AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 22nd September, 2006, 05:41 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Has AMD found their opening? Are they prepaping a great leap forward?

Written by Daniel
Friday, 22 September 2006
Newsmaker: AMD's CTO says Intel messed up
By Michael Kanellos and Tom Krazit
Staff Writer, CNET News.com
Published: September 22, 2006, 4:00 AM PDT


There used to be an easy way to tell time in the processor business: Advanced Micro Devices would have three bad years and one good year, and Intel would have one bad year and three good years.

Strategic changes and new products like the Opteron, however, have transformed AMD from a company too often known for gaffes and financial losses into a major supplier of processors. Intel, meanwhile, has tripped over itself several times during the past three years.

Front Page
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 22nd September, 2006, 05:59 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

If AMD's new Quad Cores are in the channel in force by Q1 '07 Intel may not blow them out of the water. Go AMD! Core Duo's are too expensive.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 22nd September, 2006, 06:11 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

And lack of competition is way more expensive! Give Intel nightmares AMD! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 22nd September, 2006, 06:53 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

LoL. See me with a Conroe? I know what's coming, and I like it.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 22nd September, 2006, 07:25 PM
qwikride's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2006
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to qwikride Send a message via Yahoo to qwikride Send a message via Skype™ to qwikride

I am a AMD faithful, I'll be more than happy to wait on AMD. Just don't so dam long boys!
__________________
CPU: Intel Exteme QX9770
MOBO: ASUS Striker II Extreme
GPU: 2x MSI 8800ULTRA-T2D768E-HD-OC R
MEM: 2GB Dominator DDR3 1800 7-7-7-20 1T
HD:4x WD Raptor 150GB 16MB cache 10,000rpm W/ARC-1210 Controller
PSU: PC&Power 1KW Single Rail
Lite-On DVD-Rom & DVD-Writer
SOUND: Creative X-Fi Fatality Champion Series
WATER BLOCKS: CPU=D-Tek fusion, GPUs=EK
RADIATORS: 2x ThermoChill PA120.3
PUMPS: 2x Laing D5
CASE: Mountain Mods U2-UFO Horizon
FANs: 10 LED 120mm fans
MONITOR: Dell 3007WFP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 22nd September, 2006, 09:10 PM
Got EpOx's Avatar
Team 45 Folder
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Exmouth, UK
Posts: 2,569
Send a message via MSN to Got EpOx Send a message via Skype™ to Got EpOx

I'm waiting because i know Intel just released the Conroes to regain some of the market and thus they can now release their Kentsfield CPU's and get a leap ahead in that field too. Hopefully AMD will supply a proper buttkicking CPU to wipe that smile off Intels faces!
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo T5500 1.66Ghz
1GB PC2-5300 667Mhz
Matsh1ta DVD/RW Drive
232GB Western Digital 'My Book' External HDD USB 2.0
80GB Hitachi SATA HDD
Onboard Audio
Intel GMA 950 Onboard Video
Want to make a difference without leaving your chair?, then join the AOA folding team today!
AOA Folding @Home

Last edited by Got EpOx; 22nd September, 2006 at 09:10 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 22nd September, 2006, 09:39 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Problem#1: 2 dies on one socket = Shared FSB.
Problem#2: One of those dies is fully capable of saturating the FSB(as memory transfers use FSB)

So, when you add it all up, 2+2 does not quite equal 4 when it comes to Intel. Of course, there's more to it, but that's not my point.

AMD...well, integrated memory controllers means less latency, as well as less bus traffic(as it's fully seperated into 2 buses), so bus saturation is less likely in a quad-core scenario. This also means that chipsets can be larger and have more functionality built into them, as the real-estate for the memorycontroller just plain doesn't exist is AMD chipsets. I'm convinced that this is one of the major reasons that we only have 8x8 pci-e chipsets for intel currently, becuase 16x16 is REALLY needed.













Anyway, who, besides me, really needs this power?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 24th September, 2006, 01:20 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

We tend to think that we need more processing power. Not necessarily!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 30th September, 2006, 06:13 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 568

If software would catch up and be actually useful with these faster procs, then maybe we'd have something, ie: there are so many things that software doesn't (or can't) do that is the real bottleneck.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 30th September, 2006, 12:09 PM
NarkotikBuzz's Avatar
Member
Breakout Champion
 
Join Date: July 2004
Location: LIMBO
Posts: 793

Asus just released a motherboard based on the nVidia 590 chipset that has 3 PCI-E slots, 2 that operate at 16x, and the third at 8x, for the future use of nVidia's Physics card.....so there is 16x16 for Intel now, Conroe and Kentsfield ready. I cant remember the model number of the board though, but it is brand new and i think its the only Intel compatible board that is N-Force 590. Its also currently priced at $300 USD.
__________________
Abit NF7-s
Barton 2500+ M @1800mhz
Leadtek 6800le
Ubuntu

HP Pavillion DV9535nr Laptop

AOA Team fah AOA Team files
"Who you callin a psycho?!" Kingpin

Last edited by NarkotikBuzz; 30th September, 2006 at 12:11 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IBM claims self-assembling chip leap. MONKEYMAN Random Nonsense! 1 10th May, 2007 08:16 PM
New Chips, Cards, and a Quantum Leap Gizmo General Hardware Discussion 10 5th December, 2005 10:33 PM
Taking the leap, or...making a stumblem... Daniel ~ OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 11 11th July, 2004 07:48 PM
Ten-Fold Performance Leap in Future Transistors dimmreaper AMD Motherboards & CPUs 10 15th September, 2002 03:00 AM
Job Opening - Psychohardware.com pug Random Nonsense! 13 7th October, 2001 09:12 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:02 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0