AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 4th April, 2006, 01:02 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Posts: 19

300w PSU - help!

Hi everybody.

Ok so here it goes.. I am building a PC and I have this very simple question but first here are the parts I already bought.

Athlon 64 3500+ Processor "PIB"
EPoX 9NDA3J Socket 939 nForce 3 Ultra
Inno3D 6800 @ 16x6 @ 400/800
2 x 512 MB Geil
80 GB Western Digital HDD SATA-150
Asus CRW-5224A
Mars Orbit ATX Case

The shop included an Antec 300w PSU but I am having doubts that it can run my system? I tried this site:


http://www.jscustompcs.com/power_supply/

As some sort of reference but I need expert opinions. Knowing that I only have 1 optical drive and 1 HD and no floppy I have been thinking that it might be enough. Would a 300w PSU be enough for the specs I mentioned? Or do I really need to get a stronger PSU?

And oh by the way.. This is my first post!!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 4th April, 2006, 01:09 AM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

Should be big enough. I run an IDE HDD, a SATA HDD, a DVD burner, a A64 3200+, 1gb of RAM and a 9800 Pro on a 350W Enlight PSU.

Hope this helps.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 4th April, 2006, 01:14 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Posts: 19

Actually it helps a lot Rondog. Im not planning on buying and attaching anything else. But a follow up question if you dont mind. What if I add a side case fan? Would it still be ok?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 4th April, 2006, 01:51 AM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Welcome to AOA ojpd!

You should be able to run your system and an extra case fan OK from a 300Watt PSU, provided it is of good quality, however, I would recommend going for something with more juice - the 6800 are quite power-hungry AIUI. If you are planning on overclocking I would recomend at least a 450Watt PSU for that system
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 4th April, 2006, 02:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Posts: 19

That's what I thought too. Been googling around and looking at forums.. People keep saying that the +12v rail should not be less than 20a on a 3500+ with a hungy gpu and some fans..
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 4th April, 2006, 02:58 AM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Favu.. do you sleep? It's 3AM.. Wait.. oh crap.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 4th April, 2006, 09:14 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Don't worry too much about total wattage. The quality of the PSU is much more important. There are many 450w - 500w PSUs that are absolute garbage. Your Antec should be up to the task. Don't worry about it unless you experience power fluctuation and instability.

EDIT: BTW, I'm running a 300w PSU on a system with a venice 3000+, oc'd to 2.45ghz, 1gig dual mem, and X700 without a hitch. I even have a 200w PSU w/ a tbred1700+ oc'd to 2.3ghz. Both systems run 24/7 folding.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 5th April, 2006, 12:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Posts: 19

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveI
Don't worry too much about total wattage. The quality of the PSU is much more important. There are many 450w - 500w PSUs that are absolute garbage. Your Antec should be up to the task. Don't worry about it unless you experience power fluctuation and instability.

EDIT: BTW, I'm running a 300w PSU on a system with a venice 3000+, oc'd to 2.45ghz, 1gig dual mem, and X700 without a hitch. I even have a 200w PSU w/ a tbred1700+ oc'd to 2.3ghz. Both systems run 24/7 folding.
Thanks for the info. I tried running it with my Antec everything seems fine. I have been playing oblivion for almost 15 hours now. thanks again.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 5th April, 2006, 01:44 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

If you are using an Antec SL300S model 300W PSU, you are living on a knife edge. The +12V rail is what the 6800s are heavy on, while ATI cards are heavier on the +5V rail, so the X700 should be happier than an Nvidia card.

I don't know if Antec has a quality 300W model, but that SL300S is not going to handle a 6800 at stock for long, let alone one at 16/6 and overclocked.

Check what model it is if possible.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 6th April, 2006, 02:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Posts: 19

Right you are on this particular PSU. Recently kept getting random restarts on more heavy scenes while running Oblivion. Swapped it just this AM though and I'm glad to say I am finally over this PSU dilemma. Thanks guys.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 6th April, 2006, 03:14 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

The SL300S has been responsible for many destroyed 6800s. Its always best to air on the side of caution when it comes to things like video cards.

Some genius around here sold a bunch of them in gaming machines with 6800NUs to a net cafe near here, and the guy who handled the refitting of those machines lans with me.

The 6800 voltage regulators are happy to have an overvolt on the +12V and on anything for that matter.

When the voltage regulation circuit is <severely> overvolted, and I mean by a lot, or if it is browning out, it cuts out as a safety measure.

Glad to hear you are getting another one. 350W on a high quality unit is what I would call absolute minimum for a 16 pipe 6800 card at stock, safely. 400W high quality or better would definately make me sleep better at night, but it has to be a good quality unit. Antec are not bad my any measure, but are not in the same class as others.

Best of luck mate.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 6th April, 2006, 03:55 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

@dsio - I wasn't aware of issues with the sl300s... good catch.

@ojpd - glad you got it sorted out, even with my help. BTW, what psu did you get?
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 6th April, 2006, 04:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Posts: 19

This forum rocks. I learned quite a lot about PSUs just by posting here. Well I went to all the shops my car's gas could take me to and the only name brand I could find that is being sold here is Enermax so I took the plunge. I may not be able to buy my labrador some decent dog food for the next week and a half but for sure my pc is safe and futurewise hehe I'm sure he'll understand hehehe

Enermax Liberty EL500AWT - This is the best I could come up with it has 22a on each of the 2 +12v rails.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 6th April, 2006, 05:01 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Oh mate, Enermax is absolutely brilliant. And the liberty range, is a top notch piece of equipment.

22A on each +12V rail, and 500W total on a very high quality unit like that is great.

Think about the fact that this has 22A on EACH +12V rail, while that SL300S had a single 15A combined +12V rail.

3 times the +12V current rating. And when Enermax say 22A, they mean 22A.

Great choice.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
6800GT on 300W psu dsio Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 8 10th October, 2004 02:53 AM
Is 300w enough? slack General Hardware Discussion 7 5th February, 2003 04:45 PM
Is Zalman 300W PSU enough for oc 8RDA+? xeqt EPoX MotherBoards 2 18th January, 2003 09:04 PM
is 300w enough? Rollydog AMD Motherboards & CPUs 11 9th May, 2002 06:13 PM
Antec 300W ps running whole SYSTEM!!! The Spyder General Hardware Discussion 5 10th April, 2002 05:30 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:03 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0