AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 7th July, 2006, 01:00 PM
Hoppster's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Waikouaiti Otago NZ
Posts: 82
Send a message via MSN to Hoppster

Red face 2 gig RAM not much better than 1?

Hi,

Just installed an extra gig of ram, thinking I would get a good performance increase.

I do remember a huge difference, when long ago I upgraded from 384 to 1024 mb

However, I hardly notice the difference. 3D Mark benchmarks 2001 to 2006 show NO difference, and PCmark 2004 shows only a very small increase in performance under XP Home edition.

One positive - vista seems to run faster, although i havnt done any benchmarks under that OS.

Question
Does anyone know know of any tweaks that can make Windows XP make more use or better use of the additional RAM to speed up things. Or do you think I should just let windows XP manage it its own way?.

Mabee my bottleneck is now the Graphics Card or Hard Drives.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3200
Leadtech 6600 GT TDH @ 570/1070
Geil 2GB RAM
2 x 200GB Western Digital
Dual Boot XP32 bit Home Edition
Vista Beta 2 Release 5308 64 bit


"You cant help a bit of bad luck now and again"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 7th July, 2006, 01:04 PM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

The ram will speed up your computer, but not as much as a vid card or cpu would do for benchmarks. Vista kind of upgrades it'self to your ram. My one friend has 3gb so his uses 33% ram. My other firend has 1gb and vista uses about 45%. Anyway you'll notice the differance in a game.
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 7th July, 2006, 01:26 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Generally, adding additional RAM only makes a performance difference if there isn't enough RAM to avoid using swap. If there's enough RAM that the machine doesn't have to use the swap files, then adding more RAM makes no difference to the performance.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 7th July, 2006, 01:29 PM
Hoppster's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Waikouaiti Otago NZ
Posts: 82
Send a message via MSN to Hoppster

Should I increase my AGP Apperture size?

Will this help any?

My card is a 128mb 6600

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3200
Leadtech 6600 GT TDH @ 570/1070
Geil 2GB RAM
2 x 200GB Western Digital
Dual Boot XP32 bit Home Edition
Vista Beta 2 Release 5308 64 bit


"You cant help a bit of bad luck now and again"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 7th July, 2006, 01:33 PM
Hoppster's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Waikouaiti Otago NZ
Posts: 82
Send a message via MSN to Hoppster

Although, I can multi task quicker

I have just noticed, when playing Halflife, I can multi task much quicker,

Like I can post to forums, play games, and do my washing, cook tea all at the same time.

But seriously - alt-tab works much quicker, when playing the latest games and other stuff.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3200
Leadtech 6600 GT TDH @ 570/1070
Geil 2GB RAM
2 x 200GB Western Digital
Dual Boot XP32 bit Home Edition
Vista Beta 2 Release 5308 64 bit


"You cant help a bit of bad luck now and again"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 7th July, 2006, 01:54 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

2gigs of ram will make no real difference to benchmarks, however if you set your AGP aperture to 256mb and set you page file manually to 2048mb min and max, the page file will not be re-sized and your system will cope with games much better.
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 7th July, 2006, 02:16 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Will snake and chopper arcade games run better?
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 7th July, 2006, 02:29 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

I wouldn't think so....anyway Chris looks like you are getting pwned by Spiderman..
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 7th July, 2006, 03:09 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by MONKEYMAN
I wouldn't think so....anyway Chris looks like you are getting pwned by Spiderman..
Well yeah I don't have enough time in my hands now and I can't beat Spiderman,...you know.....no bite
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:23 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0