AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2006, 03:17 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

SATA drive choice

I am going to ga ahead and pick up some needed storage for my main rig.

I have an NF2 chipset and it has a 1.5 GB sata controller on board. I know most drives are backward compatable if you use the jumper setting.

I only want to spend about 70 bucks.

I was looking at these drives..

Samsung

Hitachi

WD

Which would be a better drive. I am leaning to the Samsung. Never used one before though...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2006, 03:30 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

The Samsung spinpoints are very good drives, I am currently using Seagate Barracuda drives but I will be replacing them when I have cash to spare as they are not very reliable.
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2006, 05:24 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Didn't Hitachi buy IBM's line of consumer HDD's? If so, did they fix the horsecrap in IBM's original design?
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2006, 06:42 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Just so you know, you should not need the jumper setting. SATA3Gb/s drives autonegotiate down to SATA1.5Gb/s speeds quite happily, unless you happen to have a certain VIA chipset. That's the reason why a number of manufacturers provided a jumper setting!
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2006, 09:14 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

This is good news. It looks like a Samsung will be finding a new home this weekend...

Thanks folks.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2006, 11:29 PM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

Too bad you didn't need it last week. I picked up one of these onsale for $79.99. Huge improvement in speed over the old ATA100 HDD that was in there. (but then again it was a 30GB HDD that was 97% full and the kid couldn't install his new game on it.)

Good luck and tell us know if there is a noticible impromenent in performance.

P.S.
Is this for additional storage or will it be your new boot drive?
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 21st June, 2006, 12:42 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

This will be additional storage. I have a Raptor I am booting from...Great drive. Not much room..

Sweet deal BTW.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 23rd June, 2006, 01:10 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Ok,

one last question before I order.

I like the Samsung listed above. Great reviews and apparently fast.

For a small 8 dollars more I can get a WD 160 GB drive with 16 MB cache.

Is the additional cahce worth it? Will I notice. here is the link
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 23rd June, 2006, 05:08 PM
gedon's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 446

Quote:
Originally Posted by cloasters
Didn't Hitachi buy IBM's line of consumer HDD's? If so, did they fix the horsecrap in IBM's original design?
yep they did
bought 2x hitachi IDE hdds april 03, 2x SATA 7K250 december 04 and 2x SATA T7K250 february 06
none of them has failed, all of them work 100% OK. since 2 1/2 years one IDE drive run 24/7
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 23rd June, 2006, 06:51 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Thanks for the info, gedon! After the disaster of an IBM 45 Gb drive that I bought years ago, I've avoided Hitachi.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 23rd June, 2006, 08:07 PM
gedon's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 446

I understand you. 2 years ago I've bought 2 maxtor drives. 3 RMAs in 9 months

what I know is that IBM took the wrong lubricative (hope this is the correct word ). after a short time it was like a glue when it became cold. problem started when you turn off the drive.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 24th June, 2006, 05:45 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

I've had great luck with five Seagates I've bought over the years. But no brand of HDD seems to be immune from lemons, sigh.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2006, 09:25 AM
JimF's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: South London/UK
Posts: 221

I have those Samsung drives running as RAID 0 since Feb and use them as the boot drive.

No problems other than an initial reluctance on the part of WinXP to see the RAID array and a certain amount of vibration noise.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2006, 09:54 AM
Got EpOx's Avatar
Team 45 Folder
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Exmouth, UK
Posts: 2,569
Send a message via MSN to Got EpOx Send a message via Skype™ to Got EpOx

Would it be worth picking up a Raptor 36.7GB HDD for a boot drive when i get my new AM2 system in a few months?
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo T5500 1.66Ghz
1GB PC2-5300 667Mhz
Matsh1ta DVD/RW Drive
232GB Western Digital 'My Book' External HDD USB 2.0
80GB Hitachi SATA HDD
Onboard Audio
Intel GMA 950 Onboard Video
Want to make a difference without leaving your chair?, then join the AOA folding team today!
AOA Folding @Home
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2006, 01:26 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Got EpOx
Would it be worth picking up a Raptor 36.7GB HDD for a boot drive when i get my new AM2 system in a few months?

I was thinking of picking up another one to run in raid 0. They are quick. Boot times and load times are much quicker.

With SATA II, you may not see much of a diff with a nice 160 GB SATA II drive. Other than the added storage.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2006, 06:59 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samuknow
Ok,

one last question before I order.

I like the Samsung listed above. Great reviews and apparently fast.

For a small 8 dollars more I can get a WD 160 GB drive with 16 MB cache.

Is the additional cahce worth it? Will I notice. here is the link

A friend bought one of the WD 16 Gb cache drives. He was most unhappy with it. An HDD tech told him that all the 16 Gb cache WD's should be avoided. Maybe it was just his bad luck?
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2006, 08:21 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Quote:
Originally Posted by cloasters
A friend bought one of the WD 16 Gb cache drives. He was most unhappy with it. An HDD tech told him that all the 16 Gb cache WD's should be avoided. Maybe it was just his bad luck?

Thanks for your info....I will be placing my order tomorrow...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2006, 10:26 PM
Got EpOx's Avatar
Team 45 Folder
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Exmouth, UK
Posts: 2,569
Send a message via MSN to Got EpOx Send a message via Skype™ to Got EpOx

SATA II does have up to 300MBps transfer rates which is marginally quicker within Windows than traditional IDE and SATA 150 drives. But i'm gonna have to check out some benchmarks before scanning Ebay for Raptors
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo T5500 1.66Ghz
1GB PC2-5300 667Mhz
Matsh1ta DVD/RW Drive
232GB Western Digital 'My Book' External HDD USB 2.0
80GB Hitachi SATA HDD
Onboard Audio
Intel GMA 950 Onboard Video
Want to make a difference without leaving your chair?, then join the AOA folding team today!
AOA Folding @Home
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 27th June, 2006, 10:33 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

I see plenty of mainboards that handle SATA 300/SATAII, but few HDD's that do. Mebbe I should check at Newegg more frequently.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 3rd July, 2006, 08:35 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

BTW, I did order the Samsung spinpoint drive. I will test it thourghly and tell ya what I think.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with my Asus P5B using SATA Drive mixx666 Intel Motherboards & CPUs 5 30th November, 2006 09:37 PM
Can't Load XP onto SATA Drive Chickenhead CRASHED! 21 30th May, 2005 11:14 PM
SATA CD CD Drive RussianMissile1 General Hardware Discussion 1 24th February, 2005 08:45 PM
SATA drive goosed? danrok General Hardware Discussion 4 14th April, 2004 11:37 PM
SATA drive recommendations? danrok General Hardware Discussion 22 16th March, 2004 01:34 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:16 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0