AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 24th June, 2002, 06:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to Darkcobra

moving hdd from vertical to horizontal position, bad move?

ok, i have a lian-li pc-68 case, which holds my 2 hdd's vertically. i would like to move the drives to an Antec style case which holds them horizontally. will moving the position of these hard drives ruin the platter in the drives or damage any data in them. i was told that one is never to move a previously installed vertical hdd to a horizontal position b/c for some reason it is not good for the hdd. is there any truth to this? please help. i appreciate any help given! thanks in advance, guys!
__________________
athlon t-bird 1.4ghz-epox 8kha-TTake Volcano 7+ -Gainward 4200 128MB @260/520-ibm 60gxp 40GB+120gxp 40GB-crucial 512MB DDR cas 2-TDK 24/10/40-lian li PC-68-viewsonic GS790 19"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 24th June, 2002, 06:59 PM
Wa11y's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Right behind you.
Posts: 1,358

As long as they're not powered up, and you don't bang them around, there should be no problem. I've always had my drives horizontal, but have also seen them vertical with no problems.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2002, 11:28 AM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

I don't think it'll matter at all if they are horiz or vert.

I wouldn't think twice about making the switch.

Someone please correct me if I'm wrong, or if anyone have had problems with this issue.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2002, 02:03 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

One the bearing on the platter is bedded in in the horizontal position moving it to horizontal will alter the way its loaded significantly.

This may have been an issue with older hard drives, I every much doubt that with a modern drive this will cause problems. Although I wouldnt recomend moving the drive about frequently.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2002, 06:48 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

I'd recommend against doing it whilst the drives are still spinning.

I haven't seen an HDD in ages that says it can only be mounted horizontally or vertically. (Ages >7years)

If you really want to be careful, look up the datasheet for the drives, and check to see what they say about mounting position.

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2002, 09:48 PM
Member/OES
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Midlands, England A.K.A The Middle Of Nowhere
Posts: 140
Send a message via ICQ to [PCE]Psycho

I had an old GateWay PC which mounted the HD's vertically. They worked fine till the PSU failed

I think if you had a choice then horizontal would be best as the platers would be level but i seriously doubt it makes a differnce as there so light anyways
__________________



1)EPoX 8KHA+ | AMD T-Bird 1.4@1.5 | 768MB DDR RAM | GeForce 3 128MB DDR | SND BLASTER LIVE 5.1 | IBM GXP60 40GB
2)ABIT KT7A-RAID | AMD T-Bird 1GHz | 390MB SDRAM | Geforce 2 32MB | SND BLASTER LIVE 5.1 | 3 * IBM GXP60 40GB + 2 * 120GB WD Caviar
3)PC-CHIPS M810LR | AMD DURON 1GHz | 256 SDRAM | 12GB MAXTOR
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2002, 09:54 PM
Hamzter's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: England
Posts: 178

My mate has a cheap 20gb drive and it refused to work when the case was placed on its side at a LAN, but that's probably cos it only cost £45 (about $70 I think...) That should be no problem for you though, so long as its a decent drive.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 26th June, 2002, 04:40 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

I'm told that if the HDD has been in one position for one year, it shouldn't be changed to the other. Old wive's tales? I dunno, some tales are true.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 26th June, 2002, 06:08 AM
Member/OES
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Midlands, England A.K.A The Middle Of Nowhere
Posts: 140
Send a message via ICQ to [PCE]Psycho

In the PC that I had with the drives mounted vertically there was a old 6gig (which didn;t survive the PSU fail) and 2 40gigs whcih did survive it and are now mounted quote happily vertically.

However I'm still not sure whether they should be on 24/7 as IBM made them
__________________



1)EPoX 8KHA+ | AMD T-Bird 1.4@1.5 | 768MB DDR RAM | GeForce 3 128MB DDR | SND BLASTER LIVE 5.1 | IBM GXP60 40GB
2)ABIT KT7A-RAID | AMD T-Bird 1GHz | 390MB SDRAM | Geforce 2 32MB | SND BLASTER LIVE 5.1 | 3 * IBM GXP60 40GB + 2 * 120GB WD Caviar
3)PC-CHIPS M810LR | AMD DURON 1GHz | 256 SDRAM | 12GB MAXTOR
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 26th June, 2002, 06:42 AM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

Ive had em start makin weird noises when I swithed em from vert 2 horz, but then they got quiet again when I stood em on edge :nervous:
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 26th June, 2002, 07:41 AM
Member/OES
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Midlands, England A.K.A The Middle Of Nowhere
Posts: 140
Send a message via ICQ to [PCE]Psycho

Quote:
Originally posted by surlyjoe
Ive had em start makin weird noises when I swithed em from vert 2 horz, but then they got quiet again when I stood em on edge :nervous:
Maybe the moral here is to keep they how they have been
__________________



1)EPoX 8KHA+ | AMD T-Bird 1.4@1.5 | 768MB DDR RAM | GeForce 3 128MB DDR | SND BLASTER LIVE 5.1 | IBM GXP60 40GB
2)ABIT KT7A-RAID | AMD T-Bird 1GHz | 390MB SDRAM | Geforce 2 32MB | SND BLASTER LIVE 5.1 | 3 * IBM GXP60 40GB + 2 * 120GB WD Caviar
3)PC-CHIPS M810LR | AMD DURON 1GHz | 256 SDRAM | 12GB MAXTOR
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 26th June, 2002, 11:14 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to Darkcobra

Wow! thanks for the responses guys! well, i might mount the drives horizontally into the new case. i'll see how they sound and act. I need to mount them in my new case b/c for some reason my lian-li case just isn't cool enough system-wise. my temps are around 35-38C at times. Of course it is summer in Southern California and it can get pretty hot here and in my room. I'm too poor to have the air conditioning on 24/7. I have the rounded ide cables and stuff and tried tying my wires, but the inside temp of the case still stays rather warm. i still need to tie up more of the cables. if i can find a site to host the pics i would post them, so you folks can maybe give me some hints on what else i can do to unclutter my computer. i think the antec case has more room for my comp's guts. =) oh and i got a new Gainward 4200, so that might account for the higher temps as well.

well, it seems i went off subject a little there. well, thanks again for the info. it helps immensely! keep the advice coming please!
__________________
athlon t-bird 1.4ghz-epox 8kha-TTake Volcano 7+ -Gainward 4200 128MB @260/520-ibm 60gxp 40GB+120gxp 40GB-crucial 512MB DDR cas 2-TDK 24/10/40-lian li PC-68-viewsonic GS790 19"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Horizontal tearing with an LCD? glObalist Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 7 15th October, 2005 07:40 PM
Monitor screen shrank to one vertical line. drewnashty General Hardware Discussion 6 3rd August, 2005 03:41 AM
vertical hd mount? barneygumble742 General Hardware Discussion 2 14th June, 2005 04:18 PM
new job position barneygumble742 Random Nonsense! 10 10th April, 2005 05:35 PM
Building in an Enlight Horizontal Case LP AMD Motherboards & CPUs 31 3rd September, 2003 03:39 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:43 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0