AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 1st June, 2002, 06:10 AM
Thundr7's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New York The Empire State
Posts: 165
Send a message via AIM to Thundr7 Send a message via Yahoo to Thundr7

Question Antec psu shutting down

Hey guyz i'm new here but i have a problem maybe one of you can help
i've got this Antec 300w psu brand new which i installed but it keeps shutting down. it's temperature controlled so i did a little modding by cutting that grill off that back of the psu case. That did'nt help any. I unplug it, wait about an hour then when i plug it in the pc fires up with no problem. after about and hour or so it shuts off again. My fans still run but there's no hd activity and no screen.
same problem when i used to leave the pc on overnite, i came back in the morning only to see the pc shut down but my fans are still running. I hit the reset button, no dice, i hold the power button in to see if the pc itself would shut down, nothing. Just the fans goin. This is very depressing cuz now i have to use a 250w psu and i can't run my fans cuz i'm worried i might put a strain on the small psu and my rig will shut down Here are my specs:

Esc K7S5A mobo
Duron 1Ghz (stock)
Volcano 7
GF2 Mx200
S.B. Live 5.1
Kingston pc133 256mb
WD 30g hd 7200
IBM 10g hd 5400
intel pro 100b nic
win xp pro
I can't return the psu cause i modded it so the warranty is out the window. I have 5 case fans and i thought that was causing the shut down, i unplugged all the fans, still the same problem.
Plz can anybody help?
Any help would be greatly appreciated !
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 1st June, 2002, 06:18 AM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

What ambient temp are you running? Do you have a case temp monitor on your board? It sounds like the temp probe for the PSU is set too low. Since you have already modded it, check out if you can adjust it higher. If not, perhaps you can wire around it completely although that will negate temp shutdown.

HTH
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 1st June, 2002, 06:34 AM
Thundr7's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New York The Empire State
Posts: 165
Send a message via AIM to Thundr7 Send a message via Yahoo to Thundr7

ok my room temps are about 60-70f
my case temps are 27c-29c
my cpu is 37c idle 42c full throttle
i've got a 92mm right side panel intake
80mm blowhole
80mm bottom front intake
80mm rear
80mm left panel intake

i also have a hd cooler and my vid card also has a fan
vid card temp:45.7c
I dunno how to adjust that temp prob in the psu or where to look. someone mentioned the psu might need some 5v rail adjustment which i have no idea what that is or how to adjust it either
__________________

Last edited by Thundr7; 1st June, 2002 at 06:37 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 1st June, 2002, 07:27 AM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Have you tried disconnecting all the fans? I know you disconnected the case fans, but how about the HDD and Vid's as well. The next thing would be to remove any cards from the mobo you don't have to have, network, SCSI, sound and see if that removes the problem Did you have the problem after installing the PSU?
Uncle Bob edited LOL
Sorry bout that gibberish! WTF was that anyway?
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!

Last edited by Uncle Bob; 1st June, 2002 at 09:45 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 1st June, 2002, 08:50 AM
Thundr7's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New York The Empire State
Posts: 165
Send a message via AIM to Thundr7 Send a message via Yahoo to Thundr7

Quote:
Originally posted by Uncle Bob
Have you tried disconnecting all the fans? I know you disconnected the case fans, but how about the HDD and Vid's as well>Well that sounds good for starters right? I mean the ATM might fogure I need extra cash just by looking at me, right? <a href="http://www.atomicmpc.com.au/news.asp?nid=638" target="_blank">That's not what the story is about tho!</a>? THe next thing would be to remove any cards from the mobo you don't have to have, network, SCSI, sound and see if that removes the problem Did you have the problem after installing the PSU?
Yeah it started after i installed the new psu. I had the 250w but my case temps were high so i bought the 300w to add a few more case fans to see if my temps would drop and they did.
I uninstalled all the cards xcept the vid card and i unistalled ALL the fans xcept the cpu fan same dang problem. Now i'm back to using the 250w without the additional cooling fans and i took the panels off.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 1st June, 2002, 09:47 AM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

I'm not sure which jumpers there are but I do knoe that if you jump two wires on the motherboard connector you can power up the PSU and test it. Perhaps someone else will se this and help you further. It sure seems like the heat sensor is toasted to me. You may be SOL since you modded it.
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 1st June, 2002, 02:59 PM
Thundr7's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New York The Empire State
Posts: 165
Send a message via AIM to Thundr7 Send a message via Yahoo to Thundr7

Yeah the wires are green and black on the mobo connector.
I just wanna figure out why the psu shuts off like that.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 1st June, 2002, 07:25 PM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

