AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2008, 04:09 AM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,271
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

main rig

whats everyones main computer for doing what they do most on. i just noticed that not every one has there computer specs in there sig.
include cooling, max oc, mods, ect.
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w

Last edited by bonesaw; 29th September, 2008 at 04:13 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2008, 04:24 AM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

Quote:
Originally Posted by bonesaw View Post
whats everyones main computer for doing what they do most on. i just noticed that not every one has there computer specs in there sig.
include cooling, max oc, mods, ect.
Right now my main rig is down. Board died and is RMA'd. Am running a back up Athlon 750, not in my sig! No Sir! DFI board arrives Monday if Muff1ns UPS curse doesn't attach it self!
P.S.
Do me a favor. Occupy Muff1n on some pretence of OC'ing a vid card or something so his curse doesn't catch!
Edit:
I have missed folding, will be nice to crank it up agian.
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD



Last edited by PorPorMe; 29th September, 2008 at 04:27 AM. Reason: Folding
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2008, 12:21 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Arrow

LOL...
Nah, the curse ended on Sunday, so you'll get it today!
That's when I got mine too.
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2008, 01:40 PM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

Rig 1: Everday use, Loz plays The Sims 2 on it
Rig 2: Daily work horse for the business.
Rig 3: Loz's laptop for universitity
Rig 4: Media centre
Rig 5: Exchange server, active directory, print/file services, backup server
Rig 6: Terminal services

Thats about it. I have a test rig as well which is an Athlon XP 2200+ w/ 1gb RAM which I use to plug HDD's into and scan for viruses, back up data, etc etc. Its not on the network. I do what I have to, then reload an Acronis image off a disk.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2008, 06:45 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Down to a single box. P5Q with a 4 core and 4 gigs of ram. Used to help keep the site fresh and active and to play the occasional game.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2008, 07:55 PM
kellamne's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 624

Nothing new here .... hopefully stay like this until 2009.

My setup:-
1: Fusion Media Case - Main Sys/Music when working mainly at moment.
Re-imaged XP on weekend - so not much on it at moment

2: Tosh Sat laptop - being sold to a brother as not used (I hope).
(2a. Not technically mine - Works Dell Laptop - reason to sell No.2)

3. Eee 701/XPliteSP2/1GB(4GBSSD/8GBSD) - Daily/Site work and travelling.
---------
Family rigs - (hastle .... maybe ) ....
4. A7N8X/3200 Barton/700MB/XP/4200Ti - Parents daily (my old sys: 2001~?)
5. Foxconn MB/AM2 3000/1GB/XP - Older sisters family - daily browsing
6. AM2/XPSP3 - Youngest brothers system - parent next sys.
7. Compaq - laptop. Brothers system - knackered - another reason to sell mine.
---------
__________________
* Antec Fusion - ALiveNF6G-VSTA - X2/4000 - 2GB - 7800GT - XP
* Asus Eee 4G Surf - 1Gb
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2008, 08:12 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by bonesaw View Post
whats everyones main computer for doing what they do most on. i just noticed that not every one has there computer specs in there sig.
include cooling, max oc, mods, ect.
1. New System
Sig says it all! Used mainly for Communication with the outside world (Includes research & online ordering), Gaming, Music, Movies in that order.

2. Old 2001 backup system used when & if this system stops working.
Gateway 500X P4 2.4 @ 2.66GHz (CPUFSB), Intel 845GRG, 2x500Mbs DDR PC2700, Radeon 9550 AGP, 15" LCD, WD 80GB, 40GB Maxtor.
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 29th September, 2008 at 08:16 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2008, 08:34 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

One up in a new box. Mostly folding, gaming, music and some video.

Another 754 3000+ DFI lanparty rig is going in the clear UFO case to fold and be a file server.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2008, 11:43 PM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,271
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

does anyone have watercooling? and i was thinking about getting a quad but i have the ar version of my board thats not supposed to be good with quads.
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 30th September, 2008, 12:00 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Yep.

I have my CPU and both my video cards water cooled.

See here...

GPU2 client for nVidia cards
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 30th September, 2008, 12:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Main rig is in sig. Pretty much use it for everything, gaming, taking care of my business, managing a portfolio, music and video encoding. Running simulations of racing cylinder heads. It sees quite a bit of action from every angle..

Other rigs would include an AMD X2 based rig that runs my shop during the day and transfers the days workload to my home server (Q6600 on an Asus P5K WS with 16GB memory) so I can finish it up at night.

@Bonesaw The AR does alright as long as you stick with 9X (or possibly higher) multiplier quads. The Q6600 should be pretty easy to take to 400FSB on your board.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 30th September, 2008, 04:39 AM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

I used to have my spec in my signature but with so many links to mods I couldn't fit all the text within the limit. So I had to scratch it.

