AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 30th December, 2010, 05:37 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Video Resolution issues

I recently added two GeForce 9800 GT's in my Dungeon Case.
I connected the SLI cable and installed the new drivers. Checked all the 3D settings and even set physics for CPU.
But, the problem I am having is that every time I start a game and it changes the resolution, my monitor refuses to change with it.
I am unable to narrow it down to one item but I am using a KVM switch. I have never had problems with it before, even when I had two GeForce 7900 GS's in this machine. But I'm thinking it is either the KVM switch, Vista, or the Drivers.

So far my only solution is to unplug the DVI cable and plug it back in. Then the game pops up just fine. Other times I have switched the KVM to the other side and back then do a quick Ctrl+Alt+Del and click the Task Manager. After that I'll Alt+Tab over to the game and it will resolute.

Strange huh?

Other issues have been games not appearing in fullscreen regardless of the desktop resolution or game resolution settings.

So if the game isn't exactly the same resolution as my desktop, I'll get black bars on the sides.

I may try connecting a DVI cable directly to the monitor bypassing the KVM switch, but what else could I try? Newer drivers?
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 1st January, 2011, 01:01 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

I'd be willing to bet its the KVM. How old is it?
BlackBerry8330m/4.5.0.186 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/104
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 1st January, 2011, 03:37 AM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Good question. I got it from Intel, so who knows. I would have to look it up.
I'm sure its about 5 years old, but I don't use it every day. Maybe once a week or so.
If its the KVM switch, why did it work fine with two 7900's?
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 1st January, 2011, 04:25 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Are you using a higher resolution with this setup?
BlackBerry8330m/4.5.0.186 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/104
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 1st January, 2011, 05:07 AM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

oh yeah, definitely high resolution for programs and games. I guess that I could test it by eliminating the KVM switch.
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 1st January, 2011, 06:31 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

The caps in it might be going out which I think might be your problems with th igher rez.

Try this, lower the rez and then try it.
BlackBerry8330m/4.5.0.186 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/104
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 1st January, 2011, 07:01 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

hmm, interesting point.... ok, I'll try a lower resolution
if the caps ARE dying then could I use the two DVI ports on the monitor and switch between computers with those?
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 1st January, 2011, 07:06 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

That should work. But I believe older KVM's were never really designed to handle really high rez.
BlackBerry8330m/4.5.0.186 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/104
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 1st January, 2011, 09:36 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

it can't be that old because it includes DVI ports.
I tried a few games minus the KVM switch and I still have the fullscreen problem, but I didn't have to unplug the DVI to see the game.
So this tells me something is up with Vista or the drivers.
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 1st January, 2011, 09:47 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

I'd figure you are using the lastest drivers.
BlackBerry8330m/4.5.0.186 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/104
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 1st January, 2011, 09:59 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

well, I am, but from October
I should check and see if there are newer drivers
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resolution dodgeyness Ultimate_death Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 4 2nd January, 2007 02:29 PM
when is it TOO much resolution z3speed4me Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 21 3rd August, 2006 12:46 PM
c/s stuck in low resolution? doctoromeo GAMES! OH YEAH! 4 26th June, 2003 10:32 PM
resolution.. metal_slug Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 4 25th May, 2003 06:58 PM
Everquest resolution issues Pinky GAMES! OH YEAH! 4 24th January, 2002 10:44 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:38 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0