AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2011, 05:26 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

AGP Card needs more power

hjason7812 donated a 7600gt superclocked AGP video card to my lan party machines.
Apparently it requires more Amps than a normal video card due to its overclocking.
I just can't seem to get it working. I even purchased a new 500 Watt Enermax Power Supply but it refuses to work.

Here is the problem... This AGP card has an old molex connector and most of the molex connectors do not supply 20-30 Amps, but the 6-pin PCI-Express connectors do! My Enermax Tomahawk has 2 PCI-E connectors for SLI but I have looked online for an adapter but couldn't find one...

So what can I do?
Modify the yellow & black wires to change a 6-pin PCI-E into a molex?
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2011, 05:40 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

I found a forum post on Nvidia.com about the power requirement:
Quote:
minimum of a 350W supply with a minimum of 20A on the +12v rail
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2011, 05:45 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Enermax Tomahawk:
ATX12V V2.2

output: +3.3V@24A, +5V@15A, +12V1@18A, +12V2@18A, -12V@0.3A, +5VSB@3.0A
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2011, 05:58 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

I just had an idea... what if I used a molex Y connector?
two molex connected to one... would that make a difference?
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2011, 08:32 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by booman View Post
I just had an idea... what if I used a molex Y connector?
two molex connected to one... would that make a difference?
Depends...
If the +12V1@18A, +12V2@18A, is split between a single source that is 18A or would be a multi of two sources. (18A+18A=36A)
Only way to know for sure would either be try it, or find the schematic for that power supply which is doubtful you could do
as companies in general don't publish that info.

My guess would be yes as molex Y connectors are usually included in the packaging of high powered graphics cards.
But what came with mine was 2 molex to PCI-E connector, so you'd have to make it yourself.
Make sure to solder it together & use shrink rap instead of quick connectors as it will carry the current
more efficiently.

Are you sure the card is good?
Wouldn't hjason7812 have the connector that he used for that card?
Seems to me if he upgraded from it, it would be to PCI-E & he wouldn't have further use of it.
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 24th January, 2011 at 08:53 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2011, 08:54 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Hmm, I can solder but have never made a power cable before. I think I already have a molex Y cable, just didn't think of using it.

When I originally plugged the card in, it would work for about a minute and then artifacts and last... nothing.

So I'm hoping it does work and just didn't get enough power.
Would a card work at all if the molex was NOT plugged in?
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 25th January, 2011, 09:45 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Sometimes yes, sometimes it will whine that its not connected.
BlackBerry8330m/4.5.0.186 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/104
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2011, 02:52 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Arrow

Hey Boo, I did a bit of research on this card & it looks like all you need is to make the Y connector to have it up & running if it's good.

This is the contents that comes with a new 7600GT AGP card.

* EVGA GeForce 7600 GT Superclocked 512MB AGP Video Card
* User Guide
* Drivers CD
* HDTV Cable
* S-Video Cable
* Y-Cable Power Connector
* DVI to VGA Adapter
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2011, 03:55 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

I saw that too. I actually have 2 Y connectors but they go the wrong way.
I need 2 Female to 1 Male connector.
Can I swap these around?
I bet I can... Just need to take the wires out of the molex and swap the males with females and the female with one male
Is there any danger doing this?
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2011, 06:27 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

The electrons get persnickety if you make them go the wrong direction down the wires. They also get difficult about going around sharp bends in the wires, as well as being up tight about the wire coloring. My recommendation is to keep your wire as straight as possible, always running from left to right, and use red wire. (I actually had a mechanic tell me something not to different from that once)

Seriously though, the only issue you'll have with swapping the wires around is just making sure you don't cross them, and getting the pins out can sometimes be a little tricky.

Last edited by Gizmo; 26th January, 2011 at 06:28 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2011, 07:08 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Should be easy, all I have to do is match one molex to the other with the wires in the same location.
I figure the worst that can happen is I fry the video card.
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2011, 08:13 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by booman View Post
Should be easy, all I have to do is match one molex to the other with the wires in the same location.
I figure the worst that can happen is I fry the video card.
Actually the worst would be frying the vidcard & your PSU at the same time!
It could happen if you put say the ground to Red...
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2011, 08:35 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Ok, well, I'll use an older power supply just in case and I'll double check all the connections. If I keep the wires in the same order left to right: red, black, black, yellow
it should work
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2011, 08:40 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

I do have one question:
I noticed when you plug in a female & male molex connectors, the red & yellow are reversed, so when I switch the connectors on my Y-cable, I should reverse them?

I will be plugging a male molex connector into the video card and I need to get the red & yellow correct
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 27th January, 2011, 01:53 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by booman View Post
I do have one question:
I noticed when you plug in a female & male molex connectors, the red & yellow are reversed, so when I switch the connectors on my Y-cable, I should reverse them?

I will be plugging a male molex connector into the video card and I need to get the red & yellow correct
I thought I'd help you out by showing you the picture of the Y power connector.
This way you'll know exactly how it's supposed to look on the wire assignments after you get it put together OK.

BUT, from what I've read this power connector is used to Split a molex power connector, not combine 2 together
as you can see by looking at the picture below! (1 female to 2 male molex connectors)
This was used so that you can use it for both a perpetual & graphics card together off of 1 molex.
Every single picture I've looked at for the Y connector is this way too for the 7600GT.

So that card should work if you just plug a single molex connector directly to it providing it has the power needed which apparently it
doesn't...

Unfortunately I got a hunch that card is just toast though & why it did what it did when you tested it boo...
Attached Thumbnails
AGP Card needs more power-geforce-7600gt-y-power-connector.jpg  
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 27th January, 2011 at 02:09 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 27th January, 2011, 07:45 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Yup, that is the Y-cable I have. Actually I have two of them.
That is what I don't get, all of my video cards that have molex connectors work just fine with one.
But apparently this one requires more Amperage because its "Superclocked", but if the Y-cable that comes with the card looks just like that one, then its doesn't make sense.
I think it probably gave-up-the-ghost too....
Sadly because I really wanted to use this card for games.
So should I even both with the Y-cable mod?
Would it really even make a difference?
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 29th January, 2011, 02:39 AM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

If the card is toast its toast, but if it works you're set to go. I'd say give it a whirl!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 30th January, 2011, 04:03 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

It turns out the actual wires have male/female connections too. Not just the plastic molex parts. So I can't just "swap" them out, I have to re-solder them.
So its on hold for now, until I can get a molex repair set....
I know that I could probably cut wires and solder those, but it is really worth the risk for a card that may not work in the end anyways?
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 28th February, 2011, 06:17 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

The card is currently sitting on a shelf in an anti-static bag. I gave up and put the Radeon 9800 pro back in. Sucks because I really wanted to see what that card could do
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cooler Master Real Power Pro 550W Power Supply Gizmo General Hardware Discussion 0 9th July, 2008 03:34 AM
ATI/Nvidia multi-video processing!!!!1 AGP card-1 PCI-e card (ATI ONLY) cadaveca Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 2 20th May, 2005 03:15 PM
power drop vs power outage? (also need new router) barneygumble742 General Hardware Discussion 10 13th June, 2004 04:55 PM
Poor man's solution - Adding power to your Power Supply! stigweed AOA FAQ 0 24th November, 2002 09:17 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:38 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0