You got the PSU out of your rig? Short it out and run it and see if it shuts down.
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 2nd June, 2002, 03:58 AM
kat's Avatar
kat kat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: belding MI
Posts: 2,166

sounds like a good 250 and a cheap 300...

take a look at sparkle
__________________
AOA Team fah

fer 47 years ive been seeking a balance in life
and I’ve been from one end to the other
i may be getting close
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 2nd June, 2002, 04:47 AM
Thundr7's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New York The Empire State
Posts: 165
Send a message via AIM to Thundr7 Send a message via Yahoo to Thundr7

Quote:
Originally posted by Uncle Bob
You got the PSU out of your rig? Short it out and run it and see if it shuts down.
ok shorted it out and it runs, i see the fan spinning and i also added 2 more fans they also run, what's next?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 2nd June, 2002, 04:49 AM
Thundr7's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New York The Empire State
Posts: 165
Send a message via AIM to Thundr7 Send a message via Yahoo to Thundr7

Quote:
Originally posted by kat
sounds like a good 250 and a cheap 300...

take a look at sparkle
Never heard of sparkle and i was using a 250 but i did'nt run all my fans on it. thought the little guy would conk out on me so i did'nt take the chance and put a drain on it
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 2nd June, 2002, 05:05 AM
kat's Avatar
kat kat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: belding MI
Posts: 2,166

do a google search

and then go out and buy one of these bad boyz... over clockers choice

i now own five 300-400

check my stats folding@home

3 solid machines and a forth added (last week)

edit ..all highly oc'ed
__________________
AOA Team fah

fer 47 years ive been seeking a balance in life
and I’ve been from one end to the other
i may be getting close

Last edited by kat; 2nd June, 2002 at 05:11 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 2nd June, 2002, 10:47 AM
Thundr7's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New York The Empire State
Posts: 165
Send a message via AIM to Thundr7 Send a message via Yahoo to Thundr7

hmmm, i'll look into it thanx I wish i could find a solution fot this 300w ps. it's gettin to the point that i'm gonna get my 5lb sledgehammer and beat it into a paperweight.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 2nd June, 2002, 11:58 AM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Quote:
Originally posted by Thundr7

ok shorted it out and it runs, i see the fan spinning and i also added 2 more fans they also run, what's next?
I really ain't too sure, how about plugging it into a mobo if you have another one around. I'd try plugging it in a system that wasn't in a case, bench test it so to speak. If still no luck after that, I'll be over to take care of it for you myself!! Of course, you will never be able to RMA it after I'm done tho.
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 2nd June, 2002, 12:41 PM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

The onlything that can be done is making a paperweigt- since it has been modifyed- and it sounds like it was bad to start with-
Spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 2nd June, 2002, 01:57 PM
kat's Avatar
kat kat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: belding MI
Posts: 2,166

yaaaa ...get the sledge hammer:devil:
__________________
AOA Team fah

fer 47 years ive been seeking a balance in life
and I’ve been from one end to the other
i may be getting close
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 3rd June, 2002, 12:00 AM
Thundr7's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New York The Empire State
Posts: 165
Send a message via AIM to Thundr7 Send a message via Yahoo to Thundr7

So there's really no hope huh?

Oh well, thanx anyway guyz

50$ paperweight commin up
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 3rd June, 2002, 06:28 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

save it and keep it for a smaller system- like a pII- i wish you could return it- fix the mods if you can and return it-
Spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 3rd June, 2002, 07:45 AM
Thundr7's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New York The Empire State
Posts: 165
Send a message via AIM to Thundr7 Send a message via Yahoo to Thundr7

Quote:
Originally posted by The Spyder
save it and keep it for a smaller system- like a pII- i wish you could return it- fix the mods if you can and return it-
Spyder
no can do about fixing the mods. i cut that grill off from the back where the fan is and i broke thru that warranty seal. There's gotta be a way to adjust the 5v rail somehow but i dunno how to do it.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 3rd June, 2002, 07:52 AM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Post the model and serial #'s so we can find the schematic. It may also be in the manual.
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows shutting down....or not. HydE General Hardware Discussion 18 18th December, 2005 01:51 AM
Error when shutting down, 8RDA3+ mrdak EPoX MotherBoards 20 20th August, 2004 10:32 PM
Shutting Down dabaerman ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 11 21st September, 2003 11:51 AM
8RDA+ Shutting Down when bumping up vcore chopper EPoX MotherBoards 9 25th May, 2003 07:16 PM
Antec PP-412X vs Antec PP-403X on the 8KHA+ 5150Joker EPoX MotherBoards 23 26th February, 2002 06:26 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:05 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0