x256 or 4x256 GSkill LE/X800XL/XP90/Enermax Liberty 500watt/dual Maxtor S-ata/3 optical drives

asrock939dualie/3000winnie@230x9/2x512 Patriot ddr400ELK/Enermax Coolergiant 480/9600pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 4th March, 2006, 11:00 PM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

Well, I'm sure he's looking for 2GB. Since the memory controller's have issues
with 4 memory banks being utilized, I guess I need the next best OC'ing solution.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 5th March, 2006, 09:57 PM
45 Auto's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: land of Gov. Terminator
Posts: 98

Been checking around at various places for reports on 2x1gig pairs. Looking at reports I trust, seems one of the better is the GSkill HZ's. They're topping out at about 270mhz, though with rather loose timings [3-3-3-x or so] running 1:1. Problem is, haven't found any reports of how the xpress3200's are playing with the 2x1's. And that wil be the key.
__________________
9nda3+/0520 3200 venice E3 @300x9/2x256 or 4x256 GSkill LE/X800XL/XP90/Enermax Liberty 500watt/dual Maxtor S-ata/3 optical drives

asrock939dualie/3000winnie@230x9/2x512 Patriot ddr400ELK/Enermax Coolergiant 480/9600pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 5th March, 2006, 11:53 PM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

HZ's...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231024

Those the modules you read about?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 7th March, 2006, 04:43 AM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

Question. SLI 7800GT or single 1900XT?

I'm working out the final kinks...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 7th March, 2006, 06:53 AM
45 Auto's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: land of Gov. Terminator
Posts: 98

Try these: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231021

And as to the GFX, unless you plan on sinking a big chunk of change into the psu go with the single card. With the high end sli setup, you need 20+amps on the 12v rail just to supply the added power those cards need. Saw one report where AMD says highend sli setups need a psu of 700watts or better. Especially if you start to overclock. And if you have to buy two GTs to match 1xt or xtx, doesn't say much for the idea of running 2 gfx cards. Plus that setup would be a pain the water cool. 1 big pump and very large rad needed.
__________________
9nda3+/0520 3200 venice E3 @300x9/2x256 or 4x256 GSkill LE/X800XL/XP90/Enermax Liberty 500watt/dual Maxtor S-ata/3 optical drives

asrock939dualie/3000winnie@230x9/2x512 Patriot ddr400ELK/Enermax Coolergiant 480/9600pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 7th March, 2006, 05:04 PM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

Well, I dont think I'll be water cooling this rig. I dont think he's ready for the hassle yet.

So, single X1900, right. While you menntioned that, I have a TT560watt PPS,
and was considering dropping another 7800GT in. Would I be alright, or is that cutting it?

Thanks for the info about the RAM, so I have an idea what to direct for now.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 8th March, 2006, 04:45 AM
45 Auto's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: land of Gov. Terminator
Posts: 98

As to the ram, I've seen trusted reports of it doing 265-270, 1:1 @2.8vdimm on several different boards. That includes the 9nda3+ and 9npa ultra. Also the Abit AN8 and the DFI NF4 ultra.

In regards to the gfx, I was never sold on the idea of running 2cards. Eats up a lot of power that way, and lately reports are indicating that the results aren't as good as originally claimed. Besides, if you're a nvidiot the new 7900gt/256 is reportedly close to a 7800gtx/512 in performance. And as the ati fanatics claim it's not as good as the 1900xtx. Personally, the cost of the gfx card is getting too ridiculous for just one. And to run 2..... I've got some swampland around the BIG Easy I'ld be willing to sell for a reasonable price.

And as to the psu question, hard to say what will be enough any more. You might want to check out this
http://www.extremetech.com/article2/...1932958,00.asp
also:http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=29940
__________________
9nda3+/0520 3200 venice E3 @300x9/2x256 or 4x256 GSkill LE/X800XL/XP90/Enermax Liberty 500watt/dual Maxtor S-ata/3 optical drives

asrock939dualie/3000winnie@230x9/2x512 Patriot ddr400ELK/Enermax Coolergiant 480/9600pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 8th March, 2006, 05:16 PM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

Cool. For the record....no fanboy here
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 17th March, 2006, 03:14 AM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

Quick update:

My Opty 146 will be ordered on the 25th(Day I get paid) I'm holding off on the X1900 until I get a new monitor (One that supports games above 1280x1024)

I'm looking to get a some active cooling for my RAM. This is my first experience with anything such. I could use some suggestions on the best possible product in keeping my sticks cool and stable.

