AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 8th June, 2006, 07:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2006
Posts: 4

RAM advice please

Hi there,

I'm new to the forums so hi to everyone

I'm about to buy a new pc,

Specs:
Motherboard: MSI K8n Diamond Plus
CPU: Amd Athlon 64 x2 4400+
GFX: Nvidia Geforce 7900GTX or ATI radeon x1900 xtx?
HDD: Samsung Spinpoint P120 Sp2504 250GB
DVD WRITER: LG Gsa 4167B
COOLER: Arctic Freezer 64 Pro
POWER SUPPLY: HIPER 580W Racing Black HPU-4K580 Supersilent

Now i'm only searching for good RAM, I was thinking about 2GB.
Do you guys have any suggestions for RAM?
Is there anything I should change to these specs?

Comments plz,

Sylvershark
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 8th June, 2006, 07:25 PM
Got EpOx's Avatar
Team 45 Folder
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Exmouth, UK
Posts: 2,569
Send a message via MSN to Got EpOx Send a message via Skype™ to Got EpOx

Buy an X1900XTX, reading a few reviews about it will move you towards ATI just ask our resident crossfire owner Cadaveca about it Sure you don't want to purchase a crossfire motherboard?
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo T5500 1.66Ghz
1GB PC2-5300 667Mhz
Matsh1ta DVD/RW Drive
232GB Western Digital 'My Book' External HDD USB 2.0
80GB Hitachi SATA HDD
Onboard Audio
Intel GMA 950 Onboard Video
Want to make a difference without leaving your chair?, then join the AOA folding team today!
AOA Folding @Home
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 9th June, 2006, 06:28 AM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

PDP modules are nice. Crucial, Corsair always good. Depends on how much your willing to spend.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 9th June, 2006, 06:59 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

you can try OCZ 4000 platinum XTC 2gb(new 2gb chips) 3-3-3-8 @ 500mhz.

look for 2-3-2-x @ 200mhz or higher, or 3-3-2-x 500mhz, either way will be infineon ram. Kingston also offers 2gb 2-2-2-5 kit, but be wary of any overclocking or any such with those chips...not standard DDR by any means...BGA-packed ram IC's to boot.

I'd almost have to say the same about the mobo, ATI card deserves ATI mobo. anything 3200-chipset based will be good. On the flipside, if you want nVidia card, get nVidia mobo.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 9th June, 2006, 07:01 AM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

Almost forgot about OCZ lol
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 9th June, 2006, 07:02 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

been hearing good things about Corsair 3500 2-3-2-5 2gb kits as well. gotta like the flashy LED's too.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 9th June, 2006, 10:42 AM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Hey Sylvershark

(Sylvershark is a friend of mine, btw)

I've been trying to convice him that a X1900XTX is the way to go, hehe
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 9th June, 2006, 11:49 AM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

For RAM, the best has to be Corsair XMS. Seriously, these babies are great at stock but when overclocked, they're unstoppable.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 9th June, 2006, 12:02 PM
NarkotikBuzz's Avatar
Member
Breakout Champion
 
Join Date: July 2004
Location: LIMBO
Posts: 793

I agree with skool h8r. Corsair XMS is great stuff....and by the way... Welcome to the forums!
__________________
Abit NF7-s
Barton 2500+ M @1800mhz
Leadtek 6800le
Ubuntu

HP Pavillion DV9535nr Laptop

AOA Team fah AOA Team files
"Who you callin a psycho?!" Kingpin
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 9th June, 2006, 02:54 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Finally, someone who can spell my user name right!

Also, on a side note, if you want some idea of how FarCry would load on all high setting with the X1900XTX at 4xAA, try 0-100(%) in under 3.0(seconds)! Go with the X1900XTX!

Have you got the money for such a beast though? As for HDD, i'd recommend Seagate. Or if you really want speed, go with a Western Digital Raptor! Those things have some serious power behind them. But those are only if you're running a high-end server or something very extreme.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 9th June, 2006, 03:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2006
Posts: 4

Thanks to all ,
But i'm not sure if the x1900xtx will fit on my motherboard, will it?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 9th June, 2006, 04:02 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

It's a big card, but it will fit on any motherboard with a PCI-E slot
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 11th June, 2006, 09:22 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2006
Posts: 4

I would like to have RAM that is not to expensive,with a good performance
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 11th June, 2006, 09:26 AM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Corsair's the one then.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 13th June, 2006, 04:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2006
Posts: 4

I'm going for the Nvidia Geforce 7900gtx because my motherboard doesn't support Crossfire so I dont see the point of using ati x1900xtxt
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 13th June, 2006, 04:30 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

I still think the X1900XTX would be faster for you, unless you are hell-bent on SLI.

Let us know how it goes!
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 15th June, 2006, 06:47 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

I haven't seen ATi mainboards advertised anywhere, could someone please enlighten me as to what they are?
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 15th June, 2006, 06:55 PM
Razorfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via MSN to Razorfish

Quote:
Originally Posted by cloasters
I haven't seen ATi mainboards advertised anywhere, could someone please enlighten me as to what they are?
Couple of good examples

http://www.sapphiretech.com/uk/produ.../141image3.jpg

http://eu.dfi.com.tw/Upload/Product_...CFX3200-DR.jpg
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 15th June, 2006, 11:28 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

I got's me the DFI, as well as it's older brother. the RD480 chipsets feature 2x8 pci-e connectivity, while the RD580 sports 2x16 lanes. This extra bandwidth allows for better inter-gpu communication, as well as supporting 1500mhz Hypertransport speeds (3ghz effective), which is the ONLY 939-based chipset to offer such.

That Sapphire board is the one i want...if it was available locally.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 15th June, 2006, 11:53 PM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

What? No national retailers you can get one from bud?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Advice Please QSDT AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 2nd December, 2005 01:09 AM
I need your advice ! chrisbard Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 142 31st August, 2005 08:06 PM
Need some advice. Please :) Pitch CRASHED! 20 17th April, 2005 05:58 PM
a little advice piccoLEW Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 3 7th January, 2005 04:47 PM
Need Wi-Fi advice rainman14624 General Hardware Discussion 6 18th August, 2004 03:25 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:49 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0