AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 26th February, 2008, 08:29 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

MetaRAM Doubles, Quadruples Memory Capacity of Existing Systems

Written by Daniel
Tuesday, 26 February 2008
MetaRAM technology to cut server and workstation memory costs by up to 90 percent
Marcus Yam (Blog) - February 26, 2008 9:16 AM
DailyTech

Fabless semiconductor company MetaRAM today launched a new memory technology, called DDR2 MetaSDRAM that promises to double or quadruple memory capacity while maintaining compatibility with existing DIMMs. [Front Page..]
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 27th February, 2008, 01:51 AM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

So, where do i get myself some?
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 27th February, 2008, 04:52 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

~"$50000 systems." Any day now.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 27th February, 2008, 01:36 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Basically, it seems to sit between the DRAM controller and the DRAM - effectively acting as a multiplexer from my understanding. This means that it adds latency to the system, as all accesses have to go through the MetaRAM controller. Does the extra capacity make up for the latency increase? Probably for servers, probably not for overclockers.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 27th February, 2008, 01:55 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Capacity wise we're already fine at the moment. Last two machines I built (one Ubuntu 64 one Vista 64 for by bosses) were Q6600 / 8GB DDR800. 8GB (4X 2GB) only costs $200 AU. Even with linux caching and preload daemon running, 4GB is usually going spare.

Virtualization is another story, and for Xen for example, the big brick wall you hit is always RAM, as CPU, bandwidth, hard disk space and I/O performance is always overkill. Because each Xen DomU runs its own full environment, 256MB/instance is minimum with 512-1024 being more common for Python/Ruby based web sites.

Right now I've got a few quad cores with 8GB RAM and a couple dual quads and quad quads with 16 / 32GB RAM. If I could get a Xeon X3220 with 32/64GB of RAM on it for a reasonable price, that would be the sweet spot for a Xen server.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles

Last edited by dsio; 27th February, 2008 at 01:56 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 27th February, 2008, 05:50 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

"Quad quads with 32Gb." Now THAT's muscular!
__________________
When the world will be better.

Last edited by cloasters; 28th February, 2008 at 04:27 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Samsung doubles solid-state drive capacity MONKEYMAN Random Nonsense! 2 28th March, 2007 07:17 PM
New Memory circuit has 160,000 bits of capacity Daniel ~ General Hardware Discussion 0 26th January, 2007 05:27 PM
OCZ PC4800 Memory for A64 Systems danrok 64 Bit computing 6 5th March, 2005 08:39 AM
how do i cofigure sate hd with existing ide hd wwjdcgh General Hardware Discussion 1 1st November, 2004 04:28 AM
New 8RDA+ and existing XP PRO Flymo EPoX MotherBoards 6 9th February, 2003 05:25 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:38 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0