AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 2nd May, 2002, 10:44 AM
Iceman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to Iceman

What cpu have i got?

How do i work out what cpu i have. I think ive got a Duron but i read somewhere i had an Athlon. how do i work it out?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 2nd May, 2002, 11:03 AM
Kaitain's Avatar
Member
Mars Rover Champion, Joust Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: MK10, UK.
Posts: 4,372
Send a message via MSN to Kaitain Send a message via Skype™ to Kaitain

Welcome to AOA, Iceman

Usually the chip will tell you at bootup - a screen comes up with "AMD Duron 933MHz" or "AMD Athlon 1000MHz" for examples.

Alternatively, use a program like WCPUID (found on AOAFiles) or SiSoft Sandra - both can tell you exactly what's in your machine

Finally, you could always open up the computer and have a look at the chip: the serial number starts with a D if it's a Duron, or an A if it's an Athlon.
__________________
It is by coffee alone I set my mind in motion...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 2nd May, 2002, 03:04 PM
Southern Man's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Falling to Earth
Posts: 4,736

I listed a link in your other thread for a program that will give you a full rundown on your system.
__________________
Then, as it was, then again it will be
Though the course may change,
rivers will always reach the sea.
----------------------------------------------

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 5th May, 2002, 05:08 AM
krazyman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: GMT +8.00
Posts: 2

Download this program wcpu30f from here .
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 21st May, 2002, 12:52 PM
majestic's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: England kent
Posts: 152
Send a message via Yahoo to majestic

or use the belarc advisor

Majestic
__________________


:.majestic.:
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 23rd May, 2002, 12:25 PM
reddeathdrinker's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Forres
Posts: 307
Send a message via ICQ to reddeathdrinker Send a message via AIM to reddeathdrinker Send a message via Yahoo to reddeathdrinker

Use a proggie like WCPUID or SiSoft Sandra to identify your CPU - or come up to Wolverhampton, and I'll take a look at it for you.......
__________________
Microsoft doesn't care where you want to go to today, you'll go where Microsoft tells you to.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:57 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0