AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 4th July, 2006, 01:56 AM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

itunes-WMP

I got an mp3 player finally. But it uses windows media player and all my songs are on itunes. anyone know how to transfer them? I don't need to keep the same high quality. Most are also AAC protected files.
EDIT:forgot to mention the fact that I can convert files with creative audio converter.
EDIT2: You actuly can't convert the protected AAC files to anything...
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."

Last edited by madcatmk3; 4th July, 2006 at 02:02 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 4th July, 2006, 03:07 AM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

well I've got the mp3 player working if I'm board I might do a review. Unfortunetly I still can't transfer between the two but I had a few CD's sitting around and the quality is amazing.
EDIT: I'll wright one tomorrow if I have time, I'm abaysitting some kids for someones fourth of july party, seeing my girlfried and hopefuly sitting outside to tan . But if I have time I'll wright one as it's a lot better then my shuffle which was an absolute piece of ****. I mean really I hated that thing.
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."

Last edited by madcatmk3; 4th July, 2006 at 04:22 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 4th July, 2006, 07:20 AM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

All your iTunes music is in your Documents and Settings\"user"\My Documents\My Music\iTunes\iTunes Music folder.

Some of the files may be in the .M4P format if you purchased them from the iTunes store but they can be converted with the propper converter. Otherwise you can have WMP scan that particular folder and it will add all the supported format songs into its library.
__________________

Last edited by WonderBread; 4th July, 2006 at 07:21 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 4th July, 2006, 10:05 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Currently, as I understand it, protected AAC files (.m4p) are not unprotectable. Programs that have unprotected them have relied on being able to download the license information from the iTunes store (and thus using a license entitlement up). If you've purchased using iTunes version 6, I'm not aware of anything that will remove the DRM.

However, if you're desperate, you can always burn them to a re-writable CD and then rip them back again!
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 4th July, 2006, 10:32 AM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Or play it through your soundcard right back to your line in port, and record it that way.

But I didn't tell you that
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 4th July, 2006, 10:41 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Personally, I'd rather avoid the quality loss and just strip the DRM if I had to. However, as I have an iPod, I don't need to strip the DRM at all. I would agree about the iPod shuffle though - it seems like it's a product with very limited use. The 4G iPods are pretty decent though.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 5th July, 2006, 02:16 AM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

Quote:
Originally Posted by Áedán
However, if you're desperate, you can always burn them to a re-writable CD and then rip them back again!
Thats what I've bean doing. But one great thing about my samsung is that the sound quality is much, much better. A second thingwould probly be the 27 hrs of battery life. my shuffle got like 12
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."

Last edited by madcatmk3; 5th July, 2006 at 02:16 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 5th July, 2006, 09:28 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

I know that when I couple my 4G iPod with a decent set of headphones, it provides good quality sound. That's the kicker though - a decent set of headphones. The headphones provided with just about all portable players suck royally.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 5th July, 2006, 03:16 PM
xmetrix's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2005
Posts: 137
Send a message via AIM to xmetrix Send a message via MSN to xmetrix Send a message via Yahoo to xmetrix

I say you load up winamp, and use that to convert them to wav's using the diskwriter plugin, then encode it using your fav utility (adobe audition, lame, etc.)
__________________
Dual Opteron 246's @ 2ghz - 2gb pc3200 DDR
BFG 7800 GTOC 256 PCIe - 2TB sata300
1x16xDLDVDRWCDRWCOMBO
24" FP2405W LCD 1920x1200 1000:1
Microsoft Keyboard with Fingerprint Reader
Microsoft Intellimouse Optical 1.1a 5 button black
Windows XP Pro sp1
IE7b3
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 5th July, 2006, 04:12 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

I didn't know Winamp could play tracks protected by Fairplay? However, you'll still lose quality as you've going from one lossy format to another. Better would just be able to undo the AES encryption on the track, so the portable player could play MPEG4 audio... Shame it's not possible at the moment.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 5th July, 2006, 11:31 PM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

ehhhmmmm guess I'm just going to have to do it with a CD . Oh well
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Itunes for Linux?!?! robbie OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 0 20th July, 2007 02:18 AM
Cant import CD into iTunes Rondog OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 4 1st March, 2007 02:30 PM
My pod not i-pod my tunes not itunes...? Daniel ~ Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 4th September, 2006 10:13 PM
itunes/quicktime z3speed4me OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 4 13th October, 2005 12:11 AM
iTunes in UK stigweed OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 1 22nd October, 2003 06:44 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:25 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0