AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 4th July, 2006, 10:19 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Basically how does this differ from a simple extension like one would find in a switch box for example?(Sans switching of course.)
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 4th July, 2006, 10:31 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

The fact that one Metaframe or Terminal Services server can provide sessions to multiple users at the same time - to the users, it appears that they are the only ones using the system. Both Metaframe and TS can also provide a desktopless environment, so you only get the application you are running - no desktop.

It also runs over IP, so works on existing networks and doesn't require recabling. In fact, it'll even run happily over a WAN, so that you don't have to be in the same geographical location.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 4th July, 2006, 02:14 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Áedán
Not sure why you think that heavy-duty processing would be an issue? Those who have used Remote Desktop have actually been unwittingly using Terminal Services.

Just a note to this, I use Remote Desktop at work. I tried running AutoCad on it and it took forever to just get it open. Much less pan or zoomor the like. I ended up installing it local so I could use it. We are running GB network with a new server.

Just from this experience, I would think that this would be limited....
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 4th July, 2006, 03:14 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Highly graphics intensive operations are not suited to RDP use at all. However, the majority of computer use in offices is not graphics intensive at all, but rather more around web based or a productivity suite like Office. Heavy duty processing I consider to be something that maxes out the processor, rather than something that puts heavy loads on the graphics card.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 4th July, 2006, 09:59 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Thanks A! A very different beast! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Miror, mirror on the wall... is me, CaptainCurran !!! chrisbard Random Nonsense! 4 5th August, 2006 01:21 AM
9NPA+ and the 137 GB HDD wall Cproflow EPoX MotherBoards 8 31st July, 2006 05:40 PM
Belkin 800VA F6C800UNV 6 Outlet UPS $59.99 mookydooky Online Deals, and Steals 0 19th December, 2004 04:33 PM
Broadband through the outlet. mookydooky Random Nonsense! 21 19th April, 2003 04:16 AM
Something to hang on your cubical wall. mookydooky Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 1 1st July, 2002 04:46 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:32 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0