I plan on dropping some coin for either a tt Typhoon or the Fata1ity Zalman 7700. Anybody own either of these? An opinion would be all I need.
Then probably about a month after ward I'll head for a monitor and GPU...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 17th March, 2006, 06:43 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

I have both coolers..go with the Typhoon.

best cooling for ram is to pull off the heatspreaders and get a fan on them.

That being said, there are a few devices out there the clasp the ramslots themselves(like the "crab" cooler), and have attached fans to provide cooling...HOWEVER...none of these are compatible with either of the two coolers you have mentioned...but also keep in mind that the Zalman cooler, with it's large fan and design, blows TONS of air on ram.

Cooling ram isn't going to get it much farther. maybe a max of 8 mhz. Supercooling, however, will do wonders, as can watercooling ram, but again, the max gains i have seen with watercooling ram only maxes out @ 12mhz over regular cooling, and phasechange(subzero) maxed out @ 25mhz over max attained on air(wit hthe addition of more voltage).


So...

cooling will only let you apply more voltage. This isn't going to get you more speed, dependant on the ram you are using. You'd be better off changing to 3-4-4-8, and 2T, to get higher.


Oh, and no, your psu , the tt560, is not up to the job of running an overclcoked Opteron and an x1900...it will work, but it will be your limiting factor for sure.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 17th March, 2006, 05:11 PM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

Well, I figured holding out on the X1900 for another 2 months most.
Around then I could drop coin on Monitor, GPU and a new PSU I guess.

Ok, so active cooling isnt really that great. Well, what about that Typhoon?
I realize the amount of air my 7700 pushes around. Will the tt dispearse anywhere around the same amount as mine now?

Now that you mention about my PSU. If I dont throw in the X now, do you think the PSU will be the limiting factor in my overclocks? Or should I be alright until I get the new GPU?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 18th March, 2006, 01:43 AM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

Hmm. Double post, sue me.

Also need a good HS/F combo for my 7800GT....suggestions?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 18th March, 2006, 05:49 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seperah
Ok, so active cooling isnt really that great. Well, what about that Typhoon?
I realize the amount of air my 7700 pushes around. Will the tt dispearse anywhere around the same amount as mine now?
Nope...because i run my fan silent and get lower temps then the Fatal1ty @ max, so you need lesss airflow to be able to get the same cooling.[/quote]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seperah
Now that you mention about my PSU. If I dont throw in the X now, do you think the PSU will be the limiting factor in my overclocks? Or should I be alright until I get the new GPU?
Not entirely, but guaranteed it's part of the problem. I can't make a fully accurate diagnosis without playing with the machine and seeing how it crashes, but quite normally the Tt PSU's are a bit low in the voltage department...not AMPs...but on each line, nevermind droops under load.


With a 7800GT...well...you should be ok. but if you plan to seriously overclock..skimping on anything will affect your overall clocks.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 18th March, 2006, 07:04 AM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

Well, I got thought it would be sufficient (obviously thinking otherwise now)

How about my 7800GT? Aside from liquid, whats a good high end air unit for my GPU? While were there, whats a PSU that you would recommend?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 18th March, 2006, 07:11 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

psu...well depends on if you plan on going crossfire...in that case, 850w or higher...and the higher the better, when overclocking crossfire.

as for the 7800GT...there is no buyable solution out there that i can recommend. However, modding the stock heatsink with an AMDboxfan....
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 18th March, 2006, 07:14 AM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

Funny, I happen to have the retail AMD HS/F right here...

No, no crossfire or SLI here. I'm really not a fan of Multi-GPU setups yet.
My aim was somewhere along the lines of the 146 and my GT, and still having
a sufficient unit for the X1900.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 18th March, 2006, 07:18 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

I've had the best luck in overclocknig with my OCZ psu. The ability to adjust voltages makes all the difference in the world.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 18th March, 2006, 07:50 AM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

Thank you my fine canadian friend....I'll be looking into this.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Proof that the search for “great search” isn’t over just yet Gizmo OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 0 14th December, 2006 07:43 PM
Is the search broken? Fenix6372 Forum Feedback and Suggestion Box 2 23rd November, 2006 05:38 AM
WMD Search Southern Man Random Nonsense! 1 7th April, 2004 03:36 AM
New search engine Southern Man Random Nonsense! 6 20th November, 2002 12:05 PM
search function Holst Forum Feedback and Suggestion Box 6 24th February, 2002 03:38 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:57 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0