AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2006, 02:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2006
Posts: 32

nvflash

I saw some links to a new nvflash program and it got me wondering, should I be making sure I have my vga bios updated? is there any benefit to this at all? I haven't looked for bios updates for my epox 8npa either... I never really think about the bios on the mobo or the vga...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2006, 04:13 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 61

Generally, BIOS updates don't add anything important to your card, sometimes maybe a small new feature or a bug fix, but nothing important enough that it's absolutley necessary.

What people use it for mainly is to flash a modded BIOS to the card to 'voltmod' it. (you can read about that here)
__________________
Biostar n4sli-a9
AMD athlon64 X2 4600+ @ 2.6
XFX 8800 GTS 320
2x 1 Gb g.skill PC3200
Maxtor 100GB SATA
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 26th June, 2006, 02:12 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveAustin1971
I saw some links to a new nvflash program and it got me wondering, should I be making sure I have my vga bios updated? is there any benefit to this at all? I haven't looked for bios updates for my epox 8npa either... I never really think about the bios on the mobo or the vga...

Some were using to prog to flash therir VGA bios with a modified version to raise voltage or such...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 26th June, 2006, 02:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2006
Posts: 32

well thats good, I didn't really wanna flash anything if I didn't need to...
Thanks for the info
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 26th June, 2006, 04:16 PM
NarkotikBuzz's Avatar
Member
Breakout Champion
 
Join Date: July 2004
Location: LIMBO
Posts: 793

Is there anyway to flash to a modded bios without a floppy drive? My rig doesnt even have one. I never really needed one before.
__________________
Abit NF7-s
Barton 2500+ M @1800mhz
Leadtek 6800le
Ubuntu

HP Pavillion DV9535nr Laptop

AOA Team fah AOA Team files
"Who you callin a psycho?!" Kingpin
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 26th June, 2006, 04:46 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I imagine you could set up a bootable Cd. If you use NiBitor to read and save bios from windows, you can skip the save old step....

If you don't try it let me know. I will....
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 26th June, 2006, 06:49 PM
NarkotikBuzz's Avatar
Member
Breakout Champion
 
Join Date: July 2004
Location: LIMBO
Posts: 793

How do i set it to read and save from windows, thats what i would love to do.
__________________
Abit NF7-s
Barton 2500+ M @1800mhz
Leadtek 6800le
Ubuntu

HP Pavillion DV9535nr Laptop

AOA Team fah AOA Team files
"Who you callin a psycho?!" Kingpin
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 26th June, 2006, 10:32 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Quote:
Originally Posted by NarkotikBuzz
How do i set it to read and save from windows, thats what i would love to do.

use NiBitor to read your current VGA bios.

Open NiBiTor
select tools > read bios > select device
click when your card shows up

select tools > read bios > read into NiBiTor

You are now displaying your current bios

save as and your set. You can now mod the bios and save as volt mod or such.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 26th June, 2006, 10:35 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I just realized I can go even higher in .01 incriments...to flash or not to flash...

the card you foul minded people....
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 27th June, 2006, 05:50 AM
NarkotikBuzz's Avatar
Member
Breakout Champion
 
Join Date: July 2004
Location: LIMBO
Posts: 793

I have done all that, but it saves it as a new file, and doesnt change the current bios. It reads it into NiBiTor, and then i mod it, and save it, but it saves it as a new file into the NiBiTor folder, without actually flashing it into the card. I am confused.
__________________
Abit NF7-s
Barton 2500+ M @1800mhz
Leadtek 6800le
Ubuntu

HP Pavillion DV9535nr Laptop

AOA Team fah AOA Team files
"Who you callin a psycho?!" Kingpin
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 27th June, 2006, 08:58 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

That is correct. NiBiTor will read, mod and save the BIOS. It doesn't do the flashing. That is what nVFlash is for.

Be aware that if you flash a non-working BIOS back into the card, it may be difficult to recover as you will not have a working graphics card.

You will still need some form of DOS boot device. It's probably easiest to create a bootable CD-ROM to do this.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 27th June, 2006, 11:10 AM
NarkotikBuzz's Avatar
Member
Breakout Champion
 
Join Date: July 2004
Location: LIMBO
Posts: 793

I might have to give that a try. For right now, i am gonna leave it alone. I was going to do this so i could get higher clock speeds, but i have still not reached my cards limit yet, so i will see where it goes, and maybe try this later. Thanks for all the info guys.
__________________
Abit NF7-s
Barton 2500+ M @1800mhz
Leadtek 6800le
Ubuntu

HP Pavillion DV9535nr Laptop

AOA Team fah AOA Team files
"Who you callin a psycho?!" Kingpin
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:25 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0