AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 28th April, 2011, 03:48 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Question Bad G.SKILL-F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK RAM?

Hey guys, when I upgraded my system I replace my 4x1Gb modules of Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X2048-6400C4 Ram with a G.SKILL-F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK set.

Every performance test I ran looked low to me for the speeds & timings they were running, so I did a test & swapped out the G.Skill with my old Corsair Ram with the exact same timings & speed & tested again.

Much to my amazement the Corsair scores soared over the G.Skill BIG-TIME with the exact same settings!!!
So this makes me think there's something wrong with the set I got.
What's weird though is when I run diagnostics on them they report back fine with no errors of any kind.

Here's the pics of Everest Cache-Memory Benchmark running the G.Skill & the Corsair.
Tell me what you think about this & get back to me as to why this is...weird that my Corsair DDR2-6400 wipes out the G.Skill DDR2-1066...
Is this normal performance for G.Skill 1066 Ram???
I don't thinks so...

Anyways, until I can get a replacement set (2x2Gbs instead of 4x1Gbs modules) I'm going to keep running my old Ram for the performance.
Seems stupid to have the rest of the system in high gear & the Ram in 1rst gear!

G.SKILL-F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK- Left Picture Benchmark results.

Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X2048-6400C4- Right Picture Benchmark results.
Attached Thumbnails
Bad G.SKILL-F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK RAM?-everest-cache-memory-benchmark-4.0ghz-8x501 RAM-1002MHz [G.SKILL-F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK].jpg
Views:	190
Size:	196.8 KB
ID:	25569   Bad G.SKILL-F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK RAM?-everest-cache-memory-benchmark-4.0ghz-8x501 RAM-1002MHz [Corsair XMS2-6400C4] (2x1Gbs).jpg
Views:	191
Size:	193.0 KB
ID:	25570  
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 28th April, 2011 at 03:53 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 28th April, 2011, 06:08 PM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,241

Muff1N;

You should be able to get that RAM to run faster, but I believe that using 4x1G sticks is a big mistake. Most of these current mainboards are notoriously difficult to run highly overclocked with all slots populated.

When you get the 2x2G sticks, try playing with the dividers. I have the exact same P5Q Pro Turbo board and 1066 Kingston Hyper-X. On the 333 strap, FSB is 475X8=3.8G with memory running at DDR2-1521, 5-5-5-13 (5:8 divider).

The machine doesn't run Windows, so I can't do the same benchmarks you can, but I can assure you it is 100% stable at full load 24/7 on a Q6600 Quad (a 1.2G overclock), which is significantly more challenging to get to than on a Core Duo. So it can be done, but I'm sure you'll be better off with two sticks.

I can only guess that the Corsair stuff has a lower latency than the G.Skill stuff, and that is why it performs better. It isn't DDR2-6400, BTW. It's PC-6400, which translates to DDR2-800 vs. the G.Skill at DDR2-1066, but I've been able to run Corsair XMS DDR2-800 at 1066 easily in the past.

You could be right, though, maybe there is a bad stick in there. Did you try only two sticks of the G.Skill ram just for giggles? It might tell you something.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 28th April, 2011 at 06:55 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 28th April, 2011, 09:17 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThunderRd View Post
Muff1N;
Did you try only two sticks of the G.Skill ram just for giggles? It might tell you something.
That is the test result you are looking at...2x2Gb modules of G.Skill PC-1066.
Btw, the G.Skill modules won't OC at all past 1066 no matter how much voltage you give them!

I can also run the Corsair to about 1100MHz but I have to use 2.20v & only use the match set that uses the Micron D9 chips.
The test with the Corsair is with 2Gbs (1x1Gbs-matched pair & D9 chips) at 1000MHz with the same exact timing as the G.Skill.
The other set I got has who know what in them as they don't OC very well at all & can't even do 1000 @ 5-5-5-15 CR2 like the ones in the test comparison.

Sandra reports that the G.Skill is running at only 32% efficiency at 1066!
Whereas the Corsair at 800MHz has just about the same scores at 5-5-5-15 timings with 200MHz less speed, so somethings not right.

I left a message on the G.Skill support site to see if these scores are average for the set I got, but I don't see how.

Anyways I'm able to run all 4 sticks of the Corsair modules at 980MHz which still out scores the G.Skill 1066MHz...
Attached Thumbnails
Bad G.SKILL-F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK RAM?-everest-cache-memory-benchmark-3.9ghz-8x490 RAM-980MHz [Corsair XMS2-6400C4] (4x1Gbs).jpg
Views:	186
Size:	196.6 KB
ID:	25571  
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 28th April, 2011 at 09:26 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 29th April, 2011, 05:05 AM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,241

I have found that the key setting for memory on this board is getting the right strap, not more voltage. Certain memory speeds at 400, for instance, would not even boot on my board, while others ran fine. I had to do a lot of experimentation with the straps and speeds before I found the one my memory liked, and when I finally found the right one, things fell into place. And I used only a slight voltage bump to do it.

Now, I can't guarantee that you have the same situation, but before giving up try the 266, 333, and 400 straps at all speeds (this means you will try all the different dividers. On ASUS boards I've been most successful with the 333 strap, but others say differently.) I'm assuming that you know how to calculate the dividers. That's very helpful as well, because some dividers are offered on more than one strap, so you can compare how the machine overclocks using the same divider and different straps. Knowing the divider values takes out a lot of the guesswork, and lets you approach the overclocking in an organized way. Unfortunately, ASUS doesn't provide the actual divider values in the BIOS, so you have to work them out.

Just in case you're not familiar with how to calculate them, you could calculate my divider/speed setting like this:

475FSB x 2(DDR) x 8/5 = 1520 (5FSB:8MEM divider)

With a 3:4 divider it would be like this:

475 x 2 x 4/3 = 1267
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 29th April, 2011 at 05:07 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 30th April, 2011, 05:33 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Thumbs up Testing Results-Good!

I found something better & easier as well TR...which was combining the Corsair with the G.Skill at the same time.
After I tested & found out that the Corsair (the ones with the D9 chips) would run at 1000MHz @ 5-5-5-15 with 2.10v I just
added in the G.Skill too to see what would happen.

Somehow because of the Corsair's SPD, the mobo reads increased the throughput a ton on the G.Skill just having the Corsair installed!
So now I got 6 Gigs installed running all the same together with 2.10v which is what they're designed to do with much better
memory throughput!

Check out the results with the 6Gbs installed!
Attached Thumbnails
Bad G.SKILL-F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK RAM?-g.skill-f2-8500cl5d-4gbpk-corsair-xms2 Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X2048-6400C4 [Both installed Throughput score].jpg
Views:	224
Size:	199.1 KB
ID:	25572  
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 1st May, 2011 at 06:26 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 2nd May, 2011, 07:23 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

CL, tRCD, tRP and tRAS are significant, but don't forget about all of the other timings associated with memory. They are also set by the board based on information from the dimm.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) only $69.99 danrok Online Deals, and Steals 0 27th November, 2009 10:48 AM
G.SKILL RAM - Anyone? mz_ General Hardware Discussion 2 8th January, 2007 12:31 PM
9nda3j and g.skill? jackhammer62 EPoX MotherBoards 3 22nd November, 2006 06:49 PM
9nda3j and g.skill? jackhammer62 EPoX MotherBoards 0 21st November, 2006 08:30 PM
9NPA+sli - OCZ or G.Skill? golfnut22 EPoX MotherBoards 2 31st August, 2006 07:48 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:08 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0