1. main rig (Dungeon Case) - Gaming, CAD, Photoshop, Websites, Flash, Extra data (game mods, pictures, video, music)
2. Internet rig - Mostly internet and games for lan parties
3. gaming rig (Frozen Case) - older hardware but still plays most games
4. gaming rig (Cross Case) - older hardare too and runs in lan parties
5. gaming rig - my new budget system just for lan parties
6. dedicated server - simple BTX machine for running game servers, you guessed it... lan parties
7. Future Server - been wating over a year to purchase SATA drives for a RAID configuration... otherwise its ready to be my full fledged server.
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 30th September, 2008, 05:47 AM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,271
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

samuknow can you get any higher on that e6400 under water than 3.3?
ccperf721p so i'll be fine with a q6600 or q6700 and why is that? it would be cool to one day get water cooling.

and my other computers are a 5600+ with two gigs in some asus btx motherboard and a 2200+ with a 1 gig and a 6600gt, i got back from a friend from my first build.
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w

Last edited by bonesaw; 30th September, 2008 at 05:50 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 30th September, 2008, 11:13 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Yes, I have had it to 3.4 and change. Never really pushed more than that. Maybe I should stretch her legs. It will do 3.3 on 1.2 volts. I am sure there is plenty left. I just hate temps over 45C.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}

Last edited by Samuknow; 30th September, 2008 at 11:13 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 30th September, 2008, 12:12 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Defining main rig is an interesting question - my systems are a bit inter-related!

1. IBM T30 with a faulty memory slot is probably the machine that I use as a computer most often.
2. Athlon 64 @?? GHz with 1GB RAM - MythTV box
2. VIA Nehemiah 1GHz with 256MB RAM - Firewall/mail server
3. PowerPC MPC8241 266MHz with 64MB RAM - NAS server
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 30th September, 2008, 04:53 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

only 4 machines Aedan? I'm Shocked!
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 30th September, 2008, 06:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Quote:
Originally Posted by bonesaw View Post
ccperf721p so i'll be fine with a q6600 or q6700 and why is that? it would be cool to one day get water cooling.
Almost every board from the 975X up will run a quad, but they will be FSB limited by the Northbridge when overclocking. Using the higher multiplier Q6600 or Q6700 lessens the load on the Northbridge so decent clocks can still be achieved.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 9th October, 2008, 08:30 AM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,271
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

i've gotten in the 425 range with my current board. a quad at 3.4 is all i'd be after. this 8x i got now is making 3.4 difficult on my e6400.
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 9th October, 2008, 11:19 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

That 680i should have FSB to spare. 3.4 on the 6400 is reachable, just not easily.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 9th October, 2008, 12:43 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

Quote:
Originally Posted by PorPorMe View Post
Right now my main rig is down. Board died and is RMA'd. Am running a back up Athlon 750, not in my sig! No Sir! DFI board arrives Monday if Muff1ns UPS curse doesn't attach it self!
P.S.
Do me a favor. Occupy Muff1n on some pretence of OC'ing a vid card or something so his curse doesn't catch!
Edit:
I have missed folding, will be nice to crank it up agian.
DFI board arrived! I thought the mis-direction had worked and the curse had been defeated! Yea, that's what I get for thinking.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MUff1N View Post
LOL...
Nah, the curse ended on Sunday, so you'll get it today!
That's when I got mine too.
Just lulling me into a false sence of security, I know how it goes. The DFI board arrive on time and I figured the curse was avoided! It just ghanged tactics. It arrived DOA!
The EGG just had to use UPS. My Asus P5Q arrives Monday, but of course you know that, don't cha'?
just what does the curse want? Chicken blood? I'll head out right now! Frog sacrifice? There arn't any in Spokane but I'll order some from Alabama! Un-mentionable sex acts? I'll order more frogs! BIG ones!
I just need to know what the curse wants to leave this one alone.

Bonesaw, I almost forgot. Now I can put up my rig for you. It's in my signiture, as you can see.
I don't do any gameing. Mine is mostly used for my entertainment, in all of it's variables. What is not in the sig is the two speaker systems I have. Microfts Digital Sound System 80 for the DVD movies and Concerts on the TV. And logitech X540 5.1 Suround sound System for music that's on the computer. Then there is AOA, OC'ing, folding, learning, etc.
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD or Intel in your main rig alexkerhead General Hardware Discussion 25 21st October, 2005 10:20 PM
Sorry for the dodgy photo's, but this is my main rig Rondog Case Modifications 12 8th April, 2005 05:40 AM
Main rig down Allan ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 10 10th September, 2004 11:07 PM
:-( I lost my main job......... :-( The Spyder Random Nonsense! 17 15th February, 2002 04:24 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:45 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0