AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #41 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2006, 07:09 PM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I find it somewhat difficult to believe that you were asked by anyone to repair a brand new multi thousand dollar computer when it is under warranty.
I got quite a few rich friends who don't buy from me (unfortunrtly most) they buy dells(for some strange reason). A lot of them don't like to have a "professional" look at their computers because of certain "items" which downloaded themselves. ANyway what I really don't like about the XPS's isn't whats inside it's that the four I have repaired three have had some of the worst build quiality. Wires everywere, not bundled and/or tucked away. Even with my frieds standard HP had a decent wire job. My alienware has everywire folded up behind the case. Why when you spend $1800 or so on an xps is there a very good chance that they will have crapily done up the wires.
EDIT: Forgot to mention that the new xps (the fourth one I had to fix) seem to be better, maby there being built by alienware techs?
EDIT2: ANyone here seen an XPS 700?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Áedán
Having seen the quality change in the range of ThinkPads since Lenovo took over, I personally would not recommend a ThinkPad at this point in time. (The company I work for has a large number of ThinkPads...)

I note that few people know that the T30 series of ThinkPad motherboards had an interesting fault whereby the second SO-DIMM slots would stop working. In an office of seven T30 laptops, each one eventually developed the same fault.
Have they? I was under the impression the thinkpads works well. You sure the T30 wasn't just a bad design?
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2006, 07:50 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

I know that the T30s had a design flaw that caused the second SO-DIMM slot to fail. However, the T30 design was an IBM design. It took a while for all the IBM designs to work through the pipeline. Now, the current range of ThinkPad designs appear to be completely Lenovo, and the quality difference has been noticed by several people in the office where I work.

On the T30 issue - IBM did end up making modifications to the motherboard and chassis to try to prevent this occuring again.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2006, 08:49 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally Posted by Áedán
....
I note that few people know that the T30 series of ThinkPad motherboards had an interesting fault whereby the second SO-DIMM slots would stop working. In an office of seven T30 laptops, each one eventually developed the same fault.
Yup, that happened to mine... I didn't know it was widespread, and my systems staff had the mobo replaced under the warrantee. I still managed to have it replaced with a T41 tho.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2006, 10:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Quote:
Originally Posted by madcatmk3
A lot of them don't like to have a "professional" look at their computers because of certain "items" which downloaded themselves.
That's some speculation!
Quote:
Originally Posted by madcatmk3
ANyway what I really don't like about the XPS's isn't whats inside it's that the four I have repaired three have had some of the worst build quiality. Wires everywere, not bundled and/or tucked away. Even with my frieds standard HP had a decent wire job. My alienware has everywire folded up behind the case. Why when you spend $1800 or so on an xps is there a very good chance that they will have crapily done up the wires.
Clearly you haven't ever actually seen inside a laptop. Firstly, there are very few wires, what wires that do exist are small and ALWAYS neatly tucked away. I'll give you some examples.


I particularly like the following image, as it shows the usual maximum you can see inside a laptop, for servicing all the usual parts, unless you were to dismantle it further (you'd have to be idiotic to do that).

http://img.hexus.net/v2/laptops/Rock...me64/BareS.jpg

Yes, laptops do have a LOT of wires. But their all enclosed and inaccessible unless you totally dismantled it, which would usually mean you can't put it together again.

Seen any wires yet, Madcatmk3?
Attached Thumbnails
A laptop-dscn2708.jpg   A laptop-img_0538.jpg  
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]



Last edited by aghastpumpkin; 20th June, 2006 at 10:20 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2006, 10:24 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Quote:
Originally Posted by aghastpumpkin
That's some speculation!
Clearly you haven't ever actually seen inside a laptop. Firstly, there are very few wires, what wires that do exist are small and ALWAYS neatly tucked away. I'll give you some examples.


I particularly like the following image, as it shows the usual maximum you can see inside a laptop, for servicing all the usual parts, unless you were to dismantle it further (you'd have to be idiotic to do that).

http://berklix.net/%7Ejhs/hardware/p...g/img_0538.jpg

Yes, laptops do have a LOT of wires. But their all enclosed and inaccessible unless you totally dismantled it, which would usually mean you can't put it together again.
I believe the argument is that their desktops are poorly wired, which is something I have never seen in a Dell, but I'll take his word for it. Given that even standard desktops have very little wiring in them, particularly now in the age of SATA and no floppy drives, I really don't see that big an issue.

