AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 1st November, 2006, 06:53 PM
Necorum's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Indianapolis,Indiana,United States
Posts: 1,803
Send a message via AIM to Necorum Send a message via MSN to Necorum Send a message via Yahoo to Necorum

Hard drive question

What would be the best bang for its buck hard drive for just the operating system.

Size ,price ,rpm and cache

I want a 16mb cache and dont know how big the size should be plus speed (rpm). I would like the fastest for the price anyone know of a good one throw me a link here. Remember this is for installing prgorams ,running windows xp and/or dual booting vista. Storage will be on my sata 300 gigs and my 250 external usb.
__________________
AOA Team fah


3dMark 11: P7023
3dMark Vantage: P31097
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 1st November, 2006, 07:50 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

You could get a 36GiB Western Digital Raport off ebay, that runs at 10,000 RPM and is generally considered pretty zippy.

Otherwise the newer 150GiB Raptors are considered wayyy zoomy, also running at 10,000 RPM.

You will have to search around for prices as I don't know them off the top of my head
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 1st November, 2006, 09:33 PM
Necorum's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Indianapolis,Indiana,United States
Posts: 1,803
Send a message via AIM to Necorum Send a message via MSN to Necorum Send a message via Yahoo to Necorum

will check into them. Does the cache matter alot? Like from 8mb to 16mb?
__________________
AOA Team fah


3dMark 11: P7023
3dMark Vantage: P31097
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 1st November, 2006, 10:14 PM
Necorum's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Indianapolis,Indiana,United States
Posts: 1,803
Send a message via AIM to Necorum Send a message via MSN to Necorum Send a message via Yahoo to Necorum

Choices

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822141140

or

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136033

pro's and cons on these two??? They will be my OS's hard drive
__________________
AOA Team fah


3dMark 11: P7023
3dMark Vantage: P31097
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 1st November, 2006, 10:46 PM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

that SCSI drive will need a SCSI card to go with it.
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 1st November, 2006, 11:21 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Uhh the Hitachi is SCSI, while the Western Digital Raptor is SATA.

Do you have a SCSI socket on your motherboard, or a card for it? Because if you don't, I would recommend the WD Raptor!
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 2nd November, 2006, 12:05 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Favu
Uhh the Hitachi is SCSI, while the Western Digital Raptor is SATA.

Do you have a SCSI socket on your motherboard, or a card for it? Because if you don't, I would recommend the WD Raptor!

What he said...The Raptor will fly...Ever sat next to a 15000 RPM SCSI drive?

Do you like the sound of a Dentist drill...?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 2nd November, 2006, 04:26 AM
Necorum's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Indianapolis,Indiana,United States
Posts: 1,803
Send a message via AIM to Necorum Send a message via MSN to Necorum Send a message via Yahoo to Necorum

I cant hear myself think or my pc over my music ever :P(look at sig) so sound isnt a problem and I do have a scsi card. Would I notice to much of a difference between the two? I mean I have onboard SATA and wouldnt have to have another pci card....
__________________
AOA Team fah


3dMark 11: P7023
3dMark Vantage: P31097
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 2nd November, 2006, 04:42 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Well I was just thinking if it is folding 24/7 like it should be. You would at least like to be able to sleep. The SCSI should be faster.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 2nd November, 2006, 06:34 AM
Necorum's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Indianapolis,Indiana,United States
Posts: 1,803
Send a message via AIM to Necorum Send a message via MSN to Necorum Send a message via Yahoo to Necorum

Gaming on that rig i have two folding machine in my front room im building just havent had time.
__________________
AOA Team fah


3dMark 11: P7023
3dMark Vantage: P31097
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2006, 02:29 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

The Ultra 320 wil be faster. It is written that SCSI drives aren't worth it unless they'll be accessed by multiple users. Otherwise it's more economical to go with SATA II drives, assuming that the mainboard will run 'em at SATA II.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2006, 02:32 AM
Necorum's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Indianapolis,Indiana,United States
Posts: 1,803
Send a message via AIM to Necorum Send a message via MSN to Necorum Send a message via Yahoo to Necorum

SATA II 3.0 g transfer speed onbaord if i remember correctly.
__________________
AOA Team fah


3dMark 11: P7023
3dMark Vantage: P31097
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2006, 11:12 AM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

if you want a cheap SATA II, go for the Samsung Spinpoint P 160Gb. These are very fast and only cost about £40 (roughly $80US). 7200RPM, 8mb cache, SATA 3Gbps with 1.5Gbps compatibility mode.

Be aware if you have an NF4 SLI chipset, you'll have to run in 1.5Gbps mode since they don't support the full 3Gbps mode. Still, very fast.

If you do have enough money though, go for a Raptor. One for OS and personal files (e.g. music, films, images, etc) and one for Games. Running them in a RAID 0 will make them almost unstoppable as well.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2006, 03:44 PM
Necorum's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Indianapolis,Indiana,United States
Posts: 1,803
Send a message via AIM to Necorum Send a message via MSN to Necorum Send a message via Yahoo to Necorum

Might get 2 raptors... one at a time. I dont have an sli board yet ,but im doing the upgrade one piece at a time. Buy the things I can use now first :P hard drives ,power supply ,cd/rw and dvdr/w ,etc etc.
__________________
AOA Team fah


3dMark 11: P7023
3dMark Vantage: P31097
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2006, 04:33 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

The spinpoint is a good drive....Check out this review

The raptors in raid will give killer performance...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard Drive Question Necorum Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 12 30th January, 2007 12:30 AM
8K7A external hard drive question(s) Greta von Smack EPoX MotherBoards 9 14th February, 2006 07:33 AM
Hard Drive Question - Epox 9NPA+ Ultra mbishop13 EPoX MotherBoards 1 3rd December, 2005 03:56 AM
Please Help! Hard Drive question? crashovride02 General Hardware Discussion 3 19th October, 2005 05:23 PM
Question about hard drive performance vsaltv General Hardware Discussion 6 13th October, 2004 04:10 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:37 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0