AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 21st May, 2006, 11:57 PM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

Corrupt INF?

I've been having a problem with my creative Zen Vision:M lateley and was was going to do a reformat on it this weekend. But when i connected it to my computer for the first time in about a month the auto run feature of windows sees that it's connected but WMP and the Creative Media Explorer says that there is no device connected.

I've uninstalled and reinstalled all of the creative software related to the Zen and it didnt help.

I then went into device manager and uninstalled the MTP device (stupid DRM) and tried to reinstall it and it gave me this error

"An error occurred during the installation of the device
A service installation section of this INF is invalid"

what does that mean...i've never seen this before?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 22nd May, 2006, 03:11 AM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

Anyone?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 22nd May, 2006, 09:47 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

The INF file basically describes how to install the driver. It's possible it has become corrupt, but it's a little unlikely. It's a pain finding which INF file describes the driver, but if you do (use a search/find on the %systeroot%\inf directory) you can then delete the inf file, remove the driver and then reinstall it.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 22nd May, 2006, 03:22 PM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

how would i get to this directory? is it just easier to reformat?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 22nd May, 2006, 03:46 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Quote:
Originally Posted by WonderBread
how would i get to this directory?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Áedán
(use a search/find on the %systeroot%\inf directory)
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 22nd May, 2006, 07:54 PM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

once in there, how do i know which one is the correct inf?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 22nd May, 2006, 07:58 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Are the names descriptive? Maybe the name of the .inf and date of it might help?
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 22nd May, 2006, 08:30 PM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

i found 2 inf's related to the MTP device: wpdmtp.inf and WPDMTPHW.INF there is also for each of these files a PNF file.

do i just delete these or what?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 22nd May, 2006, 08:49 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Just need to delete the inf files. Make sure you've got the drivers somewhere, as you will need to reinstall them!
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 22nd May, 2006, 09:13 PM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

but thats the strange thing...there is nothing on the creative CD that has driver information...i've taken the wpdmtp.inf and wpdmtp.PNF from my dads computer where my Zen works just fine and now is says that the MTP device is installed correctly but when i open WMP or Creative Eplorer it still says there is no device connected.

this is the weirdest thing i've ever seen...i havent done anything to my computer since i reinstalled winxp a month ago. Could WindowBlinds have any affect on it?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 22nd May, 2006, 11:26 PM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

i fixed it. only by a reformat tho...oh well at least it works now
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 23rd May, 2006, 02:21 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Tbh, I've reformatted my way around more than a few problems that I couldn't quite wrap the noggin around. Works for Linux, too. But don't tell anyone you did it, you'll get an earful of "I haven't reformatted my Linux installation since 1953, newbie."
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
URGENT: hal.dll missing or corrupt skool h8r CRASHED! 18 23rd October, 2006 11:26 PM
corrupt or missing Hal.dll captaincurran CRASHED! 14 7th August, 2006 08:57 PM
ntoskrnl.exe missing or corrupt surgeon CRASHED! 12 22nd November, 2005 11:36 PM
Corrupt downloads?...8RDA+ urbanski EPoX MotherBoards 15 19th July, 2003 03:21 AM
Anyone with Vdd mod ever corrupt bios? Ripper_jr EPoX MotherBoards 5 19th February, 2003 04:02 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:00 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0