Computers don't suck, because someone forgot a cable tie. Honestly, that's just silly.

Also thinking that since the desktops are not as heavily cable tied as you would like, and assuming the laptops are poor quality, doesn't exactly make sense either.

It would be like driving a Mercredes Vito workvan, and then saying that all Mercedes' had poor engines and bad interiors.

Incidently, I hate cable ties. I similarly do not hide all my wiring everywhere. Having to take your sidecutters to a +12V rail, because you've tied it into a grill hole, or because the IDE cable is grafted onto the power cable is one of my pet hates, and I like my wiring, exactly where I can see it, and access it, without having to kink, tug, bend, or snap it.

Looking good, and functioning well, are two very different things.

That's why nobody buys Citroens.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2006, 10:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio

That's why nobody buys Citroens.
LMFAO
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2006, 10:58 PM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

I have a Dell laptop that is over 4 years old. I have upgraded the RAM and the HDD. I had to have the video card replaced which cost $239 with overnight shipping both ways. (Video card went out because blankets and pillows were pilled on top of it while it was running with the lid closed.)

Most of my friends have Dell laptops. (remember I work offshore and almost everyone has a laptop and more than half are Dell's) Most don't have any problems. Those that do Dell is quick to get it fixed once it has been detirmined that it is a hardware problem. It just takes awhile to get passed thier India based tech support.

It is also a good idea to get the actuall Windows disk and as soon as you get the system to do a complete reformat repartition reinstall with just the programs that you want and get rid of all of Dell's crap add on stuff.

Before buying from Dell always check with www.techbargins.com for any coupons. You can buy from Dell small bussiness and just put your name under the line marked "company".

Also I end up doing any upgrades on the boat that I work on. Also I recomend Dell to friends and family that I do not want to be tech suport for. The business line of computer have a much better build quality than the consumer line of computers. However the consumer brand is no better or worse than other large name brands with the exception maybe IBM (they had excelent build quality) and they no longer build PC's for sale in the US.
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old 21st June, 2006, 01:20 AM
raphael2040's Avatar
Member
3D SuperBall Champion, Caray Snake 2 Champion, Casino Blackjack Champion, Helicopter Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Blackburn, UK
Posts: 2,188
Send a message via AIM to raphael2040 Send a message via MSN to raphael2040

So, from this discussion, we have concluded the following;

Eskimos don't like kit-kats.

=)
__________________
ASUS X58 P6T-SE
OCZ Gold 6GB DDR3-1600
750W Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Intel Core i7 920 (Bloomfield) o/ced 4.03Ghz
ATI Sapphire Radeon 4850 w/ Accelero Twin Turbo Cooler
All housed in a Thermaltake Tai Chi Case with lots of silent fans.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old 21st June, 2006, 12:38 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally Posted by raphael2040
So, from this discussion, we have concluded the following;

Eskimos don't like kit-kats.

=)
No,

It's "Dude, buy a dell."
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old 21st June, 2006, 12:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

So, er, madcat? Any thoughts?
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #51 (permalink)  
Old 21st June, 2006, 01:17 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

I heared the wiring inside those kit-kats was really messy....

best build your own twix tbh
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old 21st June, 2006, 04:43 PM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio

Also thinking that since the desktops are not as heavily cable tied as you would like, and assuming the laptops are poor quality, doesn't exactly make sense either.

Looking good, and functioning well, are two very different things.

That's why nobody buys Citroens.
There are plenty of Citroens in South Africa . It's not that I presume that the laptops are bad quality is my main concern I'm sure there decent but I don't like the company and would rather geive another compay my money. One thing that anooys me about there cables is when a PSU isn't modular and they simply leave the extra cables right above the CPU heatsink and bloakcing all the fans.
EDIT: My arguemnt wasn;t against thier laptops, I've only ever opend one laptop and it wasn't a dell I was complaining about thier desktops.
Something like the dell D420 seems nice but is a 1Ghz core solo going to run vista?
XPSM1210: It has less battery life and comes out the same as the thinkpad...
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."

