AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 15th June, 2006, 11:58 PM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

A laptop

I'm about to graduate and my parents have promised me a laptop since we are finally aloud to have one in school next year. My priortities are
1.Reliability
2.Long Battery Life
3.Acceptable weight (<6lbs)
4.Under 2K
5.Smallish
6.Fairly fast (no games)

Currently what I'm looking at is:
Case
CPU
HDD
RAM
Anychance it's worth waiting for core duoII? I'll probly have the same problem as I did you core duo that is on release there is absolutetly no barebones for it. As well as being extremyl expensive.
Thanks in advance for the help
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 16th June, 2006, 07:46 AM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

Id go for a pre-built laptop to be honest, and go for one with a really good warranty because they are pigs when they go wrong.
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 16th June, 2006, 09:53 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

As you've put reliability as your number one priority, seriously consider a ready-built system with a next business day on-site warranty. That way, if the hardware fails you will be back up and running much faster than if you have to return parts for RMA.

You state long battery life without giving any indication of how long is acceptable.

You might want to consider some form of backup solution too, given that laptop hard disks are more prone to failing than desktop hard disks.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 16th June, 2006, 10:12 AM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

iBook :P
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 16th June, 2006, 11:48 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pitch
iBook :P
Make sure you get some fireproof underpants to go with it. This decline in product quality clearly means Apple are not beating their slaves anywhere near enough.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 17th June, 2006, 09:08 PM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
This decline in product quality clearly means Apple are not beating their slaves anywhere near enough.
I just saw a story how Ipods are built in sweatshops. Anyway for batterylife school is 8 hours. So I would use two probly 4-5 hours each. Anyway a prebuilt from say dell would cost about $1500 for the same thing. HDD wise I would buy a small external and just backup all my files on it.
EDIT: A mac also costs about $1100, also I do want to build my own.
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 18th June, 2006, 01:01 AM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

If you want the longer runtime from 1 battery, you want to be looking at something with a smallish screen. That case with a 12.1" screen would help there.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2006, 12:20 AM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

ya thats why I chose it.. Other then the case I'
m open to suggestons. Other then that does a smaller HDD use less power?
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2006, 08:56 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Quote:
Originally Posted by madcatmk3
ya thats why I chose it.. Other then the case I'
m open to suggestons. Other then that does a smaller HDD use less power?
Hard drive size is not related to power consumption. Hard drive rotational velocity is heavily related, and a large cache can improve battery life.

You want as much RAM as is practical, as on a laptop you NEVER want to be using virtual memory. Disable it.

What I bought was a second hand Dell MP3-M.

1.2Ghz 130nm 512k cache MP3-M is about the equivilant of a 1.8Ghz Pentium 4, but has a TDP of 10W.

12.1" screen

512MB ram (Now 1GB, with virtual memory disabled)

No GPU. GPUs on laptops are like tits on bulls.

Multiple brand new, high capacity batteries (5 hours each)

Both touchpad and eraser tip.

Full metal shell.

External Dual layer DVD-RW, External floppy, External HDD enclosure.

120GB 8MiB cache 4500RPM low power drive (just bought)

That cost about US$350 off Ebay. Best money I ever spent.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2006, 03:21 PM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

Quote:
Originally Posted by madcatmk3
Anyway for batterylife school is 8 hours. So I would use two probly 4-5 hours each. Anyway a prebuilt from say dell would cost about $1500 for the same thing. HDD wise I would buy a small external and just backup all my files on it.
EDIT: A mac also costs about $1100, also I do want to build my own.
They componente that you pointed out are ~$1,050. Plus you still don't have a wireless network card or operating system. Add those and you are up to about $1200. You can get a Dell Inspiron 640m for with almost the same specs for that. It will have a 14.1" screen and weight about 1 pound more but still be under the 6 pound mark.

But is you really want to build your own, go for it. Just don't forget the cost of an OS.
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2006, 05:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

*Crosses Fingers*
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...tem=8829209813
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2006, 06:11 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Looks like he paid £300 for it:
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...tem=8820517577
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2006, 06:12 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

LOL!

Nice find danrok!
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2006, 06:26 PM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

Quote:
Originally Posted by Staz
They componente that you pointed out are ~$1,050. Plus you still don't have a wireless network card or operating system. Add those and you are up to about $1200. You can get a Dell Inspiron 640m for with almost the same specs for that. It will have a 14.1" screen and weight about 1 pound more but still be under the 6 pound mark.

But is you really want to build your own, go for it. Just don't forget the cost of an OS.
the dell 640m is no were near...Opps I went through the school link and it came out as $2100. Ya it's about the same price but it's still a dell, I also want to make it identifiably mine to minimize the risk of theft.
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2006, 06:27 PM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Quote:
Originally Posted by madcatmk3
I also want to make it identifiably mine to minimize the risk of theft.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2006, 06:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Quote:
Originally Posted by danrok
I'll see if I can get it for less then that then! If I do - he's lost out!
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2006, 06:47 PM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pitch
so someone can't just take it and claims it's theres. Despite living in a "good" area out schools have some of the higehest theft rates. They lost something like 1000 iPods this year alone. Also I need something like a 12.1in screen for the battery life.
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2006, 06:50 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally Posted by madcatmk3
Ya it's about the same price but it's still a dell
In which case, I suggest that your number 1 priority isn't reliability at all, but avoiding the Dell name!
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2006, 07:40 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

I wouldn't buy a Dell desktop for my personal use, I most likely would if I were buying 200 workstations for an office.

I would give Dell a serious look if I were buy a laptop for myself. Good value with good back-up.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2006, 07:43 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Quote:
Originally Posted by danrok
I wouldn't buy a Dell desktop for my personal use, I most likely would if I were buying 200 workstations for an office.

I would give Dell a serious look if I were buy a laptop for myself. Good value with good back-up.
My thoughts exactly. Building a laptop is in no way the same as building a desktop.

And being silly about a brand just because you like the be able to say you're above them is a little pointless. You simply can't build a laptop as well as they can.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2GB in a laptop! cadaveca Hardware Hacking 5 21st April, 2005 05:58 PM
Help me with a laptop Phat Pat OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 14 12th November, 2004 09:58 PM
What laptop to buy..... graftonater General Hardware Discussion 4 13th August, 2004 12:13 AM
LAptop without OS stigweed General Hardware Discussion 9 13th September, 2003 03:03 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:33 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0