AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2007, 05:37 PM
Chaz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: England
Posts: 208

PSU Died in the night

Strangely my power supply died suddenly and without warning. I turned it on one morning a few days ago and there was no power to the motherboard, but the little orange light at the back of the power switch was lit up. I double checked the PSU was at fault by removing it from my system and hooking up a fan, and shorting the power on cable with a ground cable to force it to start up. Nothing.

It's a Hiper Type-R 580W by the way.

I'm skeptical that it really is dead because its been working flawlessly since I've got it, and it just suddenly stopped working for no reason. It didn't make any worrying noises when I turned it on, and theres no burning smells. It says in the manual theres an internal fuse, it would make sense that this has blown, but it also says it will only blow if theres a serious fault with the thing, and I'll have to peel off the warranty sticker to open the thing up, but I really cant be doing with sorting out a replacement!

Any advice?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2007, 05:45 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

In my experience, replacing the internal fuse will fix it 9 times out of 10.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2007, 05:47 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Unplug and turn of power switch. This will usually reset it if it had a high current draw.

green to black will turn on the supply. It could also just be dead.

If it is under warranty, I would not open it up at this point.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2007, 06:19 PM
Chaz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: England
Posts: 208

Thanks for the replies. How easy would it be to replace? I tried what you said Samuknow, didn't help.
__________________

Last edited by Chaz; 14th June, 2007 at 06:20 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2007, 06:39 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

The fuse may be soldered in place. That can make it more difficult. If you are going to open it up, be VERY careful. The large caps can be deadly if they are not discharged.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2007, 08:13 PM
Chaz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: England
Posts: 208

If I do open it up and remove it, what should I replace it with?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2007, 08:49 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

A fuse of the same capacity.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2007, 08:55 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

yep...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2007, 09:12 PM
Chaz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: England
Posts: 208

Oh, so a typical fuse you would wire into a plug will do? I just guessed it would be different.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2007, 09:14 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

It is probably a glass tube type. The type that used to be used in older cars.

They are still used in electronic equipment.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2007, 09:41 PM
Chaz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: England
Posts: 208

Right, I've opened it up. Having a look around I found something that looks fuse like but I'm not sure its the right bit, see attached pics.

I really appreciate the help everyone
Attached Thumbnails
PSU Died in the night-psu1.jpg   PSU Died in the night-psu2.jpg  
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2007, 09:53 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

What I'd expect to see is a quick blow fuse, which would look like the attached photo.

You will have to use a fuse of the exact same type, as the blown one.

I can't see the photo so clearly, but that could be a fuse you've pointed out. Does it look like it has been covered in shrink wrap or something?
Attached Images
 
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2007, 10:13 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Yep, that's the fuse. Looks like it has been covered with heat shrink, too. They've taken to doing that as a safety precaution, because very occasionally a fuse can actually explode, and then there are potential issues with arcing.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2007, 10:23 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Do you have a DVM? volt meter ohm meter.

You can measure to see if it is open.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2007, 11:39 PM
Chaz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: England
Posts: 208

Thanks for the help. I cut a slit down the heat shrink and peeled it back, it's definately a fuse. But looking at it closely I can see the wire through it, with a blob of something in the middle, it's probably not a very good indicator of whether its blown or not but it looks as if it hasn't.

I'll have a proper look tomorrow.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 15th June, 2007, 01:37 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Does that fan on it still work?
I'd also hit that sucker with a can of air ( not literaly )
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah

Last edited by robbie; 15th June, 2007 at 01:38 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 15th June, 2007, 10:43 AM
Chaz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: England
Posts: 208

Well I took the fuse out, put it in a simple circuit and it worked fine. The fuse hadn't blown.

I guess there's nothing I can do then?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 15th June, 2007, 12:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

I would say so. I think fiddling with PSUs is more dangerous than it's worth if you don't know what your doing.....
It's making me very nervous lol.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 15th June, 2007, 12:04 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Quote:
Originally Posted by aghastpumpkin
I would say so. I think fiddling with PSUs is more dangerous than it's worth if you don't know what your doing.....
It's making me very nervous lol.

Agree, I mentioned this earlier.

Time to buy new stuff.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 15th June, 2007, 12:56 PM
Chaz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: England
Posts: 208

Oh well, that's life. I don't think theres anything to be worried about, the half lives of capacitors this size are fairly small, there won't have been an ounce of charge left in any of them by the time I opened it up.

Thanks for the help anyway. Does anyone have any recommendations for the best PSU I could get in the £50/£60 range? Ones that don't die unexpectedly would be nice...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So where were you last night? dod Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 4 28th August, 2003 05:29 PM
My Night (under 16s may not want to read) loop Random Nonsense! 11 11th November, 2002 03:04 AM
Had the funnest night!!! Betty Random Nonsense! 4 10th November, 2002 02:03 AM
Did something happen last night? mookydooky Random Nonsense! 6 25th October, 2002 08:43 PM
A fun night out Allan Random Nonsense! 10 2nd October, 2002 05:55 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:47 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0