Last edited by madcatmk3; 21st June, 2006 at 04:53 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old 21st June, 2006, 05:14 PM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

I don't much like Microsoft, but I'll happily give them my money for an OS.

Let's face it, for my needs, it's the best around, period.

But if your own ego is going to dictate your purchases instead of your common sense, then please don't ask us for suggestions and then completely ignore each one...

You want to build your own? Then do it. We'eve told you it's a bad idea, but it seems that doesn't matter.

Edit. You must be unlucky with Dell. Here's two I found on Hardocp
Attached Thumbnails
A laptop-11496257134zyfrm0f8x_3_4_l.jpg   A laptop-11346017183rqesbodui_3_7_l.jpg  
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad

Last edited by Pitch; 21st June, 2006 at 05:20 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old 22nd June, 2006, 01:12 AM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

Those are a lot better then the ones I worked with, but then again when I think about it most people will only call me when their PC isn;t working...
Anyway I said I've decided I wasn't going to build my own. Also the microsoft referance is differant. Win offers compatibility with everything. There are many companys that make the same product as dell, why would I not chose one I prefer? also dell doesn't seem to offer what I want, at this point only Lenovo does but I don't want to spend $1700 or so.
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old 22nd June, 2006, 02:53 AM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

MadCat chill. I was just pointing out that you can get a very similarly equiped PC for the same price or less than it you built it yourself. I just chose Dell cause they are ussually the cheapest, same as Walmart ussually being the cheapest.

When you started complaining about Dell many people here jumped to thier defense. That is because for what they do they do a good job of it, that is why they are so sucsesfull. But if don't want to give them your money then don't. I can understand that. Kind of like when I would rather go to True Value for hardware than Home Depot. It's cool.

So lets just drop everything else and get back to the main theme of the origonal post.

Does anyone Know of a small portable laptop with the specs he outlined earlier for around $1200 either shipped or brick and mortor that is not a Dell?
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old 22nd June, 2006, 07:37 AM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

Quote:
Originally Posted by aghastpumpkin
No offence madcamk3, but please stop making things up.
Imagination is good - but this is a joke!
How old are you, 15?
No one would let a 15 year old fix their expensive PC. As Dsio said, all XPS' are likely to still be under warranty too. You'd also need qualifications. Which you don't have.
Qualifications... Heh: I'm employed as a computer technician, and I do not have any qualifications. Go figure.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old 22nd June, 2006, 09:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rondog
Qualifications... Heh: I'm employed as a computer technician, and I do not have any qualifications. Go figure.
Bit different, as your actually employed by a company. Therefore people assume your either good enough, or being trained.

Madcat, next time someone suggests something, don't go against it and come up with silly reasons why. If you just don't like the brand - thats fine. Thats all you need to say.
As for a new Laptop, have you tried www.cyberpowersystem.co.uk
I'm not sure if they ship to the USA, but just look!
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old 22nd June, 2006, 09:49 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

http://www.cyberpowersystem.co.uk/sy...kukx80.asp?v=d

That's fabulous for the price. It looks rgeat, it has a massive amount of ram, a great processor and can play your games.
And it's only £750! (About $1500?)
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #59 (permalink)  
Old 22nd June, 2006, 07:49 PM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

it's to powerful, I need a 12.1in screen due to the batterylife. Thats one of my main conerns and one of the reason that I like the lenovo 8hrs per battery. Also $1500 is a bit much I need something for $1400 as my parents are getting me this as a graduation gift. I just got "ptomoted" as they call it.
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #60 (permalink)  
Old 22nd June, 2006, 07:55 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Talking

I think I got "ptomoted" once, but it really hurt
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2GB in a laptop! cadaveca Hardware Hacking 5 21st April, 2005 05:58 PM
Help me with a laptop Phat Pat OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 14 12th November, 2004 09:58 PM
What laptop to buy..... graftonater General Hardware Discussion 4 13th August, 2004 12:13 AM
LAptop without OS stigweed General Hardware Discussion 9 13th September, 2003 03:03 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:09 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0