AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 13th August, 2006, 11:56 PM
Nate-X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: Maryland..
Posts: 764
Send a message via ICQ to Nate-X Send a message via AIM to Nate-X

Problem copying files between drives on same system..

I'm getting a cannot copy file.. path too deep error.

I just installed a new SATA hard drive. I moved my old pata back up drive from sata (using adapter) over to a pata add-on card. The system sees the drive just fine and I can copy some stuff over but on a lot of stuff I get this error
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 14th August, 2006, 03:09 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Appears to be a generic hardware error of some kind. Check this out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 14th August, 2006, 05:43 PM
Nate-X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: Maryland..
Posts: 764
Send a message via ICQ to Nate-X Send a message via AIM to Nate-X

Ended up fixing it when I upgraded my promise card drivers. After I put it on another chain and copied all my stuff over I put it back on the promise card and formatted it. Noticed it only shoed 127gb of the 200gb drive which is where the drivers came into play. Fixed all the problems.. so yeeha.. go go good guys =P
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS A7N8X-XE no boot with two non-RAID SATA drives problem Baek AMD Motherboards & CPUs 0 8th March, 2006 01:20 AM
DVD/CD Drives too loud? no problem! mashakos The Quiet PC 0 22nd January, 2005 02:10 PM
What could cause errors copying files for a Windows XP install? Wa11y CRASHED! 29 20th June, 2002 04:44 AM
AOA Files Upload problem fixed Pinky Random Nonsense! 7 21st May, 2002 02:09 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:16 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0