AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 15th July, 2008, 08:53 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

Dual core temps

Getting set up to do some testing an thermo grease and it looks like I'll use OCCT as a CPU stresser & temp recorder with SpeedFan as back up recorder.
I noticed that each core has it's own sensor but they arn't independent of each other. If I stress both cores 100% temps go up in unison. I turn off OCCT and only 1 core is running 100% [folding]the other drops to almost zero usage but both temps fall in unison.
Why have 2 sensors? You are getting a temp that is a combination of the 2 cores. I would guess it would cost less to have 1 sensor. So why have 2?
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 31st January, 2009, 07:40 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

  1. The sensors are part of the basic design of the core. A dual-core or quad-core system replicates about 90% of the design wholesale for each core, and then adds a little glue logic to make all the cores work together.
  2. There ARE situations where one core could run hotter than the other, particularly if there were some kind of problem with the heat-sink. As a result, there really IS a need for a sensor on each core.
  3. That sensor is actually pretty cheap, because it's nothing more than a transistor running in a common-base (or, in this case, I guess it would be common-gate) configuration.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Dual Core dabaerman AMD Motherboards & CPUs 9 19th June, 2007 04:34 AM
Single core to dual core upgrade problem. Daston AMD Motherboards & CPUs 11 19th September, 2006 12:18 AM
Help Temps insane on dual core with NDA3J Zebo EPoX MotherBoards 9 8th November, 2005 05:22 PM
dual core or dual xeon? acgraham Intel Motherboards & CPUs 4 16th September, 2005 12:37 PM
Overclocking noob..questions regarding core temps Anurevolution Intel Motherboards & CPUs 2 13th July, 2005 11:18 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:51 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0