AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home

Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 22nd August, 2006, 08:37 PM

Question Quick question about hard drives

Hello, I have been considering buying a new hard drive for some time now and in light of recent events I fear that my current hard drive may fail soon. My question is, when I get the new hard drive and hook it up, can I move everything (files, settings, windows xp) to the new drive and retire the old one? Does the "files and settings transfer wizard" do this? I have no experience with using that tool so I thought I better ask thanks.

Or if there is another method to transfer everything from the old drive to the new one any info would be appreciated.

Last edited by patman01; 22nd August, 2006 at 09:17 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 23rd August, 2006, 04:48 AM
Member/Contributer

Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

Any drive you buy should have a utility to do exactly what you want.

For instance here is how Maxtor does it.

I just did this a couple of months ago with a WD drive and it is really easy.

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 23rd August, 2006, 03:17 PM

alas, that is good news for I have purchased this drive http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144701
thanks!
Old 23rd August, 2006, 03:47 PM
Team 45 Folder

Send a message via MSN to Got EpOx Send a message via Skype™ to Got EpOx

Quote:
Originally Posted by Newegg Comment