AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 2nd July, 2010, 07:41 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

So Long HDMI: New Standard for A/V Uses Ethernet Cables

New standard offers both lower costs, the potential to deliver more information and convenience

LG Electronics, Samsung Electronics, Sony Pictures Entertainment and Valens Semiconductor have been secretly conspiring to kill HDMI....

[Front page...]
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 4th July, 2010, 01:58 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Can we get a hallelujah, this is a GREAT idea!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 5th July, 2010, 12:53 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

So, now we end up having to have kit that's got:
  • HDMI
  • Ethernet
  • DisplayPort
  • Component
  • VGA
  • HDBaseT

Put it this way, HDMI is predicted to have 772.8 million units in 2012 - and each one is going to need a converter to covert it to HDBaseT.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 5th July, 2010, 07:47 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

It this better or just more profitable for the few who "serve" the many...?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 5th July, 2010, 08:48 PM
Kaitain's Avatar
Member
Mars Rover Champion, Joust Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: MK10, UK.
Posts: 4,372
Send a message via MSN to Kaitain Send a message via Skype™ to Kaitain

My TV already has an ethernet port. Through that ethernet port I can already fetch HD content from an appropriate media server and play it on screen using the TV's existing built-in firmware. That uses my existing wiring, router, software and so forth. With a small firmware update, I'd imagine it's possible for the same TV to support HDCP v2.0 so that Blu-Rays etc can play from any player via ethernet to the TV in all their DRM glory (assuming the Blu-Ray player was able to send it over).

Of course, this would make the clever display hardware in the player useless as the TV would have to decode and render it all...

Unless the plan is to stream raw A/V over the ethernet cable with the data superimposed? In which case my acme ethernet cables might be fine, but my expensive routers and switches aren't (as they wouldn't be able to route non-IP data)?

Bah, I'm starting to suspect that HDBaseT doesn't offer anything new but the chance to pay £$€ more for a TV that does... exactly the same thing as I've already got, or the opportunity to replace all my networking hardware for the chance to stream Blu-Rays to a different room.

Or have I got the wrong end of the stick?
__________________
It is by coffee alone I set my mind in motion...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 5th July, 2010, 09:21 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

As long as tech moves forward... Hallelujah'd too soon, ugh.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 6th July, 2010, 12:13 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

My understanding is that it's non-Ethernet connectivity that just happens to encapsulate a 100Mbit/sec connection that is expressed as Ethernet, given they're claiming they can transport 10.2Gbit/sec, scalable to 20Gbit/sec - when they write that spec. If you want to network it, you'll need HDBaseT equipment - you won't be able to use your existing network kit, so you'll have to replace that.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 6th July, 2010, 07:32 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

I liked HDMI for many reasons. This I'm somewhat less than enthusiastic about. I can picture some of my less intelligent family members pulling it out by the cord, with results far less forgiving than a HDMI plug.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 6th July, 2010, 08:01 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

I Think there is something to be said for having plugs that don't look like other plugs... HDMI is very easy to ID when first setting things up...or resetting up two years later when you've forgotten how you did it! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDMI-Compound cable? PorPorMe Digital Image, Photo, Video and Audio Editing. 4 30th July, 2009 01:49 PM
HDMI Audio!? Áedán Linux 20 2nd March, 2009 06:53 PM
LG intros wireless HDMI danrok General Hardware Discussion 1 9th January, 2009 07:37 PM
Xbox gets Halo HDMI theme. Daniel ~ GAMES! OH YEAH! 3 11th July, 2007 10:24 PM
MSI, NVIDIA HDMI Graphics Card Daniel ~ Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 0 9th August, 2006 08:39 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:26 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0