AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 13th May, 2002, 07:21 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Thumbs up SCSI Bus sharing

I'm having to rebuild my GF's computer, but needed to take a backup first, just to ensure that everything was saved, from the ground up.

In my main rig, I've got a tape drive (Onstream SC50), along with other SCSI stuff. I've got backup software for my rig, so I threw her machine on the network, and started the backup...

5 mins later, I gave up... I'd forgotten that she's only got a 10Meg card, and porting across Mb of data using Windows networking just wasn't going to cut it. I've seen paint dry quicker.

She's got the pleasure of having an Iomega Buz (Video Capture card) in her machine, so she's got a SCSI adaptor (Buz comes with one), even if she doesn't have any SCSI devices... This is easy I figure, I'll pull the tape drive out, and whip it across.

Err.. Except that I have no spare internal 50pin SCSI cables (got 4-5 68pin wide SCSI cables though!). "Well, hey" I think, "just pull the 50 pin cable out of my machine, right?". Well, wrong actually. The cable in my machine is long, but is wrapped around enough parts that it's a major pain in the backside to remove and replace.

Figured I'd find some way of getting her machine close enough to mine so I could just unplug the SCSI cable from mine, and into hers. Simple task huh? Oh no! Murphy strikes again. The SCSI cable just isn't long enough to reach. Does this mean I'm doomed to failure? (Or at least a very long time without two computers!)

Then I had a brainwave (almost)

SCSI's an intelligent protocol, right? It's a proper bus, that can handle multiple master devices, right? Sure is! That's one of the reasons it's so much more expensive.

Her machine has SCSI - My machine has SCSI. She's got an external 50pin high density D connector. Ahh. I've got two VHDCI connectors. I've got a 50pin to 50pin HD cable though... and Tekram were kind enough to include a 50pin internal to 50pin external adaptor with the card.

My card is SCSI ID 7. The devices on this bus are SCSI IDs 6,5,4 and 3. Her card is at it's default 7, which will cause a conflict. I set her SCSI card to be SCSI ID 2, that solves the conflict!

I then remove the terminator from the end of my bus, and connect her SCSI card to the far end of my SCSI bus. Crossed fingers, and power both machines on.

My machine goes through it's normal SCSI checklist. Her machine goes through and discovers it's got a bunch of SCSI devices.

My machine boots. Her machine boots. Her machine sees everything on the SCSI bus at the same time my machine sees everything on the SCSI bus.

Her machine can access the peripherals that my machine can. They even sort it out between them as to who is accessing the bus (Part of the SCSI spec!)

Basically, her machine is currently using the tape drive on my SCSI bus at the same time I'm using my SCSI bus. (Ok, I'm not using the tape drive, just in case.)

Sorted or what? Didn't even need to take her computer apart!

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 13th May, 2002, 09:46 PM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

wow
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 14th May, 2002, 03:38 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Sure you right!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 14th May, 2002, 04:05 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

Wow......... are you worried about anything shorting?\
SPyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 14th May, 2002, 12:02 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally posted by Spyder462
Wow......... are you worried about anything shorting?
Why would anything short? SCSI's designed to handle multiple masters, so either machine can tell if something else is using the bus, and wait their turn.

I've just never done it in practice, and certainly didn't expect it to be that easy!

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Conflicts/Sharing Nihilist General Hardware Discussion 1 26th December, 2005 06:08 PM
8KDA3J - unexpected IRQ sharing montigo EPoX MotherBoards 0 6th August, 2005 01:45 AM
NV RAID and file sharing - no go???? burton EPoX MotherBoards 12 8th November, 2004 08:18 AM
IRQ sharing? F2kSel EPoX MotherBoards 6 8th March, 2004 01:29 AM
IRQ Sharing... cynics EPoX MotherBoards 1 3rd January, 2003 01:57 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:17 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0