AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2008, 02:02 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Green LCD flashes red in sets of three?

After spending two hours updating my AV and Anti-spyware progs and scanning the HDD of my Dell Inspiron B130 laptop, all the while plugged in to mains power, things got weird. Soon after reaching 100% charged up, the green LCD that normally blinks red when the battery gets quite low started blinking red three times, turning green for one flash, and then three blinks of red, to green once, etc. The machine sat unused for four months. Unplugging the mains power made it stop acting strange, but connecting it to power made it continue with its confusing unsettling red flashes.

Anyone have a clue? Much thanks!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2008, 04:03 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Take the battery out and try to power it up.
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2008, 11:04 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Like Robbie says, try removing the battery and then re-inserting it.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 9th October, 2008, 07:31 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

With the battery removed, plugging in to mains power runs the machine fine, with no weird red and green flashes from the aforementioned LCD. The red and green fiesta is displayed when running on the battery only, or with the battery in place while plugged in to the wall socket. Further suggestions would be very nice, thanks!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 9th October, 2008, 08:46 PM
Strongwolf's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2006
Location: San Juan, Puerto Rico
Posts: 1,969

New battery, perhaps????
__________________
Live Long and Prosper

ASUS G73 SW, IE7, 20 GB DD3 ram


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 9th October, 2008, 09:01 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

~$135 from Dell, plus 1 to 2 weeks delivery. Should have known that it wouldn't be reasonable! Anyone know if I can get the battery elsewhere? I'm well out of warranty, fwiw.
Oh yeah, the normally green LCD flashes: one green, FOUR reds, then one green, four times red, one green, yada. Not three reds as formerly posted. Thanks for the answers, y'all! More suggestions would be great.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 9th October, 2008, 09:36 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

there are plenty of after market battery sellers on the net. i have used a few in the states. much more reasonable prices.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10th October, 2008, 06:37 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Thanks Sam. So brand x batteries are just as good as Dell's?
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10th October, 2008, 11:32 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Pretty much. I have never had an issue with them. HP or any other replacement I have done either.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 10th October, 2008, 11:47 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by cloasters View Post
Thanks Sam. So brand x batteries are just as good as Dell's?
Without knowing the exact model of the UPS, I can't tell you with certainty what battery pack you'll need. However, we have an outfit here called 'Battery Outfitters'. They specialize in selling batteries of all types: cars, motorcycles, lawnmowers, fork lifts, you name it. I'm sure you can find a similar outfit around your area. Take them the UPS, and they will be able to provide you with a battery pack that will fit.

Alternatively, if you can figure out how to get the battery pack out yourself, you can remove it and take them just the battery pack.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2008, 02:59 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Looks like the laptop will be sans battery for a while. It's always something, written for the seven hundredth time, LOL!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2008, 04:19 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by cloasters View Post
~$135 from Dell, plus 1 to 2 weeks delivery. Should have known that it wouldn't be reasonable! Anyone know if I can get the battery elsewhere? I'm well out of warranty, fwiw.
Oh yeah, the normally green LCD flashes: one green, FOUR reds, then one green, four times red, one green, yada. Not three reds as formerly posted. Thanks for the answers, y'all! More suggestions would be great.
Laptop batteries and parts for Dell, HP, Compaq, Toshiba, Sony, IBM, and Lenovo. Laptop battery, lcd screen and hard drive store. Talk with Creig, (ext 123) tell him Rob Rodgers sent you.

I found it on there site for $69.
Link.
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2008, 11:33 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Thank you, Rob! Bookmarked the site. I have to wait until Mr Eagle flies again--always something! BTW, is there anything wrong with running the laptop on mains power, without the battery in it? Prolly dumb Q, sorry.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2008, 11:55 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

NP George, I've know Creig for at least 10 years (if not longer) He can hook ya up and help ya out.

Not really. But there IS a problem if you NEVER run you laptop on the battery. Basically the battery DOES need some excersize every now and then.

Try this, power on your laptop with the battery in, and then pull the power cord. The laptop will probably die right away. Plug back in let me completely charge back up and do it again. After about 10 times (maybe more) the laptop might stay on for a second or two. Keep doing this till the laptop stays on for a long time.

I've done this on my old Compaq laptop and it worked great. Took me over the weekend to do it but it did work.

Now with yours... your battery might just be sooo far gone it won't work.
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2008, 08:13 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

The software "charge meter" says that the battery is at 100%. Confusing, at least for me. Thanks for your help!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2008, 11:32 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Yeah, but I don't know if that is based on current or voltage. ( probably voltage) It's the sustained current ya want though. ( as well as voltage)
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comcast Sets Data Cap at 250 GB Daniel ~ Random Nonsense! 11 3rd September, 2008 12:16 AM
iPod sets man on fire danrok Random Nonsense! 30 11th October, 2007 09:44 PM
DHS sets its cyber R&D goals robbie Data Security 1 7th June, 2007 09:41 AM
DRM sets Warner against Jobs! Daniel ~ Data Security 1 14th February, 2007 09:35 AM
How do I get both sets of IDE port working? thenetmaker General Hardware Discussion 0 24th July, 2003 11:50 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